We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday to a Beautiful Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samos Sun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Samos Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Samos Sun Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday to a Beautiful Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Firstly I have to say I agree with the majority of the review that Scott D wrote previous to this one so I can vouch that their review is an honest one. This is my first visit to Samos and hopefully not my last.

Samos Sun Hotel - We were Very Very happy with this accommodation, it was very peaceful, lovely and quiet. Yes some of the decor is outdated but to be honest we expected this as we knew exactly what Greece is like and we were more than happy with our accommodation and room in fact I think it is worthy than the 2.5 star rating that it receives. Rooms and hotel were clean, shower you have to hold above your head (as normal in greece) pool area was lovely as was the pool itself. Sunbeds were sparse but on the day we were leaving they received some new ones so it looks like they are in the process of updating some things, there was a day when there were not enough sunbeds but this was not a problem as they just went to their other hotel to bring some more. We booked a double room, this had a fridge but no kettle again this was not a problem because I asked at reception and they just let me borrow one for our 2 weeks stay at no extra cost. The biggest bonus we received was that this hotel has free aircon during the months of July/Aug it goes of at the end of aug and it did whilst we were there, because some guests asked about it being left on because of the heat the owners agreed to extend the aircon free of charge we left on 5th Sept and it was still on then. Beds were comfortable both my partner and me slept very well. Did not really use the pool bar as we normally had our drink in our bag although you are not suppose to eat/drink your own items we could not see how they could complain as the bar was not open all day. There is no lift in this property if you are on a higher level then it is easier to walk your case up the slope at the side of the hotel otherwise you will have to carry up stairs. The higher rooms do have the advantage of the sea views and I would definitely recommend one of these.

Breakfast - Eaten on a lovely area overlooking the Sea and the Airport. Breakfast is basic so if you are wanting full english then dont have breakfast here. The breakfast at the hotel suited us fine there was not a great deal of variety but there was definitely sufficient and you could eat as much as you wanted. Bread, Scrambled egg with bacon in, sausage on week then fried eggs the 2nd week, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, greek yoghurt, jams, honey, 2 types of cereals, olives, tomatoes, orange, tea/coffee. Go to the supermarket just outside the hotel for your bread rolls and take to breakfast these are gorgeous and freshly baked every morning.

Fruit trees - There is loads of these in the hotel grounds and you could just freshly pick your peaches daily they felt a little hard but when bitten into they were gorgeous, there were also what we all thought was limes and they were really tasty but they were actually oranges there was also pear trees and plum trees (the plums were small and very sweet) what more could you ask for.

Supermarket - We thought this was really good and very reasonable prices right on our doorstep, we use to get a tub of the white icecream with choc bits in approx 2.15euro and eat it on our balcony. The staff were sometimes grumpy here but they were helpful when asked for anything so no complaints really.

Airport - Great Landing get near the window and watch out as you land. It is not a problem the airport being so close, we loved watching the planes land and take off it was very entertaining and there were no night flights so no issue with sleeping and even when they were landing/taking off it was not really noisy. Dont pay for transfers we saw one holiday company charging £69 the airport is literally less than 5 minute drive away. Some people even walked with their cases from the airport.

The beach is approximately 10 mins to walk. Pythagorion is a gorgeous town, it is a good 20-25 mins walk but we enjoyed the walk and did this during the day and also in the evening. It is harder around 2-4 as it is really hot on an evening we walk into town every night for a meal and loved the walk back as it was cooler and also good exercise after tea. We never used the taxi's as we like walking.

Walking - If you like walking then a really nice one is to Ireon. The first time we did it we walked along the road 6km there is also a local man who sells orange juice on the way if you go take a look at the other products he makes. Olive Oil soap it is white not seen in the shops this is because it is the first press. If you buy from the shops then the factories do a 2nd press with the stamp and the other added ingredients. I have not tried the soap as yet so cannot comment on this, he also sells Pollen in a jar which is suppose to be really good for you, home made wines, olive oil, beeswax plus other things I thought it was more nicer and unique buying from a local than a shop. Carry on following the road past him and you will eventually arrive at Ireon it does take a while to walk this and take plenty to drink. When we walked back we came the same way but when we passed the orange man again we took the turning down to the ancient monument (stone tower) if you go to the end of this road you also end up on the beach turn left on the beach and you can walk all along the beach/sea back to the hotel. If you want to walk along the beach to Ireon then take the beach road at the side of the Dorysea Hotel then walk along the beach patch as far as you can then go up the road past the ancient monument then at the top turn left and carry on walking the road.

