We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eurohotel Katrin Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eurohotel Katrin Suites to your Saves list
Eurohotel Katrin Suites
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   Irinis 147 | National Road, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
lancs
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What A Disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

cfmbabs
lancs
1 forum post“ Villa Alexandra Stallis Crete ”
Jul 31, 2009 3:57 AM
We have been travelling to the Greek Islands for over 26 years. Crete has been our favourite place for over 6 years -- we have Greek friends in Stallis.


We went to the Villa Alex (7th July -14th july 09)with a party of ten people. Four of the party were aged between 18 - 21. It was my daughter's birthday present. The Alex seemed ideal as it was advertised as being ideal for families and couples. When we arrived the first impressions were good. Very clean, tidy pool area and lovely rooms, what more could you want.




Our opinion was to change during the evening when one of our party was warned to keep quiet. He was rightly warned and he apologised as it was 1am. He was threatened by Pavlos with a fine if he made a noise again, but the following evening there was a huge party of young people at the bar and along with Pavlos they partied until well after 2am. The noise was deafening.




There was just 3 families at the complex, the rest were single mixed sex groups. One group consisted of 36 girls. It was definately not family friendly.




Beware the lift scam! Yes, there is a scam in force to fine you if the lift button breaks. Whilst we were there it broke almost every day. One girl was fined €50 for damaging it, in fact I think it had always been broken.




The bar staff were pretty miserable especially the English girl who never smiled at all. We felt alienated being that we were older than most of the residents.




Our holiday rep was terrible and I have complained to Thomas Cook for their highly inaccurate account of the apartments featured in their brochure.




The road is extremely busy outside the apartments. They tell you to use the underpass, well you have to cross another dangerous road to get to it which rather defeats the object.




What can I say about these apartments, well maybe it was a one off but I wouldn't go there again if it were for free! Cleanliness wise it was second to none, friendliness it was not!




If you are going, don't let this put you off especially if you are young. Just beware of the fines. If you spend your money with Pavlos in the bar -- you're okay. If you go out and come back jolly you've had it and expect to pay €50.




Barbara Lowe And Party

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We have friends who run a bar in Stalis so know the area reasonably well. We originally wanted to return to a previous department but the tour company had gone bust (XL) so we ended up at Villa Alexandra. What a stroke of luck!!! Lovely pool (bit deep for kids) and great room. We were on the ground floor at the front, so the road noise was noticeable, but the room was very cool thanks to the shade of the porch. People have said the rooms are basic, but what more do you need? We had 2 rooms, one with a double bed and one with 2 x singles plus a wet room. I did not fly 4 hours to Crete to watch TV in my room so the lack of electrical appliances was not a problem. The room was cleaned every day and the bedding and towels changed so it was very clean. Only our sandy feet kept soiling it! The pool side area and bar were also always very clean. Crossing the main road was never a problem so bars and beach were in easy reach. The sunday night BBQ was a great way to meet other apartment residents and there was much food, wine, greek dancing and plate smashing with audience participation a must!!! I can understand that people have found the noise from the bar area an issue, but we really never noticed it and at the end of the day, that's the type of resort Stalis is! We LOVED it and would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontefract
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Just got back from stalis we stayed at the great apt villa alexandra i would recommend this to anyone thinking of going to stalis.we have a 14 year old and wanted somewhere quite central this is only a short walk in to town .the road which this place is on is very busy but there is a underpass quite near.but all the apartments seam to be on this strip ,i have been to stalis 3 times and have to say this was the best apts that we have been to so far ,there is a great pool bar where you can buy snacks ect good value for money.the bbq night on a sunday is great fun good food free wine all night 15euro for the adults and 9euro for ther kids dancing ect dont miss this.when you go down into town when you get to beach road if you turn right you will find all the holiday eating place s and bars which we found quite expensive around 38 euro for a meal for 3 however if you turn left at beach road you will find the cheaper eating places and cheaper bar ,takeaways ect .try creten tavern and goerge will be happy to take care of you and the food is brilliant and cheap.will be going back asap hopefully.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wyrley, Walsall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

