We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Great Position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thalassa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thalassa Hotel to your Saves list
Thalassa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lassi 28100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Lassi
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Great Position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the hotel. Had a beautiful room, fantastic bathroom, cleaned everyday to a good standard.

We arrived after the horrific thunderstorms had hit the island, this had caused the hotel a few probelms. They were dealt with by Angela and her staff expertly.

The hotel breakfast was great, the stray cats and wasps when wanting to eat outside are a bit of an issue.

Hotel provides beach towels which can be changed every 3 days.

For us the position was perfect, the bars and restuarants were 5 minutes walk away with 2 excellant beaches even nearer.

We would definately visit the lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    52
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
42
132
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Arrived 12th August for a 1 week stay. Stayed two nights only because we couldn't arrange alternative accommodation quicker. Our room was sold as a side sea view! In actuality it is subterranean. The "sea view" is in fact, when sitting outside the room, a grass bank. To get to the room you descend down stairs from ground level, passed the cat food scattered on the floor, plates and other detritus. For the first 18 hours we could not flush the toilet; maintenance don't work on the weekend! This is not a boutique hotel in my opinion and we have stayed in some nice ones around the world; it's probably 2* at best and the manager Angela was not interested in our comments and requests. Would not recommend or go back.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing week's holiday in the Thalassa hotel in Lassi and couldn't fault it in any way. The room was beautiful and immaculately clean with wonderful sea views. When we arrived we were given a complimentary drink while we waited to be checked in. Angela, Alexi and the staff are very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is in a great location with beaches and tavernas only a short walk away. The pool is immaculately clean and was never too busy. The breakfast room was beautiful and provided a great choice of hot and cold buffet food. We found Lassi an ideal base to explore the island. I can't see why anyone could find fault with this hotel. Its a perfect hotel for couples and we cant wait to return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and i are in our early 70s and were slightly nervous about the reference to difficulties in walking access to the hotel. We had no problems at all and found the hotel and its staff quite delightful.Not wishing hire a car, Lassi was the ideal base to explore the island by other means of transport, and made the 2 mile walk along the pretty coastal road into Argostoli several times. We too experienced the dramatic storm, but any water was soon cleared from our room and the staff worked flat out to ensure our comfort. We fully intend to visit again in2013 David Bland Rm 106a.

Room Tip: We were quite content with our ground floor and found the lawn in front of our room very relaxing. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from a week in this hotel, our first time in Kefalonia. We had a basement room, the a view of mainly mountain. It was most secenic and pleasant, the grassy bank afforded us some privacy from walkers. The room was perfectly clean and the maid kept it like that all week. It couldn't have escaped our notice about the stray cats , 'living' in the hotel grounds. Mainly seen at breakfast an d around the pool. Could be a problem for those allergiced to cats. We really liked the low level style of the hotel, with its pool area and pool bar. Made a real change from the high rise concrete hotels and massive pool complexes. We don't have children, so it truly met our need. Breakfast was authentically Greece; although we missed the Ketchup for the bacon sarnie! You DO need a small torch for walking in the dark to and from the hotel to the main lassi road. It's totally dark with no ligthing.Great taverna's and wonderful musical entertainament in the evening. We had a lovely stay at the Thalassa, really pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: Basement room was cool and quiet. No seaview, but great mountain outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned after a week at this hotel. Agree totally with positive comments about the reception area and the wonderful breakfasts. The hotel is in a lovely location and very convenient for the beaches and the tavernas.

A few problems though.

Firstly we have chosen a sea view room and were placed in the lower ground floor room 101A which mostly looked out onto a grassy slope and had at best a "sea glimpse" when you were standing. This made the room rather gloomy and depressing but as we did not plan to spend much time in the room we decided to live with it.

Secondly, we thought the bathroom drains were a bit smelly but before having a chance to complain the bathroom floor drain back flooded foul water into the bathroom! They called a plumber who cleared it and mopped up the foul water and indicated that they would clean it out the next day but that didn't happen. The drain cover was then loose and we could see that it had not really been cleaned.

Thirdly there was a huge thunderstorm overnight and upon rising for a 4AM pee I got out of bed and found myself standing ankle deep in water in the bedroom!! As daylight came we could see that the corridoor drains were completely blocked with pine needles so the corridoor filled and poured into everybodies bedrooms. A chaotic morning followed with the drains being cleared and new drains added and the dreadful mess cleaned up. We are happy to accept that things like this can happen but a simply apology and sympathy would have helped the situation.

Lastly after breakfast on the last day I enquired what the checkout time would be and was told it was 10 o'clock. I asked how we were supposed to know this as it wasn't written anywhere we had a curt "You need to ask".

On balance a lovely hotel, nice location but let down by a few details.

Room Tip: Avoid 101A
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelikiKalafati, General Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay at Thalassa Hotel

Last week, Kefalonia had the worst huge thunderstorm over the last 15 years. The whole island had to suffer because of this. We deeply apologize for the issue you had with the water inside the room, although most houses and hotels in the island faced this problem, due to the torrential rain in such a short period of time.

As far as your room is concerned, and after we have checked with your reservation, your booking was referred to a side sea view room, which is clearly stated on your hotel voucher.

Any special requests for upgrading is always subject to availability but your T.O did not mention that on your hotel voucher. Nevertheless, we did allocate you into our superior rooms.

We appreciate all of our guests that had been really understading on that day, and that is why except from our apologies , we had a complimentary buffet with coffees, snacks and wine during that day.

Last but not least, it is great to hear that you liked the location , reception and breakfast of Thalassa Hotel.

Once again, thank you for the feedback provided as we are always looking for ways to improve our services. We do hope to see you again , at Thalassa Hotel for your next holiday in Kefalonia.

Please do not forget to e-mail me so that I can personally take care of your room allocation.

Best regards
Angela Kalafati
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the second week of September and were not disappointed in any way.

On arrival mid afternoon we were given a complimentary glass of wine and a selection of local snacks to enjoy whilst we were being checked in.

The rooms are immaculate and cleaned everyday. Our view was stunning from our sun terrace. The breakfast room was beautiful and provided a lovely morning buffet offering a variety of fresh and lovely food.

The pool was lovely and clean and it was never too busy which was lovely too.

The strip of tavernas are a short walk away and Butlers House is a MUST!

When the time came to check out :-( Angela ordered us a taxi whilst we relaxed in the stunning lobby area.

We liked the fact the hotel only had a small team of staff, they were able to provide a far friendlier service.

Thank you for making our holiday so perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thalassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Hotel

Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
#5 Family Hotel in Lassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THALASSA HOTEL is set in the heart of the famous resortof Kefalonia, Lassi, where Makris Gialos Beach is a mustamongst the island’s visitors. The newly built complexThalassa Hotel, that consists of luxurious and spaciousrooms in two neoclassical buildings, captures the basicelements for an unforgettable stay.overlooking the majestic Paleostafida Gulf, Thalassa Hotelis an enchanting, cozy intimate island family hotel, ideal foranyone seeking for a fun and relaxing holiday. The warm familyatmosphere, the elegantly comfortable rooms, the colourfulgardens the breathtaking views makes Thalassa Hotel theplace for absolute relaxation and ultimate vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thalassa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Hotel Lassi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thalassa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.