We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great! But that's Samos.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Anna Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pythagorion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Anna Studios
Save
You added Villa Anna Studios to your Saves list
Pythagorion | Samos, Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great! But that's Samos.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hard to say this is a bad place to stay as it's pretty average for Samos, Basic room, basic pool and basic pool bar. Staff were polite and friendly - maid service was good and she was extremely efficent. The complex is located five minutes from the airport so considerable aircraft noise during the day and it is a very long walk away from the main town of Pythagorio. Nearest beach is Potokaki - fifteen minutes walk at a fair pace. The pool bar does not open during the evening so no chance of a nightcap or two after slogging it back from town although there is a good bar open till late located a few mintues up the road at the Evelin hotel and studio's - just before the traffic lights. A few minor issues with the Villa Anna; towels were like sand paper, the shower room was on a slope so water spills out under the door into the main room and beds remind me far too much of an army barracks. Pool was basic and the water got very warm - not a problem if you want to swim in a sauna but not to my taste. There was also a rather strong smell emanting from the rear of the building during the mornings which made me think of an overflowing cess pit, but it faded as the day wore on. Top tip, hire a car (if you can handle the Greek driving experince which is not for feint hearts) and drive the short distance to Ireon twenty minutes or so further on past the airport, Here you will find a small quiet village free of the hurly burly of the main resort towns with an ok beach and good snorkelling, alternatively try Kokkari and Lemonakia in the North (forty minute drive away) both are good snorkelling sites or if you want a lazy experience try Psilli Amos a few miles the other side of Pythagorio. On a whole Pythagorio is a bit tacky and commercialised for my liking and the Taverns all do the basic "Greek" menu of lamb, pork or chicken served with fries and the ubiqitous feta cheese salad. To sum up, if you are just looking for a place to lay your head then Villa Anna is no better and no worse than most of the places in the area but if your looking for that little bit of comfort or dare I say luxury, my advice is to try another resort. I will be.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much here, it's very basic but does have air conditioning (8 Euros a day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    21
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Arrived at Villa Anna about 5 minutes after leaving the airport – we were the first to be dropped off (and last to be picked up on the way back). Greeted by Anna and shown to our room, No. 18, which we thought was the best one of the lot – upstairs, right at the end so neighbours only one side and we hardly saw them! There are large palms between the apartments and the pool but No.18’s balcony was just a bit past the last one so we did have more of an open view than some – this was good for me as it meant we could see the planes landing and taking off which I loved. We saw a couple approach and, obviously, the pilot was not happy with his position and swooped up and went around to try again…………..both successful the second time and neither was a Thomson plane I hasten to add so they seem to have got the hang of the approach! A helicopter comes and goes each day and there are two fire planes based on the runway which, we assumed, did a training exercise now and again – we saw them fly out over the sea and swoop down, pick up water and then ditch it again.

Rooms at Villa Anna are adequate for two people and have a kettle, toaster and coffee-maker plus the usual assortment of crockery and cutlery, including 2 very nice blue mugs – a first for us on holiday, we usually have to go and buy a couple so we can have a decent brew on the balcony! – Bathroom also fine – plenty of hot water and an insect screen at the window. No hairdryer though so if that is important for you, then remember to pack yours. We usually take a tea-towel and some washing up cloths and this time we took a clothes line and pegs, only to find there were 2 lines already on the balcony but the pegs came in useful as there were only a few provided – we left ours there! Rooms cleaned regularly and towels changed every other day, plus a replacement bathmat and toilet roll as well – bins emptied every day except Sunday and bedding changed 3 times during our stay – very nice lady doing the cleaning etc. and we really appreciated the service we got. Anna, her husband, Dimitris, and family are lovely people and we really enjoyed our stay with them – not forgetting Bilias, the very friendly dog, and his 2 cat friends who all got on very well together! Ground floor rooms have a terrace and the terraces are quite a lot bigger than the upstairs balconies – we prefer to be upstairs though for the views but some preferred the larger terrace. The pool is kept well but, while we were there, there was a problem with a crack on one of the steps – this was worked on and normal service resumed as soon as possible – there are 2 jets in the pool which are very powerful and make swimming away from them very easy – try swimming into them and it is a different matter altogether but good fun! There are showers and toilets available at the pool – very modern and clean and useful on departure day when we had to vacate the rooms by 09.30 with a pick-up time of 12.30 for the airport. There is a bar and snacks are available, omelettes, Greek salads, toasties etc. – not always open during the evenings but I expect it depends on demand. The nearest taverna to Villa Anna was Ilios – turn left out of the apartments and it is on the other side of the road just past the traffic lights. A little further on is a Carrefour supermarket which has everything you will need shopping-wise and not too far to carry your 6-packs of water etc.