When you first arrive at Alexandra Villa don't be put off, because i wanted to run a mile and come back home,however once you go into a lift and onto the actual complex you're greeted by 3 apartement blocks, a pool and a bar.All very attractive and set on the side of a mountain with a view of the whole of Stalis.
All the apartments seem to be very different, some have four single beds, some have 2 singles and 1 double and ours was a double bed and then 2 sofa things in cove type things in the wall. They are very clean and there are 2 maids that clean everyday. I will warn you though they don't knock when entering, so be on your guard in a morning! I would have to agree with other reviews that these apartments are very very basic and if you're looking for a bit of luxury don't bother, however if you're like my boyfriend and I who just want a place to sleep and shower then they're fab. The only real complaint I would have is that there really aren't the facilities in the apartments to have a self catering holiday.Thus being no microwave,no toaster, no utensils,no chopping board and our sink didn't even have a drainer!!!! This didn't bother us but I can see how it would bother some people, especially with children.Oh and there isn't a TV either, my boyfriend was devestated by this,haha.
Stalis is a lovely place. There are lot's of restaurants and bars to choose from all reasonably priced and staff are very welcoming. There are plentiful shops and supermarkets along the Beach Road so it is easy to spend more than you first plan to. The beach is lovely and streches for a good mile towards Malia which is a lovely walk in the sun.
I would more than likely go back to the apartments as we didn't really mind how basic they are and the location is excellent. Yes, they are on a main road, but nothing like the way people had described. The longest we waited to cross was about 2 minutes!
One of the best features of the apartments is the owners dog- Nancy. She is beautiful, a bit hostile when you first get there, but one of the cutest dogs I have ever seen. I am going to miss Stalis and the apartments, wish we were there now. Laura and Chris.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and their Dog- Nancy.
  • Disliked — lack of self catering facilities.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We have been to Villa Alex for the last 3 years, ok it's a busy road (there is an underpass to cross about 5 mins walk if you are a bit put off by the traffic) but the staff have been nothing but excellent. Rooms are basic but cleaned every day, the cleaners are great so are Pavlos and Rana, There is a bar so be prepared for a bit of noise up til 2ish (depends on who is staying) if it's kids or older people bar tends to shut a lot earlier. Pavlos will go out of his way to help with shops, best places to visit, directions etc, the people of Stalis have been happy to see us and more than helpful when we needed the pharmacy - thanks to all the people of Stalis - we will definately be back again! I love this island.

  • Liked — Situation
  • Disliked — Could be more cooking facilities, microwave possibly?
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caernarfon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

went to stay in the alexandra in stalis in june 08 ,and we loved it,nice freindly place,even though on a main road we didnt hear much trafic noise........even the little one enjoyd it ...which it why we have just been to the travel agent and bookd to go back there next july 09..........very standerd rooms but who stays in them all day anyway when your ther on hols. as i see it all you need is a bed and a bathroom...................cant wait to go back.................cathrine limerick

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

I have stayed in Crete approx. 7 times before and love the island and the people, however if the Villa Alexandra had been my first time to Crete and don't know if I would have gone back. The owners were only friendly if you spent your nights in the bar, this is the only holiday were I have come back tireder than when I left. The music at the bar resounded through the complex, even with doors closed earplugs in and a pillow on my head I could still sing along to every word - and this went on unitl 3
or 4am every night!!

The staff said hello that was it, and although the cleaners always seemed very pleasant their idea of cleaning was not mine. If you walked from the shower to the bed to get dressed your feet were black, they never once cleaned the floor and when they mopped the bathroom they also deposited large clumps of hair ( not mine ) . So basically after they cleaned I had to clean up what they left behind.

  • Liked — View of the sea
  • Disliked — Dirt and noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurohotel Katrin Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurohotel Katrin Suites

Address: Irinis 147 | National Road, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Eurohotel Katrin Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurohotel Katrin Suites is located in Stalis, only 650 ft from the resort’s magnificent sandy beach and from the entertainment and shopping center.The complex consists of 32 renovated Suites, surrounded by well kept grounds and an outdoor pool. Each unit is simply furnished and features private balcony and bathroom.Eurohotel Katrin Suites is conveniently located only 65 ft from the nearest bus stop, this allowing easy access to the rest of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Eurohotel Katrin Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Alexandra Hotel Stalis
Eurohotel Katrin Suites Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurohotel Katrin Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.