We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, Ok hotel. Not exclusive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Proteas Blu Resort

Save Saved
You added Proteas Blu Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Proteas Blu Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pountes | Samos I North Aegean, Pythagorion 83 103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 hotels in Pythagorion
Farum, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice beach, Ok hotel. Not exclusive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 14 days in August 2012 at Proteas.
It is a nice hotel, but not above average in this hotel class.

We had a room in the main building - the sea view was super and the balcony spacious with good/soft chairs and a nice glass table.

The bed was terrible - used, hard and uncomfortable.
The furniture and bathroom is not modern as the photos on the website makes you want to believe.

Unlike others I did not have problems with Wifi - maybe because we were in the main building.

The beach is nice - and even if we were the first on the beach most days we were never first to put towels down. Guests book the best beach beds very early in the morning.
Also people who do not stay at Proteas use this beach.

The pool area looked great - but I took only 2 swims in it, as brownish water came of my body after using it ??

About the hotel services:
Breakfast service was good - waiters were sweet and friendly.
The breakfast variety was ok but a bit dull after 14 days.

The cleaning of the hotel and rooms is super. Everything is clean.

The pool resturant: The waiters are not service minded, they don't smile and they generally don't look at their customers. The food is expensive compared to the quality - also cold drinks are expensive - e.g. euro 7 for a milkshake.

The Gym is bad - very small room, no air-flow and a poor airco.

Didn't use the SPA or other night resturants.

If you stay at this hotel and plan on walking to Pythagorion - then note that you can turn left at the Marina and take the pedestrian road to the city. It takes 40 mins to walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaMariaBr, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear CamillaBK

Thank you for choosing Proteas Blu Resort for your precious holidays.
It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed most of our services and facilities.
It is a pity though that you haven't informed us about the issues you had during your stay because we would have surely done our best to solve them. The matresses for example are new but we have extra soft matresses upon demand in order to be able to cover all our guests' needs.
The incident with the pool is very strange. The pool and its filter system is brand new and our water quality is tested and certificated by TUV Germany. Moreover none of our other guests have ever complained about brownish water. We will however take your remark seriously and look up to it.
As far as the beach is concerned, the greek law suggests that all the beaches are public so you cannot prevent people that are not our guests from using the beach. However the sunbeds and umbrellas are used only for our guests' comfort.
All these issues apart we certaintly hope that we can welcome you back to our premises.

Best Regards
Anna Maria Brezetou G.R
on behalf of Tasos M. Csetrichis G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    57
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
152
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The location is the best thing to say about this place - the poolarea and beach are very very nice. So if that's what you seeking - this place is perfect!
When this is said - the place is very average.
- the staff is very little service-minded - except from a very smiling cleaning lady who also adjusted her cleaning to our "life-rhythm".
The receptionists were many - but provided a eksrem low service - they seemed young and inexperienced in their jobs.
The Internet on the hotel computer in our room - as well as the wireless network - did not work during our stay for 2 weeks - the staff did several attempts to solve the problem. We could understand from other guests that they also had the same problem...
We have been on many other hotels simalar places, who had a lower standard on the paper, but which provided a much better service, and for us location is not everything...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaMariaBr, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear FrandsenXXX

Thank you for your recent stay at Proteas Blu Resort and for sharing your opinion with the travel community of Tripadvisor.
We were glad to hear that our facilities has satisfied you and we apologise if our service has not met your expectations. Generally our staff is one of our best aspects and it is usually described as service-minded and kind by most of our guests. It is a pity that your experience was different. Was it something in particularly you asked for and you were not treated properly? I have read about the wi-fi issues and I assure you we have uptaded our system so that it has better coverage. Were there any other issues which made you not enjoy your holidays?If yes we would be glad to discuss them. Please use the following email gr@proteasbluresort.gr to express your issues and we would be glad to respond.
Despite all these we would be glad to welcome you again in our premises shall you visit Samos Island again.

