We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good not so bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doryssa Seaside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doryssa Seaside Resort to your Saves list
Doryssa Seaside Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not so good not so bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a nice seaview suit and it was good , clean and big. As an architect i liked the general atmosphere but nothing was luxury. The beach was the only windy one at all of the southern part of island so we went to other beaches. Location is not good you have to walk pythagoria 15 minutes and there is nothing to see along the road. Staff was so nice.breakfast is really good. Pool was standart. One of the most expensive hotels in samos but still not good.

Room Tip: Deluxe seaview junior suit was big and has a nice view and big bathroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback.We are happy that you liked the atmosphere and architecture of Doryssa as well as the friendliness of the staff and breakfast.
Regarding the location, and since you are an architect, you are able to understand that a resort of this size could not be closer to town.And if it was, then a beach ideal for the guests would not be available. The fact that it is within a walking distance from the harbour is actually a great advantage, so that you do not need a car or taxi ride to get there.
We would like to thank you for your preference in Doryssa and we hope to see you again here in the near future!
Kind regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    155
    52
    25
    9
See reviews for
125
170
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our family spent one week in this hotel at the end of August.

We had the all inclusive package and it was worth every penny! Food selection was brilliant. We ate well every day. All of the staff in this hotel are incredibly friendly. They make it all a vey happy experience.

Location wise the weather was perfect cloudless 37c for 8 days.

On the whole though we loved it and would definitley book it again!
The room in the village was wonderful, it was a spacious and the air condition worked very well. The beach and the pool area was fantastic, and the view of the sea beautiful.

The hotel, pools, and all outside areas were spotless. The service was fantastic, the staff are helpful and polite.

There is a good variety of food and drink available and the entertainment is nice but not dominating like some resorts, and it winds down already by 9.30-10pm each night. They offer free kids club activities during the day. Also there is a sports programme for adults if they wish. So there is truly plenty to do.


I highly recommend this hotel for families. We will go back for sure!

Room Tip: Village room definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,
Greetings from Doryssa Seaside Resort!Thank you very much for your nice feedback and your preference in our resort. We are happy to know how much you enjoyed your vacation here along with your family!This is the best reward for us!
We would like to thank you also for the recommendation and we are looking forward to seeing you again here soon!Anything you might need we are always at your disposal!

Best regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midtjylland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and i were there last month.We had a really good time..The service on the center restaurant was quite good,also the kitchen.Try to avoid kitchen between 19:00 and 21:00 cause most of the days it is overcrowded.
We liked very much the snack bar and the pool.the service team pleased us in that week with their good and happy behaviour.Nickos and his team are great!
We had a good view room,clean,so that goes to the goods.Although the location was beautiful as Samos is very beautiful island.We will come back at sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,
Greetings from Doryssa!We would like to thank you for your nice feedback.We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that you loved Samos Island and Doryssa.
We are looking forward to seeing you again here soon!
Our best regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have just returned from a Thomson package holiday (breakfast included) at this hotel resort. What absolute perfection. The hotel comprises a main block surrounded by 'village' houses complete with narrow cobbled streets and even a village square.

It has its own beach complete with sunbeds,fitted towels and umbrellas (6 Eu per day). The pool and snack bar are just 50 metres away but if you cannot raise the energy just press the call button on your umbrella and a waiter will appear to take (and deliver) your food and drink order.

Start the morning with a breakfast in one of the two restaurants. Breakfast has to be seen to be believed:- a choice of 14 hot dishes, 10 cold meats cheeses salads etc, 12 fruits yoghurts cereals, 6 types of bread and at least 4 choices of croissants, cakes, doughnuts and of course coffee and tea.

There is a minimarket on the 'village' square so you can buy your drinks/snacks at supermarket prices and take them to the beach if you wish. The hotel has an army of staff
that keep the grounds, air conditioned bedrooms, pool and everywhere spotless. And WiFi:- the best I have ever used with good coverage throughout the hotel complex and even on the beach.

Pythagorion is just a 15 minute walk from the hotel along a fully made up and lit pavement, or
a 5 Eu taxi ride. It has a peaceful atmosphere with lots of garden and quayside tavernas
(Ambrosia, Aphrodite, Esperides and many more).

