We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dependably good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Beach villas & apartments.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Beach villas & apartments. to your Saves list
Blue Beach villas & apartments.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stavros, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stavros
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“dependably good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was my third (and fourth) stay at the Blue Beach...we were here twice in June due to being in Greece on school business. We rented several apartments and were very pleased. The owners were very helpful upon our somewhat late arrivals and the apartments were clean and functional. We enjoyed beautiful views from our balconies and appreciated having both the beach and pool to enjoy. Towels are provided for both the apartment and the beach as are umbrellas and chairs at no additional cost. It's a very good value.

Room Tip: It is worth it to pay for a slightly larger, ocean view apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
29
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Blue Beach Villas is perfectly located on a secluded beach which is sheltered by some magnificent mountains containing mysterious caves.
The Apartments themselves are clean and comfortable. Ours had a glorious view of the ocean and we were a 3 minute walk to the private beach area right next to the pool.
The staff are friendly, hospitable and charming.

We didn't have a car, so had to rely on the public transport (buses go about 4 times a day into Chania ) but this didn't prove to be a massive problem. We did some great tours to Knossos and Balos and our tour operator arranged to pick us up from the Blue Beach Villas (for a small fee of 6 euros each).

If you're after a secluded and relaxing place to take in the natural Cretan beauty, then Blue Beach Villas is an ideal place - and so affordable.

If you're after a bit more night life and buzz , then certainly hire a car and go into Hania. The closest mini market is about a 15 minute walk - which isn't so bad. As a reward for the walk, there is a stunning lagoon some 5 minutes on. The waters are crystal clear and so clean.

This place was a revelation - and I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Well, the weather in May was not quite what we had expected or hoped for - in Crete - but no one can be blamed for the unusual wind and the - less than warm - sea, that early in the season.

We chose to travel to Blue Beach for our second visit at a difficult time for Greece and for tourism but the smiling family members who run the place - especially Manolis & Betty - made us welcome as ever and, as our 11 days passed, more visitors appeared and the weather improved.

We returned to Blue Beach at this time because we wanted a quiet time to simply unwind and that was what we did. If that's your aspiration then late May is not a problem and Blue Beach fits the bill nicely. Whether my tan is sun burn or wind burn I simply dont mind... ;-) We will return!

Room Tip: If you want a view over the beach, or the pool, or a quieter location a little away from them that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os Municipality, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

First of all we would like to thank Manolis, Betty and the others at Blue Beach for excellent service, friendly and helpful attitude. They really made us feel welcome. We experienced a Taxi strike where they did everything they could to help us. The aircondition broke down, and they fixed it straight away.

The location was perfect for us. Quiet, beautiful, unspoilt, authentic with a beautiful, small beach with not too many tourists, no annoying sales, and free sunbeds and umbrellas. The whole family enjoyed snorkelling in clean waters with lots of fish, octopusses and moray eel.

Stavros was a tiny village with only two minimarkets, where credit cards were not accepted. A big advantage to rent a car. Chania only 25 minutes away.

The rooms were clean and nice, with spacious balconies. We had 4 studio apartments.

The food at the Blue beach was good. The menu was small, but varied from day to day. The service at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Glos.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

It's a pity that Greek air traffic control strikes can spoil an otherwise 100% wonderful holiday experience. Back a few hours from another truly lovely stay at Blue Beach. Katerina and Manolis and the other staff make their guests feel so welcome. They seem like part of my family now. Katerina can't do enough to be helpful. They all work so hard in very difficult times. As usual the apartments were spotlessly clean and linen changed too frequently! Everything you need for a quiet holiday with impressive scenery and the sea colour a blue of it's own. All to be enjoyed from your own huge balcony.
Ready to book again for next year! But sorry that these strikes will harm the tourism 'bread and butter'........it's not the tourists fault and I fear they will go else where.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Blue Beach Villas are set in idyllic surroundings overlooking the bay and mountain at Stavros in Crete. We stayed at the villas for two weeks and were delighted with the accommodation in all respects. Initially we were offered a cabin style apartment that lacked space and a sea view. We were disappointed but matters were quickly rectified and we were offered a larger apartment overlooking the sea for an additional nominal cost. The apartment was extremely well-equipped, spacious and comfortable. It was maintained to a very high standard and cleaned daily during our stay. Towels and bed linen were changed regularly every two or three days.

The apartments were very capably managed by Katerina who is an absolute gem and would be a credit to any employer. Any requests were met promptly and helpfully with great charm and superb speed of service. We used the pool, which was safe, clean and also well-maintained.

We chose not to eat at the Villas as, in our view, the Taverna menu was better suited to families with children. Other English guests who did eat at Blue Beach said that they felt that the food was below average and that the service was poor. No worries as there are an ample number of tavernas and restaurants within easy reach that are of good quality. We did have an issue with our bar bill. If you run a tab at the bar we’d recommend keeping a record of what you consume as the system relied on scraps of paper and the server’s memory that’s prone to error.

Stavros is not a highly commercialised resort and all the better for that. There are a few tavernas and a couple of local shops. A hire car is an absolute must for those wishing to travel the island and enjoy its rich culture and history and majestic scenery.

One advantage for us is that Blue Beach is focused on providing high quality accommodation and doesn’t function as a “holiday camp” as some do. We loved it. We would recommend that potential guests discuss the villas being offered to them in detail to avoid disappointment. In terms of costs, internet access and air conditioning are both chargeable extras (Euros 10 for 200 minutes wi-fi and Euros 8 per day for air conditioning).

We would wholeheartedly recommend the Blue Beach Villas to other travellers who are looking to enjoy a peaceful holiday in beautiful surroundings. Stavros is an ideal location from which to explore Western Crete.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

My partner, his mother and I booked at Blue Beach based on the website and our correspondence with Manolis. We had never been to Greece before -- and this was a terrific introduction to Crete. The impeccably maintained and spacious apartments have balconies that overlook the water. The view to the peninsula (where the final scene of Zorba the Greek was shot) was breathtaking. Blue Beach is, literally, right on the beach, but without the crowds of other places on Crete. (We went in August, high tourist season, and were shielded here from the hustle and bustle.) A larger inlet is a short hike away in Stavros.

And the food -- oh! There is an amazing Israeli-Arabic-Greek restaurant just a short walk along the shoreline that is perfect for conversation at sunset. A short drive away is Tesnaras, with two amazing tavernas. Chania is only slightly farther away. We enjoyed being on the Akrotiri peninsula because it gave us the opportunity to both explore the island and then come home to rest. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

I'd recommend Blue Beach to anyone -- it is affordable and comfortable, remote enough for a romantic getaway, yet accessible enough for families who prefer something outside the usual tourist scene. If you go, be sure to talk to Linda in the office -- she's a wealth of information and was an invaluable resource throughout our trip, both to the surrounding areas of Crete and far beyond.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Beach villas & apartments.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Beach villas & apartments.

Address: Stavros, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stavros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stavros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Beach villas & apartments. 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Beach villas & apartments. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments. Hotel Stavros
Blue Beach Villas And Apartments.
Blue Beach Hotel Apartments
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments. Stavros, Greece - Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Beach villas & apartments., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.