We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for wedding party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalypso Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monolithos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalypso Houses
Save
You added Kalypso Houses to your Saves list
Agia Paraskevi, Monolithos 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location for wedding party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the larger of the two houses, Villa Elia, for one week for our wedding party. In total, six adults, two teenagers and one toddler stayed in the house and we found there was plenty of space for us all.

Villa Elia is located directly below the airport but there was zero runway noise, except for a gentle whoosh when planes landed. We all loved watching the planes come in and nobody was ever disturbed by the noise. The house was cleaned regularly and beds made daily. The cleaner was sensitive to our needs and didn't clean when the toddler was sleeping.

The hospitality Tina showed was absolutely spot-on; she brought us cake the day before our wedding and even arranged for a complimentary coach transfer to the venue, something that was an absolute lifesaver as we struggled a little with taxis. On the day before the wedding, Tina gave my brother and the best man a lift to a large supermarket so we could stock the cupboards before the big day.

The real bonus of this house is the outdoor space. We spent most of our time chatting around the tables and used the BBQ for our wedding reception. The pool was a perfect size - shallow enough for kids to play yet deep enough at the other end for adults to play water polo. This was particularly helpful since the black sand beach was uncomfortable to walk on. The free wifi at the house was great for sending wedding pictures home and chatting on Skype.

Incidentally, we didn't rent a car and relied solely on the bus service which was frequent and cheap. There's an excellent taverna, Mario No 1, a few minutes' walk along the beach front which was perfect for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. There's a mini market about ten minutes' walk away, although we did find that prices suddenly increased on the items we were buying frequently! If you want to be in the midst of the tourist hot-spots, Agia Paraskevi isn't the right choice. However, we wanted to relax, swim, cook and enjoy our time together, and for this, the villa is perfectly located in a quiet, calm and secluded area.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Villa Elia for a wedding party. We would love to go back for a future anniversary! Thanks Tina for all your help in making the wedding so special for us, our friends and our family.

Room Tip: Use the taxi numbers supplied by your villa manager or hotel front desk. Villa management are there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My family and I spent 6 memorable nights in Santorini and stayed in the Elia House at Kalypso Houses. The home was very comfortable and spacious, with the highlight being the amazing outdoor space and private pool. Very close to several beaches and easy to get to all the various villages on the island for exploring. Rental car is necessary. Tina, the homeowner, was very friendly and helpful during our stay, as were her other family members and neighbours. We would not hesitate to go back. Santorini is an amazing place where each day is better than the last.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Authentic holidays, absolute Greek taste and hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

Apartments was beautifully presented and our host very accommodating. Everything was as expected from review, nice rooms, lovely private pool. A car is definitely needed as location is a little removed from restaurants but hosts made booking taxis incredibly easy. All in all a lovely getaway location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Daphne House was a wonderful choice for our family vacation. Beautiful, clean, and having our own pool was a real plus. Evi greeted us and made us feel at home upon our arrival. She was very helpful in helping us plan our week and even arranged for our rental vehicle. Her home cooked meal and delighful personality were highlights of our vacation. I truly cannot say enough good things about the Daphne house. If you are looking for a great place to stay on Santorini you would be hard pressed to find a better place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-s-M
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

we have just returned from daphne villa, we had a fabulous time there!
as everyone already says, the villa was perfect, looks nicer there than on the photos here! spotlessly clean, and outside area fantastic!
hosts were very friendly and were very helpful with recomemdations of resturants and showing places of interest.
our only downsides were, when we stay in villas, we like to have a 'villa' holiday', meaning we like to spend a lot of time there. we like to bbq most nights and enjoy the lovely pool area. we were dissapointed to find we didnt have our own bbq in our space. the owners had said there was a bbq, which there was, but it was in there own private garden and as we wanted to use it most nights we felt awkward about this.
we ended up purchasing a mini bbq from the supermarket, which although was small did the trick.
we also found we didnt have enough utensils, perhaps most people that stay here eat out? we could have done with a bread knife and another sharp knife. having said that, we didnt ask for any, and i'm sure if we had they would have been more than accomadating.
as for santorini itself, it is beautiful. the white and blue buildings against the stark volcanic surroundings looked extremely dramatic.
for us, it appears 'the fashionable' place to go at the moment, (we only went because we were invited to a wedding).
it is very expensive, villas, resturants, etc, and as much as much as it was alovely place, we probably wont pay the price again to go back.
sounds bad to end on such a negative note, so to sumerise, great holiday, lovely villa, stunning location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Santorini is a beautiful magical place made better by our stay at the Kalypso house. The owners, Tina and George as well as Evie, their sister, could not have been more accommodating. The house is beautiful, the pool was a sparkling gem and having the beach so close
was a huge luxury. There were seven us staying, three couples and one single and we all had a great time. There was plenty of room for us all and the kitchen was a huge plus. I can't say enough good
things and would highly recommend
this house for a group stay ..it was
wonderful! Sam, New Mexico..US

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalypso Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Houses

Address: Agia Paraskevi, Monolithos 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Monolithos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Monolithos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are located near the beach in a quiet area surrounded by vineyards, pistachios trees and olive trees. The rooms preserve the traditional style of the island and the private pools can offer you endless hours of relaxing and fun. The villas are suitable for large families,kids and large groups. There is a 2 minute walk to the beach which is not crowded and quiet. The cities are 1 or 2 km away and there are traditional restaurants near by. Kalypso houses can offer everything a family needs for an enjoyable relaxing calming and reviving vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalypso Houses Santorini/Monolithos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalypso Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.