Ireon - If you cant or dont want to walk this then you can always get the bus, hire bikes, cars etc it is a very nice little village to visit.

Buses - These are quite good once you get your confidence with them. We went to Samos Town no problem very easy it is best to get the bus at the dorysea hotel (you have a chance of 2 coming) Samos Town is nice but Pythagorion is much nicer. We also got a bus to Kookari you just get the bus to Samos Town and change buses (dont worry all the buses go out the same time and they seem to have them linked very well). Another day we went to Konstantinos again changed at Samos Town again no problem we though Konstantinos was also nicer than Samos Town. The bus we use to get was 10.10am takes about 20mins to Samos town the other buses use to go out at 11.00am they were also very very cheap approx 1.7euro to Samos Town and 3.40euro to Konstantinos.

Boat Trips - If you dont want to do a full day boat trip there is a very good 4 hour trip to Sampolini you dont go onto the beach but you can swim off the boat this was 12 euros.

Pythagorion - Loads of lovely restaurants have to agree with previous review we also like the four seasons, Irodion and although there was a couple of nice ones in the back street there was one that did a pasta bake which was to die for and get some of their white bread I cannot remember the name but as you walk down to Pythagorion it is down the last road on the left before you get to the end. Go down the road and it is just on your left opposite a car park, you also have to walk up a few steps to get into the restaurant.

Go visit the church near the castle it is lovely we went in lots of churches in Samos on our travels but this one was the best I thought really nice and detailed inside. The castle is also worth looking in they have spent a lot of money doing this up and if you also go to the top and look at the airport it is good when the planes take off as they head straight to you.

We went for 2 weeks and have to admit when I first arrived I was a little worried that there maybe not enough for us to do - how wrong I was the day we thorought enjoyed this holiday, the island and the hotel. Before we came home I said I could easily stay another week as this island is a little gem, very laid back, very greek (hardly commerialised) very relaxing so if you are thinking of going then stop and just get it book you will love it.

Room Tip: Get a room with the Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish borders
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is our honest review. It's not meant to put people off. We just say what we see and what we experience. Stayed here 2 weeks early July 2012. WARNING: Do not book a transfer to this hotel, a taxi will only cost 5/6 euros.

Samos is to date the most laid back, beautiful Greek island we have come across. If its Irish bars and Sunday roast your after, go somewhere else.
Samos sun is set on a slight hill overlooking the pebble beach (15 min walk) and the airport. Air traffic noise is not an issue. Pythagorion, the stunningly gorgeous town is a good 20-25 mins walk, or 5 euros in a taxi.
So, the hotel. We think it would be good to campaign for a worldwide star rating as this is not 3 stars by any standard. It is very clean and Judith and Irene at reception are very helpful but the pool bar lacked enthusiasm and atmosphere. The boys seem more interested in chatting to friends or spending time on the phone. Some days the bar/snackbar didn't open until after midday.
The hotel is adjacent to a supermarket which at times is quite poorly stocked and like being at home has some grumpy staff. Fresh bread in the morning though and nice local fresh fruit and veg.
The hotel was built in 1993 and appears to still be there. Fittings would go down well in a castle in Transylvania. Good sized pool but a word of advice, it would appear that the sun loungers have been there since 1993 also and have seen a lot of bodies in that time. Get to the pool early if you intend sunbathing and let the game begin 'hunt the safe loungers'.

Get yourself across the road to Hotel Evelin bar. Georgios and Elizabeth know how to provide a great bar service, good food and importantly, create a terrific atmosphere. Georgios has a fantastic knack of getting all nationalities to engage with one another and before you know it, you are locked in conversation with people from Finland, holland and Greece.

Pythagorion is stunning and what you would imaging a typical Greek town to be. Small, slim streets vibrant with colour and that dead slow pace only we Brits can dream of. The harbour is crescent shaped and lined with enough restaurants to see out a fortnight holiday 3 times over. Try the waffles, you won't be disappointed. We won't recommend any restaurants as its each to their own where Greek food is concerned although we did eat in the four seasons a few times (oops, done it now)

Get a wee quad or car and get yourself to Ireon about 6/7 km away. Head to La Luna cafe/creperie and we hold no shame in recommending the strawberry milkshake. It is the best we have ever had and we have one everywhere we go. You will not be disappointed. If you are let me know and I will pay for it, it's that good.

