We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Apartments

Save Saved
You added Rainbow Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Irinis St, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 hotels in Stalis
surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good apartments in an excellent location, just few minutes to the beach and bars. Pool,sunbeds and bar were excellent. Maria the owner was very helpful as our suitcase didn't arrive on the transfer coach and she helped us make numerous phone calls (eventually got it back on return to the airport). Eddie and all the staff were very friendly and the BBQ night was a good laugh well worth the money.
The standard one bed apartment was basic but adequate, lovely sea and pool views and a big balconey.
Only bad point was the air con which was one small unit in the bedroom and was useless and for anyone sleeping in the lounge had no effect. Would recommend taking fans as it was so hot at night. Would def. recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    32
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
91
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from the Rainbow Apartments,I was very dissapointed as I had read the reviews before booking, the place lacked any atmosphere at all !!!!!. These apartments are next to a very busy road you have to cross to get the resort, either by underpass or take your life in your hands, the noise from this road is horrendous,there is no quiet time at all, the buzz of traffic is constant,I found the owner to be surley, she did not speak unless spoken to and then did not always answer . the bar staff Eddi and Netti are in a relationship, were like school children, petting and sitting about on each other, they run the bar and entertainment, if that is what you can call it !!!, signs around the pool , dictate rather than request, i.e dont rather than a polite PLEASE dont eat or drink food not bought at the bar, which is expensive to say the least, i.e chip butty 3 euro , 0.4 litre of local beer 2.50 euro, and a glass of cheap coke from a bottle 2 euro, the aparments look clean but are only given a lick and a promise every other day, 2 cleaners , 5 mins tops, floors very dusty, the toilet bin which stunk was also on emptied every other day ,sheets were only changed once during a weeks stay, and the cleaners went rooting in the wardrobe , looking for towels whilst I was in the apartment, Kitchen consists of 2 rings and an electric kettle and fridge.There are 2 bars one around the pool which was open during the day, and the other, which was located near reception on an evening, this bar is 6 feet away from the very noisy road, dimly lit ,wicker chairs that are falling to pieces,and a concrete bench with cushions on it, with the so called entertainment of wii games and the likes of,music could not be heard because of traffic noise, air con for the week is 49 euro,Stalis is a lovely resort which I would return to ,but definately not the Rainbow Apartments

