We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Your Welcome"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anthis Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pythagorion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anthis Studios
Save
You added Anthis Studios to your Saves list
Pythagorio | P.B 72, Pythagorion, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"Your Welcome"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a last minute booking and our first trip to the Greek Island so wasn't expecting too much. The transfer time of less than 10 minutes was perfect but don't let the location put you off as Samos isn't a busy airport.
Upon arrival we really couldn't have received a better welcome from the family. Kostas was running around like a headless chicken trying to get everyone settled. The apartments were basic but was very clean with bedding and towels changed regularly. As long as we had a fridge that is all that mattered as we didn’t intend to cook during our stay. After a quick unpack and change we were in the pool before the coach had even reached the other hotels. Anthis is set on the main road about 20 minutes outside of Pythagorio, a pleasant walk in our opinion but always caught a cab back after meal down in the harbour (5 Euro). It does help when there is a good crowd and we were certainly lucky on that score, Debbie, Charles, Sandra, Rob, Lisa, Rob, Mick, Lorraine. Debs, Pete, Richard and Sue thank you for making the holiday. The family could not have made you feel more welcome and couldn’t do enough during your stay. When was the last time you were cooked chips in any studio from their own garden? Best chips ever. On Sunday if enough people are interested Kostas will cook a BBQ which is well worth staying local for, far too much for us to eat though. The bar is run by Kostas, Meni and Adonis and the prices are cheaper than in town. It's your call if you want to keep yourself to yourself to socialise, nothing is forced upon you at the Anthis. The pool area like everywhere else was clean and tidy whilst the pool was refreshing when the sun became too much.
Sue and Rob (a young couple who have been going to Samos for years) were on an extended summer holiday, they would regularly pop into the Anthis and take other couples out to town or around the island showing them the sites. I think you have a business in the making there Rob.
All in all the Anthis, Pythagorio, and Samos more than exceeded our expectations but being selfish I don't want to give too much praise as its our little gem. One final mention to Meni who's voice I now have as a ring tone "Your Welcome" See you soon x

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, that overlooked the rear of the property. It has a fridge, two ring hob, kettle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arrival at the Anthis i must say we were immediately underwhelmed by the basic accomadation we received (ground floor looking out onto a garden area) the room itself was very very basic even by Greek standards
Never the less after a couple of days the place seemed to develop a certain charm to it and one which was thoroughly enjoyable
There are a few downsides to the apartments location (on a very fast road,30 mins walk to Pythagorio, supermarket nearby was very limited) but overall the enchanting Anthis overcomes all of this
Would we stay again probably not but thats more to do with our policy of exploring the globe than any fault of the Anthis

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We made our holiday choice based on Trip Advisor reviews regarding the Anthis Studios. We were not dissapointed . The family were friendly,helpful and always cheerful. Kostas, Meni and Adonis were excellent hosts. The accomodation was typically Greek basic but comfortable and clean. Our balcony overlooked the mountains and the orange trees in the Hotel's gardens. The swimming pool and bar area were good places to chat to the family and meet the other guests. The weekly BBQ was a very sociable evening with delicious homemade food. The walk into the town was a great opportunity to appreciate the beautiful landscape and explore on foot. We regularly visited the beach located at Doryssa Bay and enjoyed swimming in the clear warm sea. We were blown away by Samos a real pearl in the Aegean, the holiday made perfect by the great hospitality at the Anthis. we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Anthis Studios. It was our first visit to the island, although we are quite well travelled across Greece and love the quieter unspoilt islands. Samos did not disappoint.
In regards to the accommodation the Anthis is definitely small and friendly. No sooner have you got on the transfer bus at the airport then you are off as it is no more than a 5 minute drive! We had a studio on the front of the building and you do hear the traffic noise but this did not deter from our enjoyment of our holiday. The room was comfortable enough and the bathroom by Greek standards was good. What was lovely was that there was never more than 4 sets of people at any one time around the pool so getting a sun bed at any time was no problem and we normally had the pool to ourselves! There was also plenty of shade for those who do not want to spend all the time in the sun.
There are a lot of cats about but this did not worry us.
One thing we would say could improve the experience is that it would have been nice to have had the bins emptied daily, considering both the heat and especially the bathroom bin given the Greek plumbing!
Air con was a must - this is payable locally 6 euros per day.
We would highly recommend getting a car and discovering the beautiful island. We had a car for 4 days from MOT car hire 30 euros a day ( a 5 min walk from the Anthis) as the Evelyn car hire company let us down when we went to collect a vehicle we had booked!
Some of the highlights for us were; the hillside village of Manolates - an at times scary 2 kilometre drive of hairpin bends at steep angles, but so worth it, and you have to have the apple pie! Samos town, including the wine museum, where for 2 euros you can help yourself to all the different wines of the island! We loved visiting the village of Ireon (10 min drive) and enjoyed a wonderful meal one evening overlooking the sea under a full moon (mush quieter than Pythagorian).
The walk into Pythagorian from the Anthis took us, as slow walkers, over 30 minutes so we would get a taxi back (5 euros)when we did not have the car. There is a supermarket about 2 minutes walk from the Anthis which is where we bought our fresh bread every morning. The nearest beach is a 10-15 min walk (blue flag shingle beach - though there are some sandy beaches on the island).
Our favourite restaurant in Pythagorian was the Irodion as the food was great and the service genuine. Our worst meal was at the Apollonian on the harbour front as two of our three dishes (Moussaka) were served cold then reheated and no real apology made, something we have never experienced before in Greece.
Tip - change up plenty of money in the UK, as in Samos I did not think the rate was that great and also you will be changed commission!
If you like unspoilt Greece, and you like to have an island large enough to explore with lots of history, beautiful greenery and places of interest then Samos is for you.
I would recommend the Anthis for those wanting a family run typically Greek small property which offers great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Thanks again for a 12th year of a fantasic holiday, you are all so friendly and helpful this is a place you must stay!!! great pool, food, company quiet and clean what more could you want. Meni is a great cook very sharp knifes watch those fingers! Andoni is a great young man helping out and also great card tricks, as with Leftenis, amazing what college teaches you. Kostas is always hard working and great fun nothing is to much trouble. Athena and Annithoula are great too.