All in all, fantastic island, as always lovely, kind and caring people but Hotel Samos needs some TLC to bring it into the 21 st century.

If you need any info just contact us.

Room Tip: Ask for as high a room as possible if you want a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Have just spent 2 weeks at the Samos Sun Hotel. The hotel was only 10 mins from the airport which was lovely as within an hour of landing we were in the pool cooling down. We stayed in room 110 which has lovely views of the sea and the airport. Our room was very clean with ample storage for clothes. There is FREE air con which comes on at 3 n the afternoon and goes of at about 7am, but we found it often stayed on longer which was very welcome as the weather was very hot.The kitchen area is small, with a 2 ringed hob, large fridge and coffee maker. Having read previous reviews we took a travel kettle and 2 mugs as we always find the cups a bit on the small side for tea. The bathroom is a good size and there was always plenty of hot water, if you need a hairdryer you need to bring your own.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and the cleaner always made fans, boats and flowers with the cleans sheets on the beds. The staff were always polite and friendly especially Monica on reception who always had a wonderful smile and would give you ideas of places of interest to visit. Sue also who works at the pool bar was hardworking and always had time for a chat.
The beach is a 10 min walk from the Samos Sun and has sunbeds for hire at 5 euros a day which was very reasonable as we paid 8 euros last year in Skiathos. Be warned though the sea is very chilly at times.
The main town of Pythagorio is a 20 -25 min stroll away with shops, harbour and resturants, there are lots to chose from but make sure you go up the side roads and try some of the nice resturants away from the hustle and bustle where you will get some excellent food and service.
We hired a quad bike for a week from Evelin which is just 2 mins from the Samos Sun, we explored the island visiting some beautiful villages especially Manolates were lots of artists make a living selling their products, stunning beaches, our favourites being Ireo 10 mins away and the beautiful Bay Kervelis about an hour away on the quad. Samos has some wonderful monasteries and ancient sites to visit so hire a scooter, quad or car and explore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed at the Samos Sun Apartments Room 111 on the 2nd June for 2 weeks. Staff at reception Monika and Stella couldnt do enough for you and were always so pleasant whether it be asking for bus times, directions or even phoning for a taxi nothing was a problem to them. Sue who runs the pool bar was also a great help to us giving us ideas of places to go and see and also made us delicious lunch time snacks. Rooms though on the small side had everything that we needed and were kept clean daily by our maid. One of the highlights for us was returning each day to see what design our maid had made of our top sheets on the bed butterflies/boats/dresses/bows etc. Pythagorian is a lovely resort with a great choice of restaurants, snack bars and bars and has a lovely harbour for strolling at night. We also loved Ireon 4 kilometres from the Samos Sun went through at night for Dinner got reception to phone a taxi. Great for watching the sunset and very greek. Another place which is not to be missed for a visit is Kokkari especially the square which has numerous tavernas overlooking the sea really breathtaking. Overall we had a terrific holiday in samos with lots to do and see. The Samos Sun Hotel was great and I cant thank the staff enough for all their help. We loved Samos the only downside for us was not being able to get a flight from Glasgow and having to travel from Manchester (but it was definately worth it) If Glasgow should have a flight in the near future you can you can bank on us returning to this magical Island!!!

