We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlamis Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vlamis Villas to your Saves list
Vlamis Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Akrotiri, Stavros, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have now holidayed at Vlamis Apartments on 3 occasions and I am certain we will return again and again. We appreciate the calm, quiet and relative privacy that the apartments and the location offer as well as the superb kindness and service offered by the owners, the Vlamaki family. We have previously holidayed as a couple in July but in June this year, 2012, we rented all 4 apartments and spent 2 glorious weeks with our adult children and young grandchidren. In total we comprise 8 adults and 5 children ages 6 months to 5 years and we all agreed that the apartments and location were perfect for all 3 generations! We spent time outside of the apartments playing in the spotlessly clean, sea water pool, reading and relaxing on the poolside (plenty of space, sunbeds and sun umbrellas for all of us), climbing around the rocks, swimming in the sea (not for the fainthearted), making use of the excellent bbq facilities and seating area at the back of the apartments and walking to nearby Blue Beach where in addition to swimming in the sea and playing on the beach we were able to enjoy the delights of Thanasis Taverna, located on the beach. Arrangements for a hire vehicle, collected when we arrived at Chania airport, were put in place beforehand by the Vlamaki family and in addition to shopping for food, some of us used the transport to visit Chania town, Marathi Beach and a variety of tavernas in and around Stavros. In previous years we have also used our own transport to visit a variety of places further afield. Whilst it is possible to travel around the area by bus and taxi, we have always found it easier to have our own transport. The apartments have excellent facilities, they are cleaned regularly with frequent changes of laundry and they are well maintained. The location, on the seafront and in a very quiet area on the outskirts of Stavros, is superb. Indeed the view from the balconies, especially when the sun is setting, is a delight to behold. The Vlamaki family are so kind and have always looked after us very well, both prior to and during the holiday. They have on each occasion sorted out arrangements for car hire with a local firm, always at a good price, provided extra facilities for our very young grandchildren and on request ensured that fresh food supplies were available for our arrival. During the holiday, they are responsive to our needs whilst remaining discrete and flexible. We think that Vlamis apartments at Stavros are a very special place in which to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The location of this group of 5 apartments is perfect if you want a peaceful break. It is about 0.9km away from the nearest taverna and a good couple of km away from the village of Stavros, which has a handful of eateries and a couple of good mini-markets. There's an infrequent bus service, so a car is highly recommended. There's a car port to help keep the sun off the car. The complex's position is private and there is very little noise apart from birds, crickets and the sea breaking against the rocky shore directly in front of the property. It is close to Chania airport, so you do get the occasional plane taking off and landing. There are ample comfortable sunbeds and a few sunshades and they are well spaced so that even when fully occupied you will feel as if you have privacy. The complex is down a short road from the main (streetlit) road into Stavros, and there was some minor building work on the main road - however it wasn't at all intrusive whilst we were there.

The pool is spotlessly clean, a sea water pool which discourages insects - a first for us and we liked it very much. It is surrounded by lawns and shrubs, and has a good shower to wash off the salt water.

The accommodation itself is roomy for two people. A twin room (we were in No3) had two good quality beds (they looked new), good firm mattresses, two pillows each and fresh, well-laundered linen twice a week. The bedding was not "tired", as described in a previous review - but if it had been, I'm sure the owners would have immediately changed it. Aircon is provided in the bedroom, and is adaptable, with a timer option. A good hair-dryer and iron are also supplied. The living area had a big solid wooden sofa (we used pillows to make it more comfortable for us, but this is personal taste) and a table and 3 chairs, all solid good quality. The kitchenette has plenty of crockery, cutlery and pans, a large Fridge freezer and a small oven/hob - cooking straightforward food would not be a chore, but don't expect to tackle anything complex. The balcony has a large solid table and we had two woven chairs - though other villas had older plastic chairs, so they may be in the process of replacing them? There is a small porch area at the back of each apartment so you can take the shade/sun all through the day, as you choose. There's also a washing line and pegs. Take pool towels, as these aren't provided, and hand washing powder as there is no washing machine in the apartment. That said, when you spend a week living in swimmies, t-shirts and shorts, it's not really a problem The bathroom had good quality fittings and the (solar-powered) shower water was always hot and plentiful whilst we were there.

