We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel of two sides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doryssa Seaside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Doryssa Seaside Resort to your Saves list
Doryssa Seaside Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A hotel of two sides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Doryssa Bay hotel in June 2013 for a week. It is like two hotels, one half of which is modeled on a Greek village with its square, little church, small shops and houses, each of which is a separate accommodation. The other half of the hotel is a typical block of rooms around the swimming pools. The village was lovely and quiet as opposed to the swimming pool area, which wasn't. We were in the village part which we liked very much. The swimming pool area and the entertainment was very child centric and not so good if you are a couple wanting a quiet drink around the pool, which was mainly occupied by parents and children. We only went in the pool once, and that was after it had officially closed at 18:00 and was nice and empty. The hotel backs onto the beach which is a mixture of stones and sand, not too good really. The sun loungers are 6 euros a day for two with a fixed umbrella. There is a lawn in between the hotel and the beach which is free to lie on, is more comfortable than the beach and has little trees dotted all over it for shade.

We thought that the breakfasts were very good. Most of the staff in the hotel were really friendly, especially the people who do the coffee with breakfast. The rooms were kept clean and tidy. The wi-fi was useless. In our room the signal was so weak that the Internet was unusable. In the main building it was better, but still impossible to use something like Skype. When we were there, most of the guests were from Scandinavian countries. There is only Euronews on the TV in English. There is a fridge and a safe in the room - well there was in our room.

The hotel sells 500ml Mythos beer for 4.90 euros. 500ml Aegean beer for 4 euros. The hotel shop sells 500ml Mythos for 1.80 euros. The supermarket in Pythagoria sells it for 1.28 euros. Say no more. Pythagoria is about 20 minutes easy walk. Plenty of restaurants and bars. The Pegasus restaurant on the road to Pythagoria was quite good. Car hire was from 35 euros a day with no excess.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, then the village part will probably suit you better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    150
    49
    25
    9
See reviews for
124
163
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gävle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Its a lovely hotel area with the beach just a minute away, and only 10 minutes walk to Pythagorion. We leaved by the square and when its the greek evening whit local music we recommend you to stay out untill the event is over. The music was so loud so we got to take a walk. The beds were, by our standard, to hard but the hotel is nice and the staf was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We landed in this hotel for one night due to a cancelled flight. The hotel managed to host some 100 customers popping up late in the evening without notice. We were served a nice dinner, a very nice room, a good nights sleep and a magnificent breakfast.

The hotel is situated between the airport and Pythaghorion "city center" on the beach. Nice pool,
good restaurant, bar. A gym.., well nothing more to ask for.

Kind helpful staff. Probably not the cheapest place to stay, but I guess not too expensive for it's standards and definitely worth the money (that we didn't have to pay this time :-) )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in May 2013 - and we really enjoyed our stay - it is only a short 10-15 mins transfer from the airport. The rooms were bright and airy with king size beds !! and walk in showers... The hotel pool was quite busy with young families but the beach was just a few steps away and was very tranquil with very polite, smiley waitresses. We stayed on b & b and the breakfast was very nice - although an egg chief would be a bonus ! We also visited the spa and had a pedicure - We walked into Pythagorion in the evenings where we had drinks and food and watched the boats moor up for the evening. There are many to choose from and all very good and roughly the same price. We hired a small car for the day Euro 28 and drove up in the hills to see the villages - well worth it... the views are spectacular !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Finally, with time on my hands I am able to start writing reviews again. Whilst a little overdo, I still thought it'd be worth my input.

My mum and I had a girly holiday here in August 2012 and what a wonderful time we had in Samos. Even though it was peak season, it didn't feel too busy at the Doryssa. It does appear to attract many Italian and Athenian holiday makers. The hotel is split in two, the traditional Greek village area and the more modern & contemporary hotel. We were in the latter, but now wished we had the opportunity to have stayed in the village for that authentic feel. Our standard twin room wasn't huge but set out ok. The bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze though. Very clean, comfortable beds, and serviced daily.

We were on a half board basis and took our meals at the main restaurant serving buffet type food. A tad too many Pasta & other Italian dishes on offer for my liking but that's probably due to the amount of Italian guests staying there. I personally expected more Greek dishes, so due to the lack of, I was disappointed. I would also advise dining as soon as the restaurant opens if you wish to enjoy the food while its hot and fresh. The restaurant is nicely set out and has a lovely covered outdoor area with a garden and sea view should you choose to eat outdoors.

For us, the location was perfect. Others may disagree due to the close proximity to the airport. This wasn't any hassle to us. In fact my mum became quite a plane spotter! To say we were there during peak time, it wasn't a particularly busy airport.
A pleasant flat walk into the town took us around 15-20mins. A beautiful setting in the evening with the bay lit up with numerous eateries, cafes and bars. A real people watching kind of place.

We spent many days lazing around the pebbly/sand beach. The clarity of the sea was fantastic and very inviting. It does get deep quickly, but then 10-15 meters or so swim out, it becomes shallow again with soft sand under foot. There was a charge for the sun loungers and parasols on the beachfront (not around the pool ), but they were comfortable and had the extra benefit of an assistant button to press for drinks service.

A thoroughly good holiday having quality time with my special mum :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Doryssa, even though we visited in the peak of the high season (mid-August) that we normally try to avoid.
The hotel has been recently renovated and through this has achieved an excellent balance of a big resort with a design character. Our room was in the main building, not very big, but nicely fitted out and very comfortable.
Breakfast was great (with a local character and a huge selection) and the staff was very nice in managing the huge number of guests.
Even in the last day, when we were scheduled to leave the hotel very early in the morning, before the official opening of the breakfast buffet, we were informed that we would be able to have breakfast (with a more limited selection of products at that hour) , as they open the restaurant for those wishing to leave early on a trip or excursion. Very thoughtful touch indeed...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

First time for us and our friends, Amazing resort with great architect on the village and great scenery on the ocean front. Very helpful staff in general and especially on the beach, they made us forget the continious delay on our orders. Lucky we got to see the easter holiday there. our experience would be exquisite if the two girls on the restaurant with the blue dresses were not so wrong on the whole picture. the one Ayapi was on our table all the time not letting us talk and obviously looking for company all the time and the other Lesta was annoying as well, worst public relations i have ever seen, they really made us not to want to stay at the restaurant. Special thanks Melana on the beach and Kate. You should definetely try this, avoid the restaurant.

Room Tip: we loved the village but there was no occean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doryssa Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryssa Seaside Resort

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Doryssa Seaside Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doryssa Seaside Resort is situated in the southern part of Samos, next to the historical and most popular destination of Pythagorion. After a full renovation finished in 2006, combined with completely new upgraded services, it has become a 5 star destination. Lovely areas stylish and tasteful. Doryssa village constructions recreate a traditonal Samos village. Doryssa village and the main hotel structure are situated by the seaside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doryssa Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryssa Seaside Hotel Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doryssa Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.