The main harbour area of Pythagorion is about 30 minutes walk away which, for me, was the only downside – if it was just 20 minutes, that would be fine but I did feel it was just a bit too far – however, there are landmarks along the way and if you tick them off in your head as you pass by them it doesn’t seem quite as bad!! Once in, the town is very pleasant to explore, with interesting back streets and side streets. The main road down to the harbour has some very nice shops with very good quality items – not the usual tacky souvenir–type stuff that a lot of islands seem to have these days. The selection of jewellery is fantastic and I bought presents for 3 friends who all have birthdays coming up – very pleased with all of them and reasonably-priced. The clothes shop, Rodanthi, has some amazing creations in the window and I fell in love with a pair of sandals – 95 Euros though – how do people afford to dress themselves at these prices??!!!!

We ate at several tavernas with Elia being our favourite overall – good food and large portions, no starter required! Also liked Notos which is away from the main harbour front – turn right at the end of the main street and go along to the end – it is the second taverna on the bit of beach at that end. At the other end, turning left at the end of the main street, past Elia which is the last one on the main bit, if you follow the road around to the left, there are three or four more tavernas at the beginning of Remetaki beach – Trata is one, Remetaki, Poseidon and Faros plus a café bar, En Plo – nice frappe here! Further on is Paradise beach with a small cantina with drinks and snacks – it is so peaceful there and we wandered along several times for a midday ouzo – on our last day, we were given dolmades and tomato and cucumber salad with our drinks which was a nice touch.

The beaches on Samos are, in the main, very stony with the stones extending into the water on many – however, Remetaki beach in Pythagorion starts just by the Trata taverna and the stones in the sea at this end of the beach are minimal – a pair of jelly shoes solves the problem of getting in and out of the water and, once in, it is very nice and sandy – lovely clear water and little fish swimming around your feet. We took the bus to Samos Town several times and, from there, it is easy enough to get to other parts of the island – we visited Kokkari one day which was very pleasant and then Psili Amos another day where we found a sandy beach – it was lovely and we had a very nice lunch in the Psili Amos taverna here. Also caught the bus to Ireon one day and thought it seemed a very nice peaceful little place – we are thinking of basing ourselves at the Zeus Studios there for 2012. Had a lovely lunch in a taverna called Rena where you can get a quarter-litre of home-made wine – just enough for lunchtime we find – it washed down the grilled sardines and the tzatziki and bread very nicely!!!

The weather was hot the first week but we were expecting that – however, the 2nd week was VERY hot and we both felt we had made a mistake by going at the end of June – note to self – go at the beginning next time!!!!

All in all, a very nice first experience of a new (for us) island and we will definitely be back again – Rebecca, our Thomson Holiday Adviser, was very friendly and obviously enjoys her work and the island very much.

Room Tip: Try for Room 18 if you like to be upstairs - good views of the airport and planes taking off and lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, Staffs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We were very much looking forward to staying at the Villa Anna Studios having read all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. We were not dissapointed.
Only a short journey from the airport the Studios are set back a little from the main road though not paticularly well sign posted. Our coach driver actually dropped us off next door much to the bemusement of the reception there as they were not expecting us of course! However, a quick call and we were pointed in the right direction.
Anna greeted us warmly & showed us to our first floor room with a balcony ( which we had requested) & a view over the pool. A very good start!
The studio is a good size with twin beds, a tv, fridge, kettle, toaster & two electric rings.
A big plus for me was a good sized wardrobe with lots of hangers. There is no hair dryer so a good idea to pack one.......though I was able to borrow one for the week courtesy of Mr.Anna.
The bathroom is small but perfectly functional with shower, toilet & wash basin.
One tiny moan would be that the air conditioning ( which you pay extra for) is not that powerful & had to be on a good while to make a difference.
The pool is just lovely and very quiet with plenty of loungers & parasols. The pool bar offers hot & cold drinks & light snacks as well as ice creams.
In the main reception area is a really good stock of relatively new novels which is ideal for swapping books - the place is so relaxing reading seemed to be the most anyone could manage & I got through four weighty novels in a week.
Location wise Villa Anna is a 20 minute walk to the main harbour area but its not a big ask as its all flat, mainly pavement & well lit. Once at the main town there are loads of grear restaurants, bars, some lovely shops, pharmacy, and of course lots of boats.
The pretty castle and church are also worth a visit. Five minutes in the opposite direction from Villa Anna is a large supermarket that stocks absolutely everything you could need .

Our week flew by & we certaily could have stayed quite happily for a second. Some of our fellow guests stay at Villa Anna time & time again & I can easily see why: its location is ideal, the price is excellent, the facilities everything you need & everyone super friendly.
A lovely, lovely week.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Just had a very relaxing week in Samos at Villa Anna. The property is excellent value for money overall.

