We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scorpios Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Scorpios Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scorpios Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monolithos Beach, Monolithos 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Monolithos
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at The Scorpios Beach Hotel. Fantastic accommodation with free much needed, quiet & very effective air con & free safe. Spotlessly clean. Not a brilliant selection of crockery, glasses etc; but adequate for our needs. Superb location for us as not at all touristy or commercialised. Excellent beach, but I would recommend families with young children use the organised beach as the stretch belonging to the hotel is not as shallow & gets a bit rough at times. Good public bus service & hotel bus service I gather, however we did what we always do in Greece hired a quad bike for our stay. Saw the whole island, re-visited favourite places, went off the beaten track & discovered places public bus services won't take you to. This is most definitely quad bike island! Excellent taverna's nearby as described in other reviews, but Captain Loizo's is a must for friendliness, value, portions, free drinks & free water melon!!! The only draw back is the pool is a bit on the small side, but we preferred the beach anyway. Was really disappointed at the price of poolside drinks in the evenings. 8 euro's for 2 ouzo's & 6 euro's each for a cocktail in happy hour. We just remained at the local taverna where ouzo's were 2 euro's each & 1/2 litre of Santorinian wine was 4 euro's, but I think this did spoil the atmosphere in the evening as on the first week there was never any one sat at the pool bar in the evening, but the again if you want a knees up type of holiday you wouldn't choose here, which is what we liked. Would we return YES YES YES!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North wales, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked our holiday at the Scorpios through late deals/Thomson and certainly got value for money as a result. Paying full price we may have been a little less satisfied.
The complex itself is small and intimate, spotlessly clean and very well maintained throughout. It is run in a professional manner.
Staff - competent and efficient, polite but didn't get the sense of ' nothing too much trouble' that others mention. But no complaints either
Food - didn't try the breakfast for 8 Euro a head so can't comment. Served food from a limited menu from the snack bar, a little expensive and a little bland , okay in an emergency
Food nearby - two tavernas less than 100 yards from the hotel (turn right) a further two tavernas ten minutes walk from the hotel (turn left) , all serving decent food
The processing plant- yes it's next door to a processing plant, but You can here it from inside the hotel complex - not an issue for us
Monolithos - very quiet and isolated , if that what you want no problem but it really is quiet.
The pool - more of a splash pool really, small but fits the bill, always had access to sunbeds whilst we were there (last week of July)
Bus service - every two hour to Kamari or THira at 2.50 per head, they will also run you to the Airport at the end of your stay for 10euro, so hat may save you on transfer fees, Monolithos is only a mile or two from the Airport so taxi should be no more than 15 euro
Flight pass over the hotel on take off only, perhaps 6-8 times a day, not a problem
The rooms - spotlessly clean and very spacious, beds comfortable, decent showers, excellent free air conditioning - the self catering aspect however was very poor indeed, two ring hob and a kettle and that pretty much it, however there is nowhere really to plug in the kettle safely, you end up placing it on the floor so you need to be careful if you have toddlers with you
Car Hire - recommend you have a car if staying in Monolithos , plenty of companies around and very reasonable
Mini market next to hotel sells pretty much everything you need and is not ridiculously expensive.