The hotel is just 10 minutes transfer time from the airport so you will enjoy watching half a
dozen take offs per day from the beach:- not really Heathrow or Gatwick.

Room Tip: Go in late August and ask for a village house upgrade. You will probably get it for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sir/madame,
Greetings from Doryssa!Thank you very much for your so nice feedback. It is a great pleasure to be informed that you had a wondeful time in our resort.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again here soon and offer you a pleasant stay!

Best regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A good thing about Doryssa Seaside Resort is that it is close to the airport. By car it takes around 3 minutes from the airport to the hotel. As Samos airport isn't that busy, airplanes landing and taking off shouldn't be much an issue (although they are very loud when they do pass by). Howeve, since the hotel is actually located much closer to the runway threshold than Pythagorio itself, one can argue whether the location is ideal or not. The walk into town takes about 15 minutes, but is really dull as you pass basically nothing. Because the distance is relatively far and competition is relatively low, prices are relatively high. As noted before, a Greek salad is around €7,50 which I estimate to be around 20-40 % higher than the mean. Similarily, a sunbed is a whopping €3 per day which is not acceptable EVEN THOUGH the beach is private. Guests should not pay anything for this, after all the room isn't cheap and most guests probably chose the hotel for its beach access.

Since we arrived on a morning flight from Copenhagen, the room was not ready upon arrival. The hotel offered to store out luggage, and in reality this meant that the bags were left outside the reception building with minimum surveillance. Anyone could have just taken our bags and left. This is something I noticed throughout the week when people arrived and left. When the room finally was ready we stepped into a room that, just like the entire hotel, lacked of a true five star feeling. The room was clean and all, but very basic and cheap. There is no good place to put your suitcase meaning it gets pretty messy if you (like us) are three persons in d double room. Besides, that was a real mistake as the additional bed was extremely hard and small. The bathroom is also small (there isn't even room for a zink) and there is no door in the shower cabin meaning that you'll have to cope with wet floors. The room was made every day though.

The hotel caters mainly to Scandinavian package tourists and a majority of these are families with (small) children. Since children are running around the hotel, occupying the pool area and many activities are child-related (such as the Bamse parade) it is hard to relax just the way you would expect from a five star resort. For families I am sure that this is a great hotel, but anyone else (like for couples or friends) I am sure that there are better options in the same price range in Pythagorio. Unless I am travelling with children, I will never chose this hotel again as it simply takes away all the fun.

What I liked most about the hotel is (a) the free WiFi which actually works all around the complex (at least in the reception, in the rooms and around the pool) and (b) the breakfast buffet. On some days you can order an omelette on demand at the egg station, which I enjoyed the days it was possible. It was a shame that this option magically disappeared for a few days during my 7 nights long stay. On the second day of absence I asked a staff memember when the service would be available again and I received a somewhat unclear answer: "today no, yesterday ok".

Avoid at all costs unless travelling with children or like the idea of having them all around you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Doryssa!Thank you for your feedback.It is really nice that you you liked our service and breakfast buffet.
We were surprised by the fact that you did not find the resort's location convenient, since most of our guests consider it ideal.It is perfectly understood that a resort that big cannot be located closer to the town.The fact that Pythagorio is within waliking distance is a great advantage.
As far as the prices at the hotel restaurants are concerned, it is unfair to be compared with those of the local tavernas, but with other similar resorts, and in comparison with them are rather affordable. It is irrelevant with the competition, or the distance, since everyone can walk to town,eat there and also admire the beauty of the picturesque harbour.
Regarding the sunbeds, their charge has not only to do with the fact that the beach is public and not private,but also with the service(i.e service buttons in every umbrella) and quality.The truth is that in some other resorts for the same things the charge is even higher.
Regarding the lugguge upon arrival, there has never come up a problem since they are never left unattended.Although, for the guests feeling insecure or carrying valuable things,as soon as we are informed about it, we offer to store them indoors immediately.
The concept of the rooms in the main building is simple and minimal with an emphasis in quality (i.e beds quality).The standard rooms are 22m2.For families, or more than two people there are also other options to choose from,such as our executive rooms, or family rooms through Fritidsressor.
The majority of our guests are scandinavian families,but there is a number of other guests as well, for example Italian,Dutch, English etc couples and families.Our policy is not to separate our guests and try our very best for everyone's pleasant stay.
Finally,regarding the braekfast buffet,the show cooking varies so we do not have omelette "a la minute"everyday but there is available of course at the buffet.
Nevertheless, we can reassure you that we are taking under serious consideration your comments in order to improve ourselves even more.
We hope to see you again here in Doryssa Seaside Resort and offer you a pleasant stay that meets your expectations!
Kind regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portoroz, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we spent one week in this hotel at the end of August. As others already wrote, it's not a 5 star hotel, but more like a good 4 star run family resort with LOTS of children. we've booked a junior suite and it was a very good choice- great sea view right from the bed! in general the hotel is very clean, with helpful staff, near to the village. the beach is lovely, you have to pay 3€ per person for sunbeds, but keep in mind that during high season other guests practically run in the morning to reserve them, so if you are a late, you can stay without it. the best time to arrive on the beach is after 4pm when other guests already leave for dinner. we had h/b and breakfast and dinner were both ok,but nothing special.the good new is that you can switch dinner for lunch and we also ordered some good wine.about the airport issue-not so disturbing.in general it's a safe choice and you can have a good stay here.