The owner's family and friends were regularly there during our fortnight, but were not in the least intrusive. The family was extremely helpful, giving us directions, information and advice when we asked and making sure we were quickly oriented in our first few days. They were kindness personified.

The complex is close to Stavros, but also a few minutes drive from Chorafakia, which has a garage, small supermarket and a few more tavernas and cafes (Irene's Place and Boy are recommended, also Sunset for lunch). There is a small good taverna at Tersanas also. The 500ml carafes of local wine in the tavernas at 3 euros are a bargain. Most amenities (pharmacy, cashpoint etc) are available in Kounoupidiana, about 15 min away. Chania is about 20-25 minutes away, and is utterly charming. The Byzantine Museum, the Archaeological Museum and the Maritime Museum are affordable and well worth a visit. And the walk to the lighthouse is free and good fun. The maze of back streets behind the fort is lovely too. We ate at Tamam - inside! - and were impressed with the food - try something different, it's worth it. Mediteranee on Daliani was recommended to us but was closed when we visited.

All in all, a wonderful, peaceful, relaxing holiday - we slept like logs every night - with excellent hosts. We are planning another visit - hopefully in June - and can't praise it highly enough.

Room Tip: If you are travelling out of season, some rooms have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Well, we re a Greek couple looking for a quiet place to spend our two weeks holidays. Vlamis apartments was just the perfect choise. The views from all around the apartment and the surrounding areas is just amazing. Most of the times we're going out after the sunset because we didn't want to miss not even a single day starring at it. The owners are just great and we spent a night all together having BBQ. We love Chania and in our next visit we will choose Vlamis again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were two couples and we spent our August holidays in this unique spot. Peaceful and beautiful surroundings are some of the words I could say to anyone asking for this great apartment complex (not very busy, just 5). All together shared a sea water pool which to me is an advantage. The sea in front of the apartments is not easily accessible that's why it's great to have fresh sea water pool. The area is very quiet and there are a couple of sandy beaches in about less than a mile away. A few taverns also can be found very close, still remember Greek gyros in boy's house. Definitely going back sometime.

Room Tip: if you need more privacy pick the junior villa on the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi, Italy
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Vlamis Villa Junior (note there are other Vlamis Villas on Crete) is in a fantastic spot near Stavros with great sea and sunset views over the large swimming pool. There is also access to and a protected inlet (ie quite calm) and the ocean via the slipway at the foot of the Villa, but it's not a beach. By car it is about 25 mins to Chania and about 5 mins to local supermarkets, beaches and a good range of restaurants which is important because this is full self catering. The local bus comes by twice a day, but a car is probably a must. There is plenty of parking, some of it under cover. Driving around Crete is pretty easy with only a few very narrow roads. Nothing is terribly far, eg 90 mins to Samaria Gorge and two hours to Heraklion.

The booking agent, manager and owner are lovely people and very helpful with more than enough English for the average tourist. But, the owner and friends spent a fair bit of time at their villa, which felt a bit intrusive.

But, this little gem could be so much more with better furniture (eg cane beds, mostly singles) and accessories (the mattresses, linen and pillows [one each] were WELL past their use by date, the kitchens were very basic given this is self catering) and a bit of maintenance, eg shower heads and clothes lines. There are only one or two washing machines and they are inside apartments, so not accessible to all guests.The solar hot water systems are shared between rooms, so can find yourself without! Beach towels and internet access to all villas would be nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer suite or the one with a washing machine, depending on your priorities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vlamis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vlamis Villas

Address: Akrotiri, Stavros, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stavros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Stavros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vlamis Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vlamis Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vlamis Villas Stavros, Greece - Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlamis Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.