We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere maybe?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Catherina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Catherina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Catherina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hill Side of East Pountas, Pythagorion, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Eastern Norway, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere maybe?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed some days in this seemingly nice place stuck between goat farms in the hills 3 miles away from Phytagoron, but experienced chasing wasps, bad cleaning, no wi-fi, broken air-condition, great view if you like sunrise, but no sunset, the rate was negotiable if payed cash and the Bulgarian girls living and working 24/7 at the establishment was very friendly, as was the bartender in the pool bar with what little he could offer from his meager bar. Safe to say never again.

Room Tip: Om du behøver plass, velg rom med ekstra soverom så får du fem soveplasser..husk leiebil da hotellet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adana, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The accommodations were perfect for our family. Our apartment had two bedrooms and a living room/kitchen. Everything was nice and clean and the owner and other workers were so friendly. The owner also owned a restaurant down by the sea which had wonderful food. They brought food up from the restaurant a few times so we could have room service. Since we didn't rent a car, getting back and forth took a little planning, but the owner shuttled us up and down the hill a few times (for just a small donation) or if he wasn't available, we called a taxi, so no big deal. The pool area was wonderful and the view was fabulous. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

If you enjoy scenic walks or plan to rent a car or scooter on Samos (which you should anyway) this is a fantastic place. The rooms (really apartments) are huge and there's even a kitchen with an oven and all sorts of kitchen utilities. Most apartments have large balconys and the view is AMAZING! (Best in Samos).

The pool is really big and there's a gym. If you're into crossfit, the nearby hills provide an awesome workout.

Just ask the owner George if you need anything and he'll try to get it for you (like lobster :-). Maria who also works there takes great care of everyone and has a big heart! The authentic breakfast was a pleasure each day.

Wow!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I have visited Samos last July and we were recommended that we stayed at Santa Catherina. Everything was excellent. The hotel was easy to find, everybody was very friendly and ready to help us with any of our requests. The room was extremely clean and the pool area was wonderful. We both hope we will visit Samos again soon and stay at this exquisite hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at the santa catherina for 2 weeks in september 2012,and found all the negatives comments to be valid.
Sheets and Towels werent changed for over 5 days until we complained and the floor was swept once in the fortnight.
Overall George lived up to his bad press.
Cannot blame the two girls as they were exploited to the hilt by the owner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pythagorion hotels

cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just returned from another week in SC (having first gone in July!) and had a brilliant time!We love the spacious rooms, stunning views and large pool. The staff are always friendly and helpfuland you can't beat the value for money! Car is advisable particularly as there are so many fantastic places to visit and it's not expensive.But you can easily walk down into town and the taxi is only 6 euros back.We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel offers unbeatable views, peaceful setting and reasonable apartments cleanly wise, beds are comfortable enough. Air con only facilites
one bedroom.The sun loungers around the pool are back breaking as mattresses have been overlooked!! The pool snack bar is under staffed and almost redundant. This was a disappointment as
there s no shop to hand for refreshments and guests missed for the social side of a lively bar. As previously mentioned the hotel is souless but with a few obvious changes would be worth a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Catherina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catherina Hotel

Address: Hill Side of East Pountas, Pythagorion, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Catherina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Santa Catherina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catherina Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Santa Catherina Hotel Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Catherina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.