Best Regards
Anna Maria Brezetou G.R
on behalf of Tasos M. Csetrichis G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Overall it was a spectacular trip. We visited Turkey, we took an excursion for the day to Samiopoula, we visited 15 beaches, we visited 10 to 15 different villages and the major towns on the island.
The hotel had a beautiful location, nice pool and its surroundings, beautiful gardens and a couple of nice beaches to swim and snorkel.
The staff were all extremely helpful from reception , cleaning, etc.
Since we stayed at Proteas for an entire 3 weeks we did see certain things that need to be addressed as well.
We barely had internet. In fact only 3 of the 21 days was the WIFI working at our room. Our friends vacationing with us had a technician in their room almost every two days but he couldn't fix the problem. Now it didn't bother me at all , but my friends staying beside our room found this unacceptable since the husband did need to work a few hours a day .
The breakfast was quite good but the waiters working there were very lost . We practically had to call them for coffee, milk etc. everyday. They were very slow in removing our plates so we were stacking them as we would eat. They also looked terrified of this man with a suit watching their every move. I know what would go on since I do speak Greek.This man in a suit was like a policeman instead of a host. You have to greet clients to their seats bring them coffee and milk right away , be friendly , chat and socialize to make the clients feel like they're important to them. Get to know the clients so they can return next year again.
The most troublesome part of all was that every Sunday the owners would show up for breakfast in the middle of the breakfast room and sit at a dining table with cutlery and beautiful glasses with cold coffees that weren't offered to us. As if they were Royalty!. To make me feel like I'm in awe since I'm in the same room with the classy owners. If I was the owner I wouldn't show off like that but instead I would introduce myself to the clients and sit with them and chat. This hotel has even more potential but management and owners need to be more apparent and social to the clients that pay their salaries. This was very disrespectful to all of us there.
I hope the owners see my comments .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week at this very nice resort. Had a room between the pool and main hotel which was very peaceful with breath-taking views. The rooms are not quite as classy as the pictures would have you believe but perfectly adequate and very clean. The only real negative in the room is the beds are far too hard. TV didn't have a signal for 3 of the days there, not that I really need TV on holiday it's just that this is the only way the hotel message you regarding what's on each day. Therefore every time TV was fixed we had missed the promotion. Staff very friendly and helpful if needed, especially house cleaning lady.

Breakfast had plenty of choices but would say it was more European than the stated America. Need to serve the juice much more chilled though. No one likes warm OJ after a night on the local wine. Eating your breakfast while admiring the spectacular views will stay with you forever.

Didn't sample the main restaurant as like the traditional Greek taverners in the surrounding areas. Elia and Aphrodite in Pythagorian were our favourite. These are also much cheaper as anything you purchase on resort is a tad pricey. The pool restaurant was nice with good service but again resort prices compared to a scrummy €2 Gyros in the town.

Pool and beach were really set out nice. Super clean with fantastic pool, sunbeds, daybeds etc.. Oh lets not forget the superb views again. Now hear is my biggest disappointment and most critical comment. The resort need to control the selfish people that do the classic leave the towel on sunbed act. There were some people (I'll try not to typecast hear but you know the usual country suspects) that would put towels on beds then either, not return for hours or even not return at all. I do detest selfish people. It's fine if you leave them there while going for lunch but the resort should have a maximum 1 hour policy sign - that would stop the conflict situations it causes.

Beaches in Samos are in nearly all shingle but we found a fantastic sandy beach called Psili Amos. It's only about 8km away but you will need a car or bike. Sunbeds good value at €6 for the day and the sea is quite shallow which keeps it warmer and safer if you have rug rats. Liked it there, very chilling.

