We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST HOTEL IN SAMOS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doryssa Seaside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doryssa Seaside Resort to your Saves list
Doryssa Seaside Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“THE BEST HOTEL IN SAMOS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is situated at the best beach in Samos.It is separated in a village which is fantastic with a traditional cafe,a super market and some other shops,there is also a lake with ducks.The village has around buildings with rooms.Its like you are living in a real village.There is also the central building in which we stayed.The rooms are very clean,not very big with a modern decoration.The only strange for me was the bathroom because the washbasin was actually in the room and separated from the bed with a glass,but this was not real a problem.We had a wonderful view of the sea.The pool was very clean but there were many noise from the children.The sea in front was also clean but the negative was that many people went from early it the morning and put on the sunbeds towels so to keep them from later.Some of them never came and as result some days we didnt have somewhere to sit even though there were empty sunbeds.I think that the personel at the sea(because there were people who gave you towels every day all day)must take care of this.The breakfast was very good with a variety of food to choose.The stuff very friendly especially Alexandra.We ate lunch at the pool bar and it was tasty with good prices.The dinner was not very good ,it didnt have variety and it was expensive.In general this hotel despite some details is the best choise in Samos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    156
    52
    25
    9
See reviews for
125
171
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I knew about this hotel since I was a kid and used to visit Samos, which is my father's birthplace. I happened to visit Samos again with my boyfriend and picked Doryssa Bay. I had reserved a bungalow but was upgraded to a suite which happened to be available. I was delighted! I can't say enough for that suite, it was amazingly decorated, huge, with a breathtaking bathroom. The bed was so comfortable I was sad to leave... The room was on top of the breakfast restaurant but the noise didn't bother me at all. On the contrary, since we were located right on the beach, it was great having our breakfast and then going to the beach. And the breakfast was real good too! I wasn't that excited with the waiter who was unprofessional and too young for that first class hotel I guess, but overall my stay was unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The place that the hotel is situated is the best in Samos.The rooms are very clean with a fantastic view if you choose a room with sea view at the central building.They are not very big and the only strange for me was the bathroom because the washstand was in the room and separated from the bed with a glass but this is not real a problem.The hotel has also a traditional village in where you can stay and its very nice.There is also a lake with ducks which I liked most.The pool is very good and clean.The sea in front is also very clean and there are sunbeds from the hotel.The only negative was that many people from early in the morning about 6-7 a.m. put towels on the sunbeds so that they keep them even though some of them never come with a result that some days we didnt have a place to sit, sunbeds were empty with towels on them.The breakfast was very good with a variety of food to choose.The food at the pool bar was tasty with good prices.The dinner was expensive and not very good.The stuff was very friendly especially Alexandra at the breakfast.In general this hotel is one of the best in Greece.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly and serviceminded staff, clean and newly renovated rooms. Small hotel rooms in the main building, more spacious in the village part. Obviously a maintenance lag all over the public hotel area. Village part not very suitable for children, partly a long walk from main area and wireless not accessible. Nice food and nice location. Children evening activities not impressive, not according to plan and not correct information at the front desk. International clientel. All services a bit on the expensive side. Beach a bit windy and wavy for the smallest children. Nice pools, never really overcrowded. Not very impressive evening entertainment, way better when finally quiet at 11.15 a.m. Walkable distance from Pythagorio.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Grrece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at the presidential suite with my family for two weeks. The size of the room was about junior suite size as compared to other suites we've stayed. The location was above the restaurant so it was VERY noisy from 7.30 a.m. The room service was very good although a couple of times our order was not correct. The room was very clean but some times the staff used dirty water while mopping so the stench was awful. The beach facilities where excellent as was the location. Thumbs up to the staff at the water sports facilities. All in all it was a pleasant stay at a four star hotel which has not matured yet into a five star status.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed two weeks. Absolutely lovely hotel. FRIENDLY staff, nice rooms, good pool, no "fighting" for sunbeds, perfect placement ten minute walk from Pythagorion Harbour. We would definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I recently spent three nights here with my wife and two kids (ages 17 and 20) after two weeks in Turkey. Excellent property on a well kept long pebbled beach. The environment is quiet, with the exception the occasional flight from the nearby Samos airport. Very good amenities and service, with something for all ages. We stayed in the "village" portion of the result, which I found more picturesque and comfortable than the traditional hotel building. The village square has a convenience store, nice coffeshop/cafe, and several clothing and pottery type shops. On site restaurants, cafes and bars were good, but dinner options in the village of Pythagorio were generally better and less expensive. Walking into the village takes about ten minutes on a flat road. (Make sure to try Trata for seafood, which has their tables right on the beach, with water practically lapping at the table legs).

There are lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach, with no issue getting one for the day (a 3 Euro charge). Water sports are located on site for tubing, jet skis, canoeing, etc. They offer a small discount for hotel guests.

If you want a quiet and relaxing resort in a beautiful setting with consistently good service, Doryssa is a good choice. If you want a loud night club kind of environment, this is not what you are looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doryssa Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryssa Seaside Resort

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Doryssa Seaside Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doryssa Seaside Resort is situated in the southern part of Samos, next to the historical and most popular destination of Pythagorion. After a full renovation finished in 2006, combined with completely new upgraded services, it has become a 5 star destination. Lovely areas stylish and tasteful. Doryssa village constructions recreate a traditonal Samos village. Doryssa village and the main hotel structure are situated by the seaside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Doryssa Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryssa Seaside Hotel Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doryssa Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.