We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but with some faults” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doryssa Seaside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doryssa Seaside Resort to your Saves list
Doryssa Seaside Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
london , england
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good but with some faults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for one week b&b, through Thomson UK and were not disappointed.
The Thomson website did not make it clear how to reserve a "village" room so after contacting the hotel directly we paid the extra £140 to upgrade (apparantly if you book a room with a bath these are all located in the "village") - the extra was well worth it.

Our room was lovely, clean and minimally furnished with white linens but containing a fridge, free safe and patio doors that opened out onto a small bacony with direct access to the sea only 50m away (great for early morning dips before breakfast!)
The room was clean and comfortable but the air conditioning is a must in the evenings due to the high number of Mosquitos present on the island it is not possible to sleep with the patio doors/windows open as the were no window screens.

The "village" is superbly set out, with meticulous attention to detail, even down to a church and old fashioned laundry. There are 2 shops, car hire office and coffee shop/snack bar located in the village square.

The buffet food although good quality is basic and uninspiring with a limited choice, it seemed to be mainly aimed at the large number of all inclusive guests so we chose not to eat in the hotel in the evenings.
The quality of the cocktails in the bar is awful, although they are very alcoholic, they are tasteless and poorly made.
Staff are friendly and generally attentive.

There were also lots of children (even in June) making it impossible to swim in the hotel pool as it was overrun, we were not expecting it to be quite so family friendly.

The hotel itself is in a very convenient location, only 10 minutes from the airport, (yes it is at the end of the runway but with only half a dozen flights a day it's not an issue) and a gentle 20 minute walk to pythagorian with dozens of better quality bars and restaurants.

The blue flag beach is a mix of sand/ small pebbles with lovely clear waters however there is a daily charge of €3 per lounger which should be free to residents (although they provide free towels) There are also lots of beach sellers who continually walk the beach all selling the same things.
The hotel grounds are a little sprawling, there are tennis courts and mini golf but it's a bit of an adventure to find them although in general the gardens are well manicured and nicely set out.

We did like the hotel and would stay there again, many things meet expections but a few fall short.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    156
    52
    25
    9
See reviews for
125
171
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Arrived samos 1930 hrs , a few hours late fault of French trafic control
Booked into Hotel Room very nice , best we have seen so far on any Greek Island, Free Air conditioning , free fridge, and free safe ,Beds very comfortable rooms kept very clean and towels changed every day, short walk to beech in Hotel grounds Sun beds cost 3 euro per day but could be cheaper if booked weekly (15 Euro's)
food was a tad expensive in Hotel, but some very nice Restaurants in Pythagorion, about 20 min walk from Hotel, or taxi 4 euro. well worth going on a boat trip, good day swimming and private beech with Barbicue and drinks. Sunny all 2 weeks Temp 28c to 35 c very nice Holiday

Room Tip: Balcony with sea view view very nice. but nice mountain view from back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Signore/Signora,

Grazie per i commenti. Siamo contenti che Lei e soddisfatto di Samos e della struttura di Doryssa.
La cucina nel buffet ristorante e intrnazionale, con serate tematiche differente,anche serate locale per soddisfare tutti i clienti.Ogni giornata nel buffet ci sono anche alcuni piatti grechi. Per provare piu piatti grechi, suggeriamo la serata greca nella piazzetta del nostro villagio.
Se c e un problema di trovare un sdraio a causa del alta stagione, il nostro personale e siempre disponible di portare un sdraio a un posto ideale.
Siamo sempre a vostra disposizione!

Saluti cordiali,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We are on holidays at Doryssa now. And the hotel is great. Food is fantastic, not Italian at all. A lot of greek dishes which I love. Rooms are clean, not huge but big enough. Weather is great. Service at hotel very helpful. Our children love swimming pool and spend a lot of time bathing. There are a lot of sitting places here in the shadow with Internett connection. Bamse klubben 6 times a week, star tour leaders helpsom, nothing to claim about.. We should come here again and stay too weeks.. A lot to do, too little time.. Best holidays in my life so far..

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Doryssa Bay hotel in June 2013 for a week. It is like two hotels, one half of which is modeled on a Greek village with its square, little church, small shops and houses, each of which is a separate accommodation. The other half of the hotel is a typical block of rooms around the swimming pools. The village was lovely and quiet as opposed to the swimming pool area, which wasn't. We were in the village part which we liked very much. The swimming pool area and the entertainment was very child centric and not so good if you are a couple wanting a quiet drink around the pool, which was mainly occupied by parents and children. We only went in the pool once, and that was after it had officially closed at 18:00 and was nice and empty. The hotel backs onto the beach which is a mixture of stones and sand, not too good really. The sun loungers are 6 euros a day for two with a fixed umbrella. There is a lawn in between the hotel and the beach which is free to lie on, is more comfortable than the beach and has little trees dotted all over it for shade.

We thought that the breakfasts were very good. Most of the staff in the hotel were really friendly, especially the people who do the coffee with breakfast. The rooms were kept clean and tidy. The wi-fi was useless. In our room the signal was so weak that the Internet was unusable. In the main building it was better, but still impossible to use something like Skype. When we were there, most of the guests were from Scandinavian countries. There is only Euronews on the TV in English. There is a fridge and a safe in the room - well there was in our room.

The hotel sells 500ml Mythos beer for 4.90 euros. 500ml Aegean beer for 4 euros. The hotel shop sells 500ml Mythos for 1.80 euros. The supermarket in Pythagoria sells it for 1.28 euros. Say no more. Pythagoria is about 20 minutes easy walk. Plenty of restaurants and bars. The Pegasus restaurant on the road to Pythagoria was quite good. Car hire was from 35 euros a day with no excess.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, then the village part will probably suit you better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gävle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Its a lovely hotel area with the beach just a minute away, and only 10 minutes walk to Pythagorion. We leaved by the square and when its the greek evening whit local music we recommend you to stay out untill the event is over. The music was so loud so we got to take a walk. The beds were, by our standard, to hard but the hotel is nice and the staf was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We landed in this hotel for one night due to a cancelled flight. The hotel managed to host some 100 customers popping up late in the evening without notice. We were served a nice dinner, a very nice room, a good nights sleep and a magnificent breakfast.

The hotel is situated between the airport and Pythaghorion "city center" on the beach. Nice pool,
good restaurant, bar. A gym.., well nothing more to ask for.

Kind helpful staff. Probably not the cheapest place to stay, but I guess not too expensive for it's standards and definitely worth the money (that we didn't have to pay this time :-) )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in May 2013 - and we really enjoyed our stay - it is only a short 10-15 mins transfer from the airport. The rooms were bright and airy with king size beds !! and walk in showers... The hotel pool was quite busy with young families but the beach was just a few steps away and was very tranquil with very polite, smiley waitresses. We stayed on b & b and the breakfast was very nice - although an egg chief would be a bonus ! We also visited the spa and had a pedicure - We walked into Pythagorion in the evenings where we had drinks and food and watched the boats moor up for the evening. There are many to choose from and all very good and roughly the same price. We hired a small car for the day Euro 28 and drove up in the hills to see the villages - well worth it... the views are spectacular !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doryssa Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryssa Seaside Resort

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Doryssa Seaside Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doryssa Seaside Resort is situated in the southern part of Samos, next to the historical and most popular destination of Pythagorion. After a full renovation finished in 2006, combined with completely new upgraded services, it has become a 5 star destination. Lovely areas stylish and tasteful. Doryssa village constructions recreate a traditonal Samos village. Doryssa village and the main hotel structure are situated by the seaside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Doryssa Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryssa Seaside Hotel Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doryssa Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.