Overall this is a great place but be aware that it really is quiet and the self catering aspect is very poor, if your happy with this then I highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We've been to Scorpios hotel two weeks ago. Staff is very friendly, clean room, very relaxing hotel and we always found a space around the pool or beach. There is supermarket right next to the hotel and fish taverna with a grumpy man, but next to it is lovely Captain Loizos Taverna. We tried food in Thira but this taverna is definitely the best , Also amazing prizes....Greek salad 6euro, 1l of fantastic santorini wine 8 euro, fish on the grill under 9euro, musaka 8euro and other yummy specialities on the menu. Super yummy!!! Hotel serves breakfast for 8 euro per person. and runs a bus to thira which is 10 mins away for 2.50 per person also local bus goes to thira and oia for 1.60. It's very easy to move around the island even withour renting a car. I would really recommend this hotel if you are looking for peacefull holidays. For those who are looking for a nightlife there is thira's clubs nearby. Hotel has also a snack bar with fantastic greek frape and delicious icecream, they cook fresh hot and cold food, such as club sandwiches, chips, pizza, greek salads, burgers, musaka etc. We had amazing time and we would definitely go back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We just got back from a week in Santorini, stayed in Scorpios.
This is a small hotel, I think it might be family run. Everyone is pleasant and helpful. Rooms are specious, clean and really nice. There is cooking space and a sink and a small fridge.
There is as well a small dinning table. The bathroom is decent size as well, with a shower.
We decided to go with self-catering option, all needed products from breakfast can be bought in near by shop (3 minute walk), prices are actually quite good. You can buy there fruits, some vegetables, some ham, cheese etc. You will not be bale to buy any meat there, like raw chicken or beef, so if you intend to cook all your meals, you would need to get to bigger supermarket - nearest one is on the main road to Kamari. Our kitchen was equipped with 2 cooking hobs, one sharp knife, forks, knifes, spoons etc, one small frying pan, small souse pan, a big cooking pot and draining sieve( for past or rice). there is electric kettle as well and of course plates and cups. Most thin you would need, only was lacking a chopping board, but can't have everything.
Room was cleaned everyday and I think they changed towels everyday as well. There is free wireless, best signal was in the lobby, you can get weak signal in the room if you are lucky.
We did not eat anything in the hotel, so can't comment on that.
So to summarise , we were very happy with the hotel, beds are very comfy and we slept well each night.
Beach- this is black send beach, with some pebbles. Scorpios has own small area with around 16 sun beds. Sand is really fine and sea was very warm and clear. We tried to go on the beach in the morning, usually from 10am till 1 pm - and we always found lost of free sunbeds, so no need to reserve them at 6 am.
In very close neighbourhood there are 2 tavernas (next to the shop), on the right from hotel 9if you facing the beach). We ate at the one right to the shop and it was fine, portions are big, prices are good. But our favourite was one bit farther from hotel (just go left from hotel), around 5-10 minutes walk - it is family run taverna, young bloke and his mum. Food is very good, fish is very fresh - they got own fishing boat; and the portions are huge. They will very often give you something free, like beer, coffee or ice creams. Very nice service with the smile, we ate there 4 times and each time was perfect. It was bit cheaper than anywhere else as well. For meal for 2, with some starters and beers we paid 30 Euro, I think it is quite good price.
We have rented the car for 3 days and I think this is quite good option, as gave us enough time to see everything what we wanted.
There are lots of quads and scooters around, I think it might be good option if you want to have some fun factor when commuting on the island. Drivers are used to them on the roads and I would say it quite safe to ride one.
Don't forget your camera, there are lots of things to photograph
It might be review not just of the hotel, but I hope it will give you some idea about surroundings of a hotel as well. If you would like to know some more, please contact me.
I think there were one of the best of holidays we had so far. Greek people are very laid back and friendly and everyone spoke English.

Room Tip: Quite place, great if you want to chill out. If you want night entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Scorpios is located across the street from a beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and happy serve. The owners were very kind and gracious making us feel as though we were honored guests in their home. The complimentary breakfast included a variety of delicious finger foods, including fruit. We would gladly stay at the Scorpios hotel again. Oh, and make sure you ask the owners where to eat because all of their suggestions were excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for a week in July and the room was really nice. The free air con was amazing, was not expecting it which made it much better. The pool was really nice, but maybe a little small. The beach was a bit disappointing. We walked over to the public beach which was a lot nicer to be on.

We used the minicab service many times to go to and from different places on the island as there is a so much more to see and do than in Monolithos and the minibus service was so handy. Special thanks to Tolis the minicab driver driver, always had a smile on his face driving around in the heat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a fabulous hotel ...... the air conditioning was free of charge as was the safe in our bedroom. The hotel was lovely and clean and our room was very spacious with 5 windows in !! Beds were comfortable and fresh towels with free toiletries provided every day. Food in the hotel was lovely and not expensive and a wide range available. Room service if you wanted it. Pool bar service was excellent the staff were very helpful and always smiling, The hotel is small with only 23 rooms, pool was big enough as the beach is across the road with free sunbeds and parasols. It is very quiet and ideal hotel if you just want to chill and relax. There is a shuttle bus to the next town/village 5 euro's return with the driver asking when to come back and get us. We went on one excursion run by Thompson, which was really good.

No entertainment at the hotel, however the local taverna's played music, some of it live. The food in the taverna's was great with really big portions.
Would definately go back to this hotel.
Quick transfer to airport with a little bit of airplane noise during day but you soon get used to it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scorpios Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpios Beach Hotel

Address: Monolithos Beach, Monolithos 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Monolithos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Monolithos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scorpios Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created a studio & apartments complex (Scorpios Beach Studios & Apartments) at Monolithos Beach, just next to the old tomato factory of 1922, loyal to the tradition and respectful to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scorpios Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpios Beach Hotel Santorini/Monolithos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scorpios Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.