We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, choice between basic rooms and well appointed beach apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pension George to your Saves list
Pension George
30 Zambeliou | Karterados, Karteradhos 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Karteradhos
esher
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great value, choice between basic rooms and well appointed beach apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The main rooms are basic accommodation, but convenient for anywhere on the island (via bus from Fira) with a lovely pool. Friendly owners who can book excursions for you (the €25 sunset cruise is excellent value, inc a trip to the volcano) and includes a small book swap library.

If you have transport (car, quad bike) and the apartments by the beach are free, they are excellent, with a splash pool and beautiful gardens and the beach is usually almost deserted. A bit of aircraft noise from planes taking off, but traffic is usually fairly light.

Would happily stay again

Room Tip: Any of the beach apartments are lovely! Ask to see the choice of apartments before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    58
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
86
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bécs, Wien, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very nice guesthouse with a warm personal touch. It's situated half way between Airport and Seaport and only 15 min. to walk to Fira. Restaurants and small Supermarket around the corner.. Very reliable FREE transport to and from AP/SP.Beautiful gardens and Pool. And: very friendly rates!Go there and meet Helen, the english 'Lady of the house', as helpful as can be! Wonderful stay. Highly recommendable! I'll make it my regular, as I`m visiting Greece qite often.
Borris (Vienna)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Pension George last week. Our room had its own sun terrace, with a view of the lovely garden and courtyard. The pool is clean and sun loungers are plentiful. There is wifi everywhere. Bed linen is changed each day. we arrived to fresh towels on our bed on arrival. Dimitri picked us up and dropped is back to the port late at night so we could fetch our ferry, at no extra chare. You will be looked after very well if you choose to stay here. There is a little shop atound the corner where you can pick up all you need for a self catering stay. Fira is a 10-15 minute walk or 2 minutes on the scooter we hired. It is packed full of restraints bars and shops. Being centrally located we saw everything there is to see on the magnificent island of Santorini. We will be returning and recommending Pension George to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Pension George for a week in August 2013 on recommendation from a friend. We had a studio on the top floor with 2 balconies overlooking the sea. It is in the middle of the island which was smaller than we expected. The free transfer to and from the accommodation was wonderful comapred to the usual coach transfer. Free bottle of wine in the spotless room and linen chenged daily. We hired a car so got to see all of this pretty island.
The swimming pool is lovely and plenty of sunbeds and walling distance to the local shop and restaurants. Helen was very helpful and friendly as were all her family and it was nice to have an english owner to answer all my daft questions. A truly memorable holiday and I highly recommend these apartments

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Ok so the staff was surprisingly helpful and nice. The rooms were very clean. The location is pretty much right in the center of the island which is great. If you get a quad it takes about 30 minutes to get to the ends of the island. It's about 5 minutes away from an amazing black sand beach. The only downfall to the room was there was no tv, but that's just me. If you stay anywhere on the island go see the lighthouse!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pension George just a few days ago. The premises are beautiful with bougainvillea and a lovely swimming pool. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, laundry, scooter hire. They offer free transfers from airport/port, and we were given a complimentary bottle of wine which was a nice little surprise.

Helen and her daughter were very helpful and informative in regards to the tours on offer and general tips and advice whilst exploring the island.

On our last day we bought a last minute ferry ticket to Ios only 1 hr prior to departure. They did everything to help us get our ferry, and George saved the day and drove us down to the port and we made it!! Thank you again.

The only negatives were in regards to the room. We were given a room down the bottom I think where the dorm rooms are so our room was a bit gloomy and our balcony had no view. That could be due to booking through an online company or simply booking in peak time at last minute :) the pillows in our room weren't great and could do with replacing, its also nice having 2 pillows each, rather than just one, as more comfortable for reading etc. But with the right room like the ones with balconies overlooking the pool your stay would be top top!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here on our return trip from Greece to Spain. We were picked up at the Port and the owners arranged for us to be taken to the airport at 1:00 a.m. To catch our flight back from Santorini to Barcelona. Our room was quiet, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The hotel is within minutes of the center of the main town, Fira, in Santorini. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension George

Address: 30 Zambeliou | Karterados, Karteradhos 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension George Hotel
George Hotel Karterádhos
Pension George Santorini, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.