Had a great day out with Captain Andreas on his boat Georgious. You start in Pythagorian harbour, travel to a small island and spend 1 hour on a very nice sandy beach with nice blue water. Back on the boat for 30 mins to travel to their own private beach only accessible by boat. They cook a great BBQ where all eat in a makeshift dining area. The food is all included and you can purchase nice cold drinks of your choice at reasonable prices. They do serve you a complimentary Ouzo and 'sexy coffee'. The Captain had a 3 week old goat that followed him like a puppy until he bottle fed it. Then it's free time on the sand / shingle beach with sunbeds and shady areas provided until 16:00. Back on the boat with a 20 min stop to jump off on return to harbour. Really fun day but 2 huge tips of advice; if you have reef shoes take them as quite hard to get in the sea with sharp shingle (yet all the crew walked around in bare feet) and you must ensure a strong suntan lotion factor - you will not believe how much you can burn as the breeze at sea keeps you feeling cool. I never went below 30 and still had redish shoulders, stay safe kids and don't ruin your holiday.

A day in Turkey to visit a former 7th wonder of the World, Ephesus was ok but it was very busy and hot. The history is amazing but done it now, not something I need to do again. Then a couple of hours in town where the Turks do your head in trying to hassle you to purchase 'genuine fake' products. Their pushyness put me of totally - Brits love to shop so leave then to browse and they are more likely to buy than if hassled. Quite a long tiring day but an experience.

All in all a great holiday, very nice accommodation with wonderful views and nice and quiet. Doubt I would need to go again, nothing to do with the hotel just feel I have done It now and there are so many other Greek islands I would like to explore also. Definitely worth doing once but do not recommend Samos Town itself, nothing there at all. The Pythagorian area is the place to be in my opinion.

Enjoy...

Room Tip: Inbetween main hotel was nice and quiet as you don't get any noise from pool or beach bar. Defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaMariaBr, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review and for sharing all these nice tips for the resort
and for the island in general.

We are glad to inform you that after our guests' remarks about the sunbed problems, we have managed to control the sunbed occupancy issue and there are plenty sunbeds available now for our guests' relaxation and comfort.

Although you have mentioned that you had already the chance to explore the whole island and you are not planning to visit Samos again soon, we definitely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to our premises in the future.

Best Regards

Anna Maria Brezetou G.R on behalf of Tasos M. Csetrichis G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Proteas Blu resort at the end of june 2012 and must say we were very pleased. Rooms were clean, people friendly, but most of all, spectacular views from all the restaurants/bars. Beach, which was exclusive to the resort, is shingled, but with very small pebbles. Beautiful, blue, clear waters with bar service on the beach. I have read in previous reviews of complaints of how steep the hill is from the beach to the hotel rooms. This is true, as you end up climbing 140 ft in just 500 metres. There is, however, a golf buggy shuttle service you can ring for if required. The a la carte restaurant, Theory, is pricey, but does serve excellent food. A cab into Pythagorio is 7 euros going there, but 5 euros going back. Pythagorio itself is very pretty. If you're prepared to wander, just behind the harbour is a fabulous little taverna called Platania which serves ridiculously fresh sea food and is quite inexpensive.
Back at the resort, we must mention the evening/night barman, Bendelisa, for making us the best cocktails ever, and for being a general all round nice guy. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel actually have bigger balconies than the bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaMariaBr, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guests

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Proteas Blu Resort
and for your kind comments.
It is our pleasure to see that you have rated our service, location and cleaning as excellent as it is very important for us to provide our guests with the best possible holiday experience.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed also our Gourmet P2 Theory restaurant and Cavo Pountes Beach Club.
Shall you return next year you will have the chance to enjoy also our brand new 'ΘαλαSEA' Fish & Oyster Restaurant.

