We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thekla, Lassi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thekla Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lassi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thekla Studios
Save
You added Thekla Studios to your Saves list
Lassi, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Lassi
Sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Thekla, Lassi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The accommodation is, as is usual for 2 star self catering, basic but clean. In fact it was very clean, and it was serviced three times in the week, which is better than usual. We were impressed by the shower, which although the head leaked, was in a real shower cubicle, with sliding doors!
We were in room 6, round the back on the ground floor with a view of the sea if you sat at the far end of the terrace, otherwise you were sheltered by the wall of the room next door.
The kitchen equipment is again, the usual basic assortment, but as we always eat out at night in Greece, it was perfectly adequate for our needs - quick breakfast and the occasional salad lunch.

Lassi is ok as Greek holiday towns go, but whether it was because we went in September towards the end of the season or because it's a purpose built resort and hasn't grown out of an old village, it seemed to lack the personality and heart that you usually get in Greece.
Anyway, we had a lovely week there and can especially recommend the Nefeli and the Phaedra tavernas, although we ate in plenty of other places and every meal was enjoyable. The Mystic bar does a lovely breakfast.

Weather-wise, we had four great days and then a bit of a storm, followed by a day or so of rain showers, hardly a surprise in September. We visited Ithaka, on the excursion organised by Olympic, and found it good value and enjoyable, as was the Island Delights tour, which was made complete by Jackie the guide. Very good.

The only thing which we found to be anything like a problem is the fact that the owners of the Thekla are reluctant to let you pay to keep the room on if you have a night flight home as we did, although they did tell one couple that they had to allow their room to be used as a courtesy room for the rest of us in return for keeping it on for some of the afternoon. Not the sort of thing that it's worth letting spoil your holiday though, is it?

All in all, a good holiday.

Room Tip: You'll have better views from the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Thekla studios. We were lucky enough to get one of the 3 studios on the upper floor, which I believe are smaller than the studios on the ground floor but far than compansate with the stunning views from the balconys, the sea is literely 40 yards away. Would probably been dissappointed had we been put in one of the lower studios, for us the balcony and views were a big plus.
The studio was basic, as are most in Greece, but adequate enough. Cleaned 3 times a week. The only negative i would give is the need for a toaster.The nearest beach is a few minutes away by the Hotel Mediteranee, probably the nicest in the area (my opinion). Overall an ideal spot to stay in Lassi.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor studio, for the balcony and stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast of England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our room was airy and spacious. Good size fridge, a two ring cooker and microwave. Basic crockery, saucepans, knives and forks etc. Someone commented on the lack of a kettle - we just used a saucepan to boil water. All spotlessly clean.They only have twin beds, so we put the matresses together on the floor after moving the beds around! Nice terrace which overlooked some trees and the sea but that would depend which room you get. We had breakfast there every morning. There was an airer for clothes. Lovely powerful shower.

The room did get hot but there is the option of aircon. at 5 Euros a day - we were ok without. Also a safe at 10 Euros a week which we opted for.There is a fan but some may not be able to sleep with it going, depends how well you sleep. The fridge is obviously on quite a lot but we didn't find it overly noisy to sleep.
The rooms are cleaned twice a week - the lady worked very hard so we left her a tip.
The building is in a quiete area and we had no noise problems from others.
The studios are only 5-10 mins walk away from the main restaurant/taverna strip. Be aware that there is a slight hill though and it can make you sweat in the heat.
There is a sandy beach withinin 5 minutes walk,behind the hotel next door and it's signposted.
There's a bus service every 90 mins to Argoustoli,the main town. Only 1.5 Euros. You can walk it in about 40 mins but we didn't do it more than once,too hot. One way taxi was 6 Euros.
We hired a scooter for 3 days for 45 Euros. I tried out a 300cc and a 125cc. The 125 was a lot easier to manoeuvre. Hired from a shop on the the main Lassi road. I'm a regular, experienced motorcyclist and I would advise caution if you're not. Not saying don't do it but be careful and wear the crash helmets(unlike the locals!) We rode up to Fiscardo to see the Venetian buildings that remained intact after the earthquake.
Down in Agoustoli, it's worth wandering down by the fishing boats. There are a few Loggerhead Turtles to be seen. Magnificent creatures. You need a bit of patience - look for a small crowd and no doubt it'll be because ones been seen.
Loads of restaurants to choose from. We reckoned the best was on the way from the studio to the main Lassi road, the Aqua Marina. Very friendly staff and good food after a couple of Ouzos!
This place suited us really well and we had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury,Wilts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks. The studios are basic but everything works. The views are stunning and only a few minutes from the beach and the local strip where all the restaurants are. Bring your own travel kettle, there is two cooker rings but we only ate at home a couple of times. We had room 2 and would think about staying there again. Very clean and linen changed regularly.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have more of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have just returned from a week in these studios we would not stay there again .The bin in the bathroom was only emptied every other day which is not very nice in warm weather. There are no kettles provided in any of the studios or toasters. The fridge was very noisy. The shower did not work ,we told the rep, it was looked at but was still spraying out every where but the shower head. We have been to Greece many times before and have always stayed in studios, this is the first time we have been disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have just returned from Kefalonia and the lovely Thekla studios. We were very impressed from the moment we arrived. The location is amazing and every room has a sea view. We had room 7 which has previously had a terrible review. It was very clean, large with three patio areas so we moved around them at various times during the day. The studios have everything you need including microwave, 2 ringed stove and a coffee perculator. We took a travel kettle which was useful. We hired a car for 4 days which is a must in Kefalonia to see the fabulous sites. The beaches are well within easy reach of the apartments and the resort itself is lovely with lots of tavernas and a 20 minute walk into Agostoli. You can use most hotel pools but you are allowed to use the pool at the Lorenzo Hotel which was fabulous with seaviews. We would not hesitate to return to these apartments.

Room Tip: To get a good nights sleep we unplugged the air conditioning unit as this constantly set itself thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My reason for writing this review is because I was unable to find only one photograph of the studios.Thekla Studios are in a nice location looking over the sea. The studios are basic but very clean. Yes they are basic but the price was right. For the price you could do far worse.
Studios and apartments are basic in Greece. However, I have always found the friendliness of the Greeks on the Islands overwhelming which is why we return to Greece when possible.
Another tip which is useful and applies to any other non English speaking nations is to try and learn some of the basic language. The Greeks fortunately for us often speack very good English.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room on the balcony as the sea view is better from this position
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thekla Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekla Studios

Address: Lassi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Lassi
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thekla Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.