Room Tip: not facing on to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Having just returned from two weeks (july) at these apartments, I would highly recommend them. Maria is very efficient in the running of the hotel, Eddi, Netti and Delia what can I say.... you are all amazing. I stayed here as a single parent with two 16 yr old boys who thouroughly enjoyed themselves, crazy greek bingo, barbecue night, pasta night and wii bowling they did not want to leave the apartments. There is food available for all tastes, one vegetarian and one allergic to dairy, both easily fed. Having friends in other aprtments, Panorama and Sergianni I must say Rainbow was easily the best. Rainbow is situated just off the main road and a very short walk takes you to the beach, buses run every 15 mins (a 5 min walk away) to Ag Nic and Heraklion. They are extremely clean and well maintained and could not fault them. Netti, Eddi and Delia are great at keeping you entertained and made to feel at home. There are not enough words to say how brilliant this place is. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just arrived home after a wonderful stay at the Rainbow.What can i say that hasn't already been said,smashing place to stay would highly recommend.The staff are second to none from Maria the owner to Delia the cook.Special mention has to go to Eddie and Netti who couldn't do enough for you.We arrived at 1 in the morning and Netti made my young son Evan chips no hassle at all. BBQ night is a must (Our family went both Saturdays we were there) and for 10 euros food is excellent and plenty of it,entertainment is great craic as Eddie can always make fun off a bad situation as we found out when we had a power cut the second Saturday night we went.
Our apartments were very nice clean and well kept a credit to the cleaners who came in every other day.Our room was a superior studio (307) which had plenty of room for my family with all mod cons except there was no toaster.Air con is 7 euros a day which we thought was well worth the money as you really do need it.
We stayed at the pool everyday which is well looked after and clean with plenty of sunbeds for all.I would have one complaint about the pool is that they really need to put a fence or something up at the apartment side of the pool as there is a nasty drop on the other side of the small wall.
The apartments are close to the beach and bars which are only a few mins stroll away.You do have to cross the busy main road but there is an underpass just up the road or you can cross at the steps just before the underpass.There is a supermarket next door to the rainbow which sell everything you need it is a few cent more for most things than the bigger shops but hey its handy so we always used it.
We never had any food at the apartments (except BBQ nite) as we like to get out and about when we are away.I must say the standard of the food in Stalis was very good,we didnt have one bad meal.Our favorite places were for lunch we liked Akti Bar or the little sandwich shop facing Akti and in the evening we really liked Amici Ristorante and Maria's Golden Beach.
We had a brill time staying at the Rainbow and hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned from 10 days at Stalis where The Rainbow Apartments were our base for this time and have to say they were much better than I expected. Upon arrival we were met at reception by Maria (I think she was called) who was very swift in getting us checked in with no problems.
We had paid the extra for superior rooms and were not disappointed, I would fully recommend you upgrade for the bit extra if you can afford to do so. The rooms were extremely spacious and were cleaned every other day, we had room 303 and this was ample space for three people aged 17 - 24, our other half of the party were next door in 302 and this was even bigger with being a corner plot. Rooms were kitted out with fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, LCD TV, shower, basin and WC, air conditioning is also available at 7 euros per day which we paid and found this to be of good standard.
Although we spent the majority of our days at the beach the pool area is very clean although the pool is on the smaller side it is not an issue with the apartments only having 40 odd rooms the pool is never too busy not to go in. Sunbeds were not an issue either, the majority of guests are British meaning no 6am get ups to go an put towels out :P
We only attended one of the themed nights which was the BBQ night and for 10 euros you could not argue at all with the food or entertainment, Eddie provided a great night one that I will not forget.
Location wise the apartments are excellent with the beach less than 5 minutes away, the road outside as stated in previous reviews is busy but there is a crossing which leads to steps approx 200 yards away which as long as you have got road sense this is not a problem to cross.
The bar food we tried was very good but the apartments did not offer a full breakfast (which I enjoy on holiday) for this we went to Robin Hood approx 5 min walk from the hotel on the main strip which was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from Stalis and stayed at The Rainbow Apartments. I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Ideally positioned and just a 5 min walk to the beach, bars and restaurants. We stayed in one of the superior rooms (302) which was huge. Our daughter and boyfriend had a similar apartment next door although this was slightly smaller but still more than adequate. The pool is a bit on the small side, but with around only 40 apartments it was not an issue. There are plenty of sunbeds also so no getting up at 6am to do the towel run. Saturday nights are BBQ night and Eddy puts on a great night, well worth the €10. Also as the apartments are so close to the beach and bars etc it's only a short stroll each day / night. Turn right out of the apartments and walk approx 200 yards down the busy road and cross. Down the steps and your are 100 yards from the beach. I can highly recommend Maria's Golden Beach restaurant on the corner as you approach the sea. Also Akti bar across the road does brilliant lunch time snacks. The Robin Hood Pub a further 100 yards up the beach road does top notch breakfasts. We loved our time here and will be back very soon.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at the rainbow apartments between June and July this year with my wife, These are without doubt the best apartments in Stalis!! This is our second visit to the Rainbow and our third to Stalis and I must say the appartments are clean, spacious and in a fantastic location!! They are cleaned every other day and toilet roll is provided throughout your whole stay which is unusual for Greece

Air conditioning is available for 7 euros a day which is a must as it was so hot, and a safe is available for 30 euros. If you need to keep your room on for the final day if your flight is in the evening then this only costs 15 euros which is more than acceptable!!

The food at the apartments is very nice and reasonably priced with a large menu to pick from, the staff at the Rainbow are all very friendly and accomodating. The pool area is also very nice, with plenty of loungers, with a good sized swimming pool. Overall I would highly recommend these apartments.

I also feel I have a duty to mention one small issue and this is that the pool is not the cleanest, you do need to spend time getting flies and bees out of the pool and i think this is due to a filter problem with the pool that does need addressing. The staff do go into the pool and scrub the walls due to this problem as they do get a little grubby to try and make up for this filter problem. With this in mind do not wear a white bikini as this will dis colour and go yellow, many people around the pool did have this problem whilst we were there!!

Please do not let this deter you, this is a minor problem which I am sure will be addressed, the location is fantastic, only 3 to 5 minutes away from the main strip and the beach!! A fantastic holiday and we wil definetly go back in the future!!

AD4478

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainbow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Apartments

Address: 70 Irinis St, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stalis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Apartments in Stalis Crete are a delightful, family-run holiday apartment complex with an inviting, friendly atmosphere. The Rainbow Apartments enjoy an enviable position near the sandy beach in seaside resort Stalis in Crete, Greece.At Rainbow Apartments tradition and innovation blend perfectly: 19 Standard and 22 Superior studios and apartments feature all modern amenities in a contemporary setting with timeless charm and impeccable service. The apartments offer splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea and the Bay of Stalis. Blessed with a mild climate year-round, Rainbow Apartments have a large outdoor swimming pool in stylish surroundings and with a mature, Meditteranean garden. Water sports and leisure opportunities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Rainbow Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalis
Rainbow Apartments Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.