Mum is still great and looking good, look after the kittens for us please we will be back next year...you will not be able to get rid of us, Appleonia in the pythagorio harbour is a great resaurant to eat in, great staff, tell them Mik & Lorraine sent you,,, try the Pizza La Strada it is great all fresh hand made on the spot, Gregory's bar in the harbour is great for cocktails and breakfast to, he is fun and his wife is great in the mornings. A fantastic jewel in the med not to be missed and hopefully it will never be spolit

If you like boats go on captian Yannis boat with his wife and the two little goats such fun and very nice people.

Hire a vehicle or scooter from Takis at Evelyn another nice guy. We have truly fell inlove with this island and its friendly way of life.

Room Tip: all rooms are great for different reasons no issues with any unless you cannot climb stairs then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'm almost reluctant to post this, as if the Anthis gets too busy we may not be able to get the dates we want for next year.
Having read reviews before, you are always a bit wary as too how true they really are. Well I can honestly say that there is a very good reason that the Anthis has a tripadvisor award.....it is fab!
Kostas, Meni and Antonis really are the nicest people you could wish for as hosts.
Yes it is a bit of a hike (1/2 hour) to walk into town at night, but it is well worth it. Not that we did every night as we enjoyed the home made food and weekly BBQ on a number of nights also.
The rooms are very clean and (yes typically Greek) so don't expect 5* luxury. What it lacks in facilities is more than made up for in HOSPITALITY, which in our book counts for so much more.
The pool is great with ample sun beds and plenty of shade if you need it.
We had never been to Samos before, but we are already looking forward to seeing Kostas and his lovely family again next year.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our 4th visit to Anthis, each time a little bit more has been improved as Kostas and family strive to provide the perfect summer home-from-home for their guests. Compared with our last visit in 2011 the pool has new tiling, there are more signs of energy efficiency and the bar now serves cocktails too. Anthis is located on the road between Pythagorion & Chora so expect some road noise from scooters but it's not intrusive. It's about a 25 minute walk from the harbour, or an inexpensive taxi ride. Potokaki beach is about 15 minutes walk, and there's a supermarket less than 5 minutes away. Parking is limited so bear that in mind if you've hired a car. Food at the pool bar is good value, there's free wifi and if enough people are up for it the family will light the barbecue on Sunday evenings. Anthis remains a superb place to stay within the usual caveats of a Greek island holiday (eg no paper down the toilet, basic decor & kitchen, no TV in your room etc.) and if you are mobile enough to cope with stairs or a level 25 minute walk to town you'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anthis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthis Studios

Address: Pythagorio | P.B 72, Pythagorion, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pythagorion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Anthis Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Anthis Studios Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthis Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.