Room Tip: junior suite in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir/madame,

Thank you for your feedback.It is really nice to be informed that you had a great time in Samos and Doryssa!
We hope to welcome you again here soon!Thank you for your preference!

Kind regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The expectations of a 5 star holiday were crushed upon arrival when we discovered we were allocated a smokers room even though one of us suffered from asthma. Staff at reception had zero sympathy and were not interested to help in any way. We would recomment to avoid rooms in the main building that face the swimming pool - it is right next to the bar where loud music is played well past midnight. The beach was not really cleaned daily, each morning you could find empty bottles and sometimes broken glass, and as other travellers noted you have to pay €3 for a sunbed each day - however the sea was fantastic, clean and warm. Food in the restaurant is fairly average, especially fish which was overcooked every time. The positive part is the service there - it was slow at times but the staff were friendly. Definitely much better to go for dinner to Pythagoria or one of other beautiful villages like Kikkari. This hotel is probably good for families with kids but we would not recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms in the main building that face the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,
Greetings from Doryssa!Thank you for your feedback.We are glad that you enjoyed the ambience and service of our resort, and also Samos.
Regarding the non-smoking rooms, it is really important to know that these type of rooms are limited and, therefore, it depends on the availability upon arrival.Moreover, your wish to have a non-smoking room has to be written in your reservation in advance, in order to be able to fulfil it.
Our personnel in all our departments is always gentle and service-minded as you have also pointed out, and it tries its best in order to reassure our guests' pleasant stay.
The music at the bar stops long before midnight, but for the guests who wish a more quiet atmosphere, they can book for a room in a different part of the main building,or in the village area so that they can choose a room that meets their expectations.
Regarding the beach, it is being cleaned regularly during the day in a very effective way.There is a charge for the sunbeds due to the fact that the beach area is being leased by the Municipality and due to the service provided everywhere on the beach using the service buttons on the umbrellas.
The food at the buffet restaurant changes everyday with different theme nights to satisfy every taste. Nevertheless, except for the buffet restaurant, there are more options to choose from, such as our A la Carte restaurant "Tavern by the Sea" where you can try fresh fish and greek specialties in a peaceful atmosphere by the sea, or our "Kafeneio" in the traditional square of our village, where you can taste the famous and delicious greek souvlaki and more.
Finally,our main priority is to create the best environment for our guests to have a pleasant stay, unexceptionally, not just for families but for everyone choosing Doryssa.
We would like to thank you for your preference!



Kind regards,
PopI Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doryssa Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryssa Seaside Resort

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Doryssa Seaside Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doryssa Seaside Resort is situated in the southern part of Samos, next to the historical and most popular destination of Pythagorion. After a full renovation finished in 2006, combined with completely new upgraded services, it has become a 5 star destination. Lovely areas stylish and tasteful. Doryssa village constructions recreate a traditonal Samos village. Doryssa village and the main hotel structure are situated by the seaside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Doryssa Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryssa Seaside Hotel Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doryssa Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.