We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying an extra few days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalypso Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monolithos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalypso Houses
Save
You added Kalypso Houses to your Saves list
Agia Paraskevi, Monolithos 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth staying an extra few days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After staying four days in a top hotel on the other side of the island, for a wedding, we weren't sure whether the last 3 days of our break would be as good. They certainly were, so much so that we asked the owners whether we could stay longer, and paid over the odds to alter our flights. Everyone to do with the villa is so helpful and kind- even bringing home-cooked goodies to us. The accommodation is excellent, including the lovely pool, balconies, and gardens, and is superbly maintained. Many thanks to the owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We rented this villa somewhat last minute, hoping the place would look even remotely like the photos. When we arrived, it looked even BETTER. Gorgeous villa with amazing "classic Greek home" details... white 'cavelike' architecture, blue shutters that open up, stained concrete floors, etc. Beautifully designed and immaculately clean. The owner was accommodating in every way (making sure we had strong WiFi, brought us a delicious cake on the third day, did our laundry, etc). It's easy to find and convenient to almost every place in Santorini you would wish to visit. Having seen the rest of the island, I can see why people would want to stay on the hillside in Oia or Fira, however the convenience of having a more remote location proved perfect for us (could park a car easily, cart groceries, etc.) Kamari, the small town just down the road, has a grocery store and some decent restaurants/stores. There's also a great restaurant (Gallini, with fresh seafood) just at the end of the next road. The beach is a short two minute walk, though we chose to sit by the pool mostly (I do wish it had been heated, as it was cool in May). All in all, this was the most picturesque villa I could've hoped for. The four of us loved it and would come back again with our families and rent both villas (the two are connected, but yet still private).

Room Tip: We stayed in "Daphne", where the two rooms are identical. Queen bed with its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Kalypso House is a beautiful villa with an accomodating owner. The bedrooms and bathrooms are well appointed, and the pool and grounds are lovely. The nearby black sand beach is dramatic, and there is a very nice taverna on it. The location, however, is somewhat remote, and there are not as many amenities close by as on other parts of the island. In other words, a car is essential.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

You just have to go to stay at one of the houses and see the quality of the accommodation. The swimming poolsfor "each house" are lovely and big, the size they have in some hotels! with beautifully maintained patio and sunbathing areas. We had a BBQ on the patio for a few of the nights and didn't go too far from the villa as it was our second week in Santorini and it was such a lovely place to relax, right next to the beach and secluded, although it did have a couple of good bars/restaurants within a short stroll. We had hired a car which was great to nip off to the supermarkets, fishmongers, for our BBQs! and for sightseeing etc but the owner was very happy to help with any excursions and transport you might need. The villas are not far from the airport but honestly we were not bothered by the planes , they are not too frequent and as Santorini is a small Island its hard to avoid them. Wherever you stay on the Island you will be travelling around it to see it all, so we were very happy to stay here and drive around. The owners are lovely people. We made friends with the lovely Greek family that live near the villas and would love to return to see them. Within a couple of days we were spoilt with her wonderful cooking and home made Greek wine WoW. What hospitality! and our lovely maid (I hate calling her that because she became our friend and I cant spell her name:-) was absolutely spotless, every day nothing was too much trouble for her, my son loved her and she genuinely loved him. So if you want a lovely relaxing beautiful place to stay with the most lovely people, then please stay here. I know we will again as soon as we can!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the larger of the two houses, Villa Elia, for one week for our wedding party. In total, six adults, two teenagers and one toddler stayed in the house and we found there was plenty of space for us all.

Villa Elia is located directly below the airport but there was zero runway noise, except for a gentle whoosh when planes landed. We all loved watching the planes come in and nobody was ever disturbed by the noise. The house was cleaned regularly and beds made daily. The cleaner was sensitive to our needs and didn't clean when the toddler was sleeping.

The hospitality Tina showed was absolutely spot-on; she brought us cake the day before our wedding and even arranged for a complimentary coach transfer to the venue, something that was an absolute lifesaver as we struggled a little with taxis. On the day before the wedding, Tina gave my brother and the best man a lift to a large supermarket so we could stock the cupboards before the big day.

The real bonus of this house is the outdoor space. We spent most of our time chatting around the tables and used the BBQ for our wedding reception. The pool was a perfect size - shallow enough for kids to play yet deep enough at the other end for adults to play water polo. This was particularly helpful since the black sand beach was uncomfortable to walk on. The free wifi at the house was great for sending wedding pictures home and chatting on Skype.

Incidentally, we didn't rent a car and relied solely on the bus service which was frequent and cheap. There's an excellent taverna, Mario No 1, a few minutes' walk along the beach front which was perfect for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. There's a mini market about ten minutes' walk away, although we did find that prices suddenly increased on the items we were buying frequently! If you want to be in the midst of the tourist hot-spots, Agia Paraskevi isn't the right choice. However, we wanted to relax, swim, cook and enjoy our time together, and for this, the villa is perfectly located in a quiet, calm and secluded area.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Villa Elia for a wedding party. We would love to go back for a future anniversary! Thanks Tina for all your help in making the wedding so special for us, our friends and our family.

Room Tip: Use the taxi numbers supplied by your villa manager or hotel front desk. Villa management are there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My family and I spent 6 memorable nights in Santorini and stayed in the Elia House at Kalypso Houses. The home was very comfortable and spacious, with the highlight being the amazing outdoor space and private pool. Very close to several beaches and easy to get to all the various villages on the island for exploring. Rental car is necessary. Tina, the homeowner, was very friendly and helpful during our stay, as were her other family members and neighbours. We would not hesitate to go back. Santorini is an amazing place where each day is better than the last.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Authentic holidays, absolute Greek taste and hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalypso Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Houses

Address: Agia Paraskevi, Monolithos 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Monolithos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Monolithos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are located near the beach in a quiet area surrounded by vineyards, pistachios trees and olive trees. The rooms preserve the traditional style of the island and the private pools can offer you endless hours of relaxing and fun. The villas are suitable for large families,kids and large groups. There is a 2 minute walk to the beach which is not crowded and quiet. The cities are 1 or 2 km away and there are traditional restaurants near by. Kalypso houses can offer everything a family needs for an enjoyable relaxing calming and reviving vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalypso Houses Santorini/Monolithos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalypso Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.