We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow Apartments to your Saves list
Rainbow Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Irinis St, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwick. UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked these apartments as a result of positive reviews on trip advisor and I would certainly recommend them. Don't be put off by comments about the main road - it is quite busy but it is very easy to cross and if in any doubt there is an underpass close by.
The apartments are very clean and modern and the bathrooms are spacious. There is a supermarket next door which sells everything you will need. I really liked the fact that you do not have to get up early to hog a sunbed as there are enough for everyone and we never struggled to get an umbrella either so just turn up.

Getting to the hotel is easy. You can get the bus from the airport which is 3.5 euros each way and takes about 40 minutes. The bus stop is 200 m from the hotel. Or you can get a taxi which costs about 40 euros each way . I pre booked through Heraklion taxis and they were waiting for me at the airport and very reliable.
If you like walking or jogging then if you turn left outside the hotel l you can get to heronassis which is about 2 miles and malia to the right which is about the same distance.

The beach is literally 5 mins walk down the road and you can get sun bed s and umbrellas for 2 euros and this includes use of toilets and free wifi .

The wifi in the hotel is very intermittent even by the pool. The hotel will take your passports make sure you get them back the night before if you need to leave early in the morning as we needed to leave at 9am and no one was around to give them back.
The hotel is excellent value for money and I would stay there again if returning to Crete .

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    44
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
90
119
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What can I say - a brilliant visit again, we return time and time again and have nothing to complain about. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, the Rainbow now seems like our 2nd home. We bring someone new with us each time we visit and they can not wait to return, the apartments offer all you need for a self catering holiday - there are plenty of sunbeds, nice pool area. The pool bar offers plenty to drink and munch during the day and they also have good evening events to join in with including BBQ and Pasta nights - the apartment suits all ages

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My teenage daughter and I spent a week in these lovely apartments at the beginning of July.

Our superior studio was just that - superior!

We had a lovely pool view and to the left a lovely view between the apartment buildings of the ocean.

The small kitchen had enough utensils for us to make breakfast and light snacks.

The bathroom was ample size with plenty of hot water when we needed it.

The whole complex was looked after and cleaned to an excellent standard. I highly recommend Rainbow apartment to anyone that will be staying in Stalis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This year my daughter and myself decided to visit these apartments and were most certainly not disappointed! The rooms were spacious, cleaned regularly, clean towels every 2 days and bedding once a week. The bathrooms were lovely and the shower had hot water day and night and a good pressure also. There was plenty of room in the shower and the beds were also very new and comfortable. Maria and Florin were always available to ensure that any requests were met quickly and without fuss and I will certainly be holidaying there again, probably next year, as this was very close to the beach, shops (with a supermarket right next door), tavernas, bars etc. without living on their doorstep. I would recommend the Rainbow to all groups of people.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

These apartments are above the average that you normally find in Greece. They are kept updated and the rooms are very contemporary. The food at the pool bar is excellent and served with a smile by Nettie & Jackie. The bar that is near reception is open in the evening and provides a very relaxing atmosphere for your last drink before bed! They are situated on a main road but are only 5 mins walk away from the main resort. We have been to Stalis many times and the best restaurants by far are Kostas Golden Beach ( at the far end of the resort) and Knossos ( opposite the Red Lion pub). The best English breakfast is served at Pegasus bar. If you like to visit waterparks then Water City is the best of the two.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and my partner had an amazing holiday here for 2 weeks - 21st june to 5th july, the staff at the rainbow apartments are some of the nicest people ive ever met. Nothing is too much hassle for them even cooking pizza at 1am ;). We had planned to do excursions etc whilst away but ended up staying by the pool as we loved it so much! The food cooked by jackie or eddie is beautiful, netti is the hostess with the mostest and bartender florin makes the best cherry babies ever! The bbq and free pasta nights i recommend - food is beautiful and greek bingo is fab followed by kareoke. Out of all the holidays ive ever been on this is by far the best - i recommend marias golden beach restaurant to eat at as food and service cannot be faulted, armertis futher along beach road do beautiful greek food :). We are already looking to return next year and i will be looking to stay at rainbow apartments again stalis is beautiful and we have found friends for life with the guys who work at rainbow apartments.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We returned home on the 24th june,after a fantastic 1 week holiday where we stayed at the rainbow appartments.It was our first holiday abroad with our two daughters 6 and 9.The appartments were lovely very clean and the staff were always happy to help.We ate breakfast every morning at the pool bar where jackie and netti served great food they were so friendly and our girls loved them.The pool was very clean with plenty sunbeds.In the evening we went down to marias golden beach where the food was fantastic and the staff were lovely.The girls enjoyed smashing plates and made friends with andreas and the "lovely jubbly man".when we went back to the rainbow appartments late on florin and eddy were great with the girls and let them play on the wii till the early hours.One of our best nights was the bbq which was cooked by eddy there was so much food and a lovely salad.We all enjoyed playing greek bingo it was a great laugh!.All we can say is we had a fantastic holiday at the rainbow appartments and could not fault it one bit we are deffinately going back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Apartments

Address: 70 Irinis St, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stalis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Apartments in Stalis Crete are a delightful, family-run holiday apartment complex with an inviting, friendly atmosphere. The Rainbow Apartments enjoy an enviable position near the sandy beach in seaside resort Stalis in Crete, Greece.At Rainbow Apartments tradition and innovation blend perfectly: 19 Standard and 22 Superior studios and apartments feature all modern amenities in a contemporary setting with timeless charm and impeccable service. The apartments offer splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea and the Bay of Stalis. Blessed with a mild climate year-round, Rainbow Apartments have a large outdoor swimming pool in stylish surroundings and with a mature, Meditteranean garden. Water sports and leisure opportunities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainbow Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalis
Rainbow Apartments Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.