Room Tip: The yellow block with from 100/lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Leaving the airport at Samos by coach transfer saw several people beng dropped off at spots we knew must be well off the beaten track. You know the feeling - as you are driven along you count downt the distance to the resort, knowing that the closer you get the easier will be the journey to the restaurant or bar and correspondingly the walking time or taxi fare goes down. The Samos Sun is quite reasonable, arranged in several coloured and balconied apartment blocks designed to look quite attractive. We found ourselves on a higher floor with a good view of the sea, albeit about half a mile away. Those on lower floors might only have a view of passing fellow guests. The service was good in that we reported a broken balcony light, went out and found it replaced on return. I also managed to jam the shutters by closing them in what turned out to be the wrong way. Ok, so there was no warning, or anything to tell the uninitiated what not to do and it had happened once before, but they needed a call out by the installers and again it was dealt with quickly while we were out.
The bar is simple, well run and friendly, the pool large enough and also saltwater, which is a refreshing change if you suffer from any problems aggravated by the chemicals used in typical hotel pools, such as eczema. We went self catering and can't comment on the food which we didn't sample, but at the time of writing breakfast was priced at 7 Euros and main meals at 14 Euros. The staff were helpful.
So what was the problem with the location? We were told it was a 15-20 minute stroll into town which is fine. In practice we made it in 20 minutes at a good pace, bearing in mind we go hillwalking. 25-35 minutes is typical and you'll often have company as there is a nightly migration of hotel guests making their way along the often narrow pavement to and from Pythagorion. If you walk it (and the taxi is 5 Euros each way) that means an average of an hour a day spent on foot if you eat in town. The nearest beach is shingle, though with a generally sandy bottom a few feet out and around a mile long. Again though you can't 'stroll' down to it because the airport runway lies in a line between the hotel and the coast and make a wonderful sight for plane spotters (I am one and especially enjoyed the fire fighting practice by the helicopter and flying boats apparently stationed at the airport). In terms of reaching the beach though you have to head for the Doryssa Hotel about a quarter of a mile away and take the first road before it to pass around the runway and reach the beach. There is a bus service and generally this is a request stop to catch the bus, though you can only alight at a proper stop (the closest is the Doryssa Hotel). On the other hand buses, though fairly reliable, are not frequent throughout the day and stop by early evening so there's no chance to use them to get into town for an evening meal or a drink. None of this is the hotel's fault (though a few and the tour operators who use them might consider pressing the bus operator to improve services for their guests), but it might become a big consideration when you've walked into town each night for the first few days and something to bear in mind if location is going to be important to you. One other thought - remember the trip time to town if you plan to go on any excursions starting early in the morning, like Ephesus or Patmos, without the added cost of a taxi it can seem a bit rushed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday on the beautiful island of Samos.
Our stay at the Samos Sun was delightful. Monika, Tuula & Lena on reception couldn't do enough for you. They were friendly and helpful at all times.They will recommend places to visit and where to hire a car etc.
We had a small leak, which was reported. No sooner said than done, the handy-man came and attended to it.
The rooms are compact and basic (no tv as advertised) however, all you need and were kept spotless by a daily clean by the friendly cleaners.
The gym was a little disappointing, as most of the equiptment was broken, however the billiard table and table tennis was a real hit with our 11 year old daughter.
The jacuzzi wasn't constantly switched on, but if you wanted to use it, you just needed to ask at the bar and they'd put it on.
The pool and bar area is very attractive. Sue runs the bar from 10am - 6pm daily..she is lovely. Jiannis then takes over from 6pm til late. He is such fun..some might say, slightly crazy!
There is a supermarket nextdoor, which we found really convenient.
The Samos Sun is fairly close to the airport. We took a taxi upon arrival and back again, which worked out much cheaper than paying for the transfers through the tour operator.
Although we could see the airport, we weren't bothred by the odd plane coming in or out. We quite enjoyed it! There is a nice view of the sea (higher floor).
The walk into Pythagorion took approx 20-25mins. There is a path all the way along, so there is no dodging of traffic. You can also easily pick up a taxi along the way which doesn't cost the earth.
Pythagorion is very pleasant indeed, set around a little harbour. Pop in and have a meal at the Apollonia restaurant, we don't think you'll be disappointed.
If you do your research before you go, you'll find that there are many festivals that go on during summer months.We also went to the Ireon Music Festival and saw The Stranglers, which was superb.
We would certainly return to the Samos Sun in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Just spent two weeks at the Samos Sun Hotel and quite honestly i can't recommend it enough. OK, its close to the airport but we knew that beforehand and could only say that the short trip was a bonus, although taxi fares do tend to vary from month to month and return fare cost 3 euro's more than arrival! The Samos Sun Hotel is a lovely place to stay, spotless rooms, daily maid service, very few hotel staff around but adequate and always friendly and helpful. The pool is a delight - although salty! Sue, who runs the bar is a lovely lady and now lives on Samos. She says the view from her office(bar) far exceeds the one she had back in the UK and i must agree. The drinks at the bar are reasonable and the food is ok but not brilliant. Although not critisising the hotel, our room was quite old, there a much newer apartment blocks. Don't get me wrong, everything was in good working order but a little 'shabby' and we had a resident cockroach who lived up in the bathroom ceiling!!! A small price to pay i thought.
All in all, a fantastic holiday, a very reasonably priced hotel with everything you need without being over the top - it is Greece remember. I'd not hesitate in returning to the Samos Sun and would recomment it to those who appreciate the 'simple Greek way of life'.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samos Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samos Sun Hotel

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samos Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Samos Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samos Sun Hotel Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samos Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.