Best Regards

Anna Maria Brezetou G.R on behalf of Tasos M. Csetrichis G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Proteas Blu Resort for 2 weeks in June 2012. The room was big enough for 3 persons, The balcony was for us big enough, you can sit there at the evening, no problem!
Everithing that you asked theren no mather to who, every one was very kind, they wanted to help you any time! The food was very good, every day something else and enough to choose!
We don't have anything to say that wasn't good, next year we wanna go back!
We like the people there very much, I just have to ask one thing : please make the toys in the play garden :)
What you see in the brochure, it's just the same! Really people, go to Proteas Resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaMariaBr, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Family Ruyssinck

We are all very glad to have received this review from you.
Our staff was delighted to be at your service and it was our honour to have met your lovely family.
We would like to thank you for your preference and support and we definitely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to our premises next year.

Best Regards

Anna Maria Brezetou G.R on behalf of Tasos M. Csetrichis G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the Proteas Blu for a week in June 2012. We had booked bungalow accommodation. What we got was a room that was in a two storey block of 8 to 12 rooms. The balcony was miniscule. The furnishings in the room were very basic and old fashioned. The bathroom was also very basic with old fittings. The room was definately not 4 or 5 star. The pool area was very good indeed, however, on our arrival there was lots of rubbish lying around from people who had had their lunch aroung the pool decking. No one had bothered to remove this. There was no service around the pool either. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were reasonably helpful. The breakfast bufet was very medioca and not much fresh fruit, it was mostly tinned produce. We ate out in the day and evenings so cannot comment on the restaurants but the breakfast would have put us off from trying any other eatery at this hotel. The views were stunning but the website does not really give a clear idea of what you get with regards to accommodation. the rooms in the main hotel had really large balconies at a much lesser cost.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the 'Bungalows'. Main hotel rooms are probably better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your recent stay at Proteas Blu Resort and your review.

In 2010 we started a big renovation project which have resulted to the upgrade of our facilities.

Our rooms provide all the necessary amenities for our guests' comfort plus amazing views from any spot. Nowadays there are many different ways to get a detailed description of the rooms and the rooms types before your arrival. We have never advertised or promised an indepentent bungalow accomodation.We have just shared our hotel rooms in smaller buildings in the garden so that the constructure will fit better with the environment.
Next year we are introducing our brand new Suites with private pool which are designed to provide a luxurious and relaxing experience.

Lunch by the pool is served only in the pool restaurant so that rest of the area has a relaxing atmosphere and clean surroundings. Even if there is something left around the swimming pool members of our staff are always there to clean everything up. We were happy to see that you have described our resort as spotlessly clean.

We apologise if the quality of our buffet restaurant has not reached your expectations however there are different dining opportunities in the resort. There is a gourmet ala carte restaurant for dinner, an ala cart restaurant for lunch and soon there will be also a Fish & Oyster restaurant available. If you have tried any of other restaurants it could have changed your opinion about our f&b department.

On our behalf we would like to invite you back to our premises so that you can witness the improvements we are planning.

Best Regards

Anna Maria Brezetou G.R on behalf of Tasos M. Csetrichis G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Proteas Blu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proteas Blu Resort

Address: Pountes | Samos I North Aegean, Pythagorion 83 103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Proteas Blu Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique environment to enjoy in magnificent scenery Laid back and experience stress free holidays. Proteas Blu Resort in a tranquility atmosphere shows character and inspires a sense of familiarity. After the warm welcome sense the friendliness of the people. Feel comfortable within "Proteas family" while taking part in numerous activities or by chilling and resting your mind. Accommodation facilities are wonderful and the food is superb. In PB you will have quality time...Actually the time will be all yours. Proteas Blu Resort is the most finest and luxurious beach front resort on the Island of Samos. Guest's accommodations looking to the sea are spread out on Mediterranean landscaped terraces situated on a naturally secluded bay having two private beaches. The unique architectural personality, the elegant accommodation and the tranquil setting offers majestic views of the blue marine seas surrounding the Aegean Islands and the Anatolian coasts. Together with the highly personalized and eminently friendly service satisfies the needs of the most distinguished traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Proteas Blu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proteas Blu Hotel Pythagorion
Hotel Proteas Bay
Proteas Blu Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proteas Blu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.