We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus

Pegasus
Near Roman Baths, Pythagorion 83103, Greece (Formerly Armoutoglou Lefteris)
2273062257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Pythagorion
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Pegasus Restaurant is located in a beautifull area in Pythagorion of Samos a few meters from the beach. Lefteris and his crew is always willing to serve you homemade traditional and local Greek cuisine and quality drinks from noon till late in the evening.
Wirral, merseyside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Pythagorio. We ate at the Pegasus every evening. The restaurant is run by Lefteris and his wife Roula. They are excellent hosts and you are always sure of a warm welcome. Roula prepares and cooks the food herself and it really does taste like home cooking. The menu is varied enough to have a different meal every evening and the prices are excellent value for money and of ample portions. The Saturday barbecue with 3 courses and all the local wine you can drink for 14 euros per head is also excellent value for money. Many of Lefteris's customers are people who return year on year. Lefteris is a "larger than life" character who is entertainment in himself. No visit to Pythagorio would be complete without a visit to the Pegasus,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

During our stay in Samos we ate here on four occasions and the food was delicious. The prices are very reasonable and the staff very helpful when explaining the menu. Loved the grape vines hanging from the roof of the taverna and the view of the sea.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quirky but Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We imagine a lot of tourists walk past Pegasus without giving it a second look,on our first night in Samos my wife wasn't keen so we walked down to the port area,but another night i said its highly rated so lets try it,and what a good choice,its very good Lefteris the owner/waiter he's the Quirky part worth just going for a drink just to meet him,the food is excellent,served with a smile and funny quip,we had a great evening met another couple had a chat and arranged to go back to Pegasus for a meal with them four nights later,and as they are greek we asked them to order all the food and what a great meal we had one of the best.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent and entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Whilst staying for two weeks at the villa Anna each evening we attended the Pegasus as a stop off on our walk into the town it takes precisely 12 minutes at strolling pace. (a further 8 minutes to town).
We were welcomed every evening like long lost friends and with entertaining quips from the somewhat eccentric owner lefkeris. We were seated and brought two large refreshing beers as a matter of course after the first pit stop and the cost was 5 euros for the two. The atmosphere and scenery is excellent and a Saturday night BBQ of tsatziki, salad, bread grilled meat and dessert together with as much wine as you can drink is 14 euros each. Yammas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were staying at the Villa Anna Studios, about a 20 min walk from Pythagorian itself and this little typically Greek taverna was about halfway between the two. What can I say? The food was excellent - our favourites were the chick pea balls, tomato balls - well any balls really!! The Imam was wonderful too. I can't comment on the meat dishes as I'm vegetarian but everyone seemed to be enjoying the food there. The draft Alpha beer is the cheapest in all of Pythagorian - 2.5 euro for a large glass, just what you need to refresh you on the long dusty walk back to the apartment! The house wine and Retsina are cheap and decent quality. Last but not least the staff are lovely and friendly and there is a sea view too. I would definitely return to this taverna.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pegasus also viewed

Pythagorion, Samos
 

Been to Pegasus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.