We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to None” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filia Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Filia Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Filia Hotel Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
London,
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second to None”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

This was our first trip to Crete and it turned out to be better than we have expected. After careful consideration we've choose the Filia Hotel in Stalis and now we know that we couldