We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scorpios Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Scorpios Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scorpios Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monolithos Beach, Monolithos 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Monolithos
berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

stayed here 26th june until the 3rd july had a wonderful time in santorini what a lovely island , we had a good stay at scorpios beach staff very good , apartments very clean and large towels changed daily which was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

we went to Scorpios Beach on a last minut deal with little or no expectations, when we arrived the staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere was very laid back and the look of th place was very nice with lots of bright bougainviea plant brightening the walkways. The room was a good size and very clean, there was a table and chairs and a coffee table and settee in the room and a small kitchen area! The air conditioning was quiet and effetive, all in a very nice unit.
The area around the hotel is quiet with a couple of taverna's and another hotel, the beach is nice and relaxing with the odd place taking off in the background.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

But were really disappointing with the location, it was a bit too quiet, nothing to do or see in Monolithos. You really need to hire a car as the hotel minibus service runs every two hours and the buses are few and far between here.
It would have been nice if breakfast was included in the price. There is a snack bar which is quite pricey, small cup of coffee is 4.20.
The electricity station nearby emits a humming sound which can be annoying. You can only really notice it whilst in your room.
The rooms are spacious with high ceilings, small TV, fridge, kettle etc. The room was cleaned every day, the whole place was extremely clean.
Such a shame no nice views from the Scorpios, but nice to return to after being among st crowds of people.
If you're happy to be out and about all day and evening then this is a good place to have as base. If you plan on a lazy holiday lounging around the hotel you would get bored as there is nothing to see or do apart from the small pool. The beach across the road is OK for sunbathing but the sea is not very enticing.
In my opnion Santorini is all about the views, so next time I would rather pay more and stay at Fira or on the Caldera side of the island.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This small hotel is a little gem in the dry and dusty village of Monolithos. The hotel staff are excellent and contribute to the relaxed and laid back atmosphere. There is no early morning Germanic rush for the sunbeds round the very small pool. The pool is not suitable for small kids being around 3 or 4 feet deep.

The beach is black sand and just across the quiet road outside the hotel. The beach is popular with the locals and there is plenty of parking.

Our room (22) was large and airy. The air conditioning, necessary at night, was one of the quietest I have come across. There was plenty of hot water at all hours in the bathroom. The room included a flat screen TV, kettle, kitchen sink, cutlery, crockery and refrigerator. The safe deposit box in the wardrobe was free with no deposit required for the key. The room was cleaned each day and fresh towels provided with sheets changed twice a week. The shower curtain was also changed every few days, which I have never experienced before.

The hotel has a snack bar next to the pool. We ate there once, but were put off on future occasions as the wind had picked up and with no inside tables eating outside was uncomfortable. Breakfast is served inside upstairs above reception at 8 Euros per person per day, we never tried it so cannot comment on this.

There is a lounge between reception and the pool which has a supply of paperbacks. Free wifi and use of a PC is available in Reception. The wifi connection is not that strong.

The Hotel provides a minibus service every two hours to the main town Fira and/or the nearby town of Kamari. The fare to Fira was 2.5 Euros single. Never went to Kamari so have no idea if the fare was any cheaper. The last bus returned from Fira at 9pm, just giving you time to see the famous sunset across the Caldera. If you wanted to stay later you could always return by taxi.

Downsides to the Hotel was its position near the end of the airport runway. If the airport ever got busy then the noise would be obtrusive, but during our stay was never an issue. The worst was Sunday morning when three flights took off within a period of about an hour and a half, but then the airport went back to sleep and there were only around another three takeoffs in the rest of the day. I never heard a plane land.

There is an electricity generating station nearby. The noise is well silenced and I only noticed it one morning when the wind was from that direction.

The village of Monolithos is quiet. I found four Tavernas and one mini mart within walking distance of the hotel. You do not go to Monolithos for the nightlife!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Although very quiet with barren surroundings and access to the deserted beach this hotel provided comfortable accommodation with no request feeling too large or small. Cheap readily available hotel taxi to kamara for excellent selection of beach bars and restaurants. Thira for sunset dining and local buses for onward trips. Late deals via the internet are definitely the way forward if using reputable companies!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We went to Mykonos first, so we weren't sure what to expect in Santorini. Someone picked us up from the port when we arrived in Santorini, which was great! Our room was very spacious. When we walked to the beach, we were a little disappointed... There were little prickly things in the sand... So then when we were looking for things to do, there was pretty much nothing to do. There are two restaurants and one supermarket near the hotel. If you want to go see other sights, you need to rent a car, which the hotel can help you get, or you can take the transportation they provide every two hours back and forth.
All in all, the hotel staff is very very helpful and it is a great place to stay if you are looking for somewhere quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

stayed at the lovely scorpios hotel in september as we were on santorini to celebrate our daughters wedding.we choose this part of the island as we both have back related problems and monolithos is fairly flat.although we were very close to the airport this was no problem, it was nice seeing planes in the air so close.we were met on our arrival by the lovely suusanna and our cases were carried to our rooms.we had a lovely room which was very clean and nicely decorated.lots of room for our belongings and a small kitchen area.in fact after the !st morning we made our own breakfast and relaxed on the balcony.it was perfect in the morning sunshine.although there seemed to be quite a few people staying at the scorpios it was so peacefull.sometimes we spent a little time around the pool reading or having a beer or we went over to the beach to use the sunbeds.there were only about 10 but that side of the beach is very quiet.we didnt have a main meal at the hotel but from what we saw and was told the portions were very generous and good.we used the hotel taxi to go into kamari and only paid a few pounds.this runs every couple of hours which is very handy.susanna always seemed to be around the hotel and gave us quite a bit of information as were to visit.the boys around the pool bar were friendly and eager to serve.also thanks to the lovely cleaning ladies we had clean towels every day even though we didnt really need them.we would recommend this hotel as a place to get away from it all but near enough to get into kamari for the day or evening.while there we also took a boat trip around the island amazing..on leaving we spoke to susanna about returning next year and she gave us her mobile number and email address so we may be able to get a deal and a flight at a better rate than a package fingers crossed.....one tip the little shop along the road is expensive so if you can find a supurmarket and stock up.the fridge in our room was plenty big enough to hold everything including the wine....

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scorpios Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpios Beach Hotel

Address: Monolithos Beach, Monolithos 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Monolithos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Monolithos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scorpios Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created a studio & apartments complex (Scorpios Beach Studios & Apartments) at Monolithos Beach, just next to the old tomato factory of 1922, loyal to the tradition and respectful to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scorpios Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpios Beach Hotel Santorini/Monolithos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scorpios Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.