Pros: spotlessly clean, towels and sheets changed regularly, friendly owners, lovely pool and garden, very quick transfer from the airport, close to a supermarket and car/bike rental places, WiFi available on request,

Cons: The location is far enough outside of town for it to be inconvenient getting around without your own transport. Saying that a taxi from Pythagorion is only €4. The balconies are not very private - this can be good or bad depending on how you get on with your neighbours - we were lucky!

Overall a highly recommended property! Would also recommend visiting Hora for dinner (it's the same distance as going into pythagorion but in the opposite direction) - there are some lovely places to eat, stavros' taverna stands out for the home cooked Greek food.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Never been to Samos before but had read reviews of the infamous landing, but in truth it wasn't that bad so don't let it put you off.
Villa Anna is only a stones throw from the airport, but as we were there in May there were not many planes coming and going and those that were did't spoil it for us. They were actually interesting to watch.
The apartments are about a 20 minute walk from the town and there are no real stop off point in between other than the Pegasus bar which wasn't open in May. Nevertheless, despite some reports, it is a pleasant and safe walk with a good pavement that is well lit.
Villa Anna is one of the cleanest places we have visited and everything in the apartments is in good working order and benefits from toaster, kettle and coffee maker. There is a TV but you probably won't use it. The rooms are spacious enough for two people and have either balcony or patio with pool view. There is a typical greek shower room, but it is totally adequate and there is hot / warm water most of the time. Anna and her family are very friendly and they have some friendly pets too, cats and a cheeky dog.
Pythagorion (pronounced pith-a-gorion) is a pretty little harbour town with plenty of bars, tavernas, shops and supermarkets and offering boat trips to neighbouring beauty spots.
All in all a great stay in Samos and we would recommend Villa Anna to anyone except those with severe walking difficulties unless you hire a car for the trip into town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had a lovely stay in the Villa Anna. The rooms were charming and we were lucky to be on the ground floor so had terraces opening up on to the gardens, which were very pretty. The studios were very well equipped and cleaned to a high standard. We were very near the airport but the planes didn't disturb us at all at night and there were only 3/4 per day going overhead. Only complaint was location as it was a 10 minute walk to the beach and 20 minutes into Pythagorion. However, taxis were only 4 euros so, between 4 of us, not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Am writing this as I wait for the transfer to the Airport, and the return home. This has been an absolutely memorable holiday for so many reasons...... not all off them good. Exactly half way through I broke my ankle, and everybody here at Villa Anna, and in Samos in general has been very helpful with so many small acts of kindness that it (almost) overcomes the injury.

If I was to be mega critical, the location is a little bit farther from Pythagorion than ideal, but it is a gentle 25 minute walk (in normal circumstances) or €4 -€6 taxi ride. Don't understand the variation....... but taxi drivers have also been very helpful. The site is spotless, and well maintained - Anna and her staff seem to genuinely enjoy having guests, which has not always been my experience. Rebecca, the Tompson Rep was also very helpful in sorting out insurance issues with the hire car and so on.

The weather has been hot, hiting 40C on a couple of days, and yesterday we had a torrential thunderstorm in the morning, but had all cleared and back to a respectable 32C by mid afternoon.

This is our second trip to Samos, and although we have visited many of the other islands,(and Parga), this is the only place we have returned to, and I hope we will return again to do some of those things we were not able to do on this visit.

Location not withstanding I thoroughly recommend Villa Anna. I also unreservedly recommend Samos as a place to visit, particularly if you are looking for a relaxed, non commercialised holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Anna Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Anna Studios

Address: Pythagorion | Samos, Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Anna are family run studio apartments on the island of Samos which lies in the north-eastern Aegean Sea and is regarded as one of the most beautiful, unspoilt Greek islands.Set amidst a lush garden with palm trees and colourful flowers, Villa Anna features a good sized pool with a poolside bar. Its air-conditioned,well-equipped studios open out to private balconies or patios with pool or garden views. Located on the southeast of the island close to the small town of Pythagorion and Potokaki Beach makes it a convenient location with a short transfer from the airport and just a 12 minute walk to shops, bars and restaurants in Pythagorion with its beautiful harbour. Villa Anna in Samos is been recommended by many guests the past few years for the cleanliness, well-accommodated services and helpfulness-kindness of the stuff. Depending on the guests every week it can be a very peaceful resort or a late night attraction. Feel the vibes of Greek welcome-ness and friendliness and get the best out of your holiday with your loved ones, at Villa Anna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Anna Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Villa Anna Studios Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Anna Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.