We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beso dinero in Santorini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mario No 1

Mario No 1
monolithos Santorini, Monolithos 84700, Greece
+302286032000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Monolithos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Orlando FL.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beso dinero in Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Amazing cozy place. Best food in Santorini. Let the waiter suggest what to order.
Musts Greek salad, moussaka, backlava and red mini fish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    47
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria MN USA
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Food On The Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

We had lunch at Mario. It was located on Monolithos Beach...right on the water. The doors open up to the beach from the main dining room and you get the feel of the ocean. The food was excellent and the service was great. We arrived just after 12:00pm and we were the only ones in the place. Lunch in Greece gets going around 2:00pm. We sampled many items and loved the sautéed mushrooms and eggplant. The oven roasted squid was excellent as well. My wife loved the roast beets and spinach dish the best while I loved the sauce they put on the eggplant and mushrooms. This place was recommended by the bartender from the Majestic Hotel. When traveling, I like to ask the

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We had dinner here as recommended by Andreas from Budget Cars. And he was right, the food and service were great. They sold fresh fish at 21 EUR per 400 grams (cooked). It's right in the beach, so the ambiance is excellent. The staff are very nice. Service with a smile. There is a playground outside for the little ones and plenty of parking spaces. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best fish dinner ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This restaurant was recommended by a local and it did not disappoint! Situated behind the airport but on the beach, we were attended to by Stavros who went out of his way to make this an unforgettable experience. We chose 2 locally caught fish from a very extensive fresh fish display - best fish I have ever tasted and I also come from an Island! We also had the Santorini Fava as a starter and it was fantastic too.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek family restaurant, also good for vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We were lucky enough to have lunch at Mario's on Greek Independence Day -- there was music, terrific Santorini wine, and a perfect view of the stormy sea. We were surrounded by Greek families celebrating the holiday -- it felt completely authentic. Although this is a fish tavern, our waiter suggested vegetarian food for us -- the tagliatelle with vegetables and Santorini salad with cherry tomatoes and caper leaves were wonderful. We lingered without being hassled for more than 2 hours just watching the celebration around us. Definitely worth the trip away from the touristy restaurants in town.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario No 1 also viewed

Monolithos, Santorini
 
Perivolos, Santorini
 

Been to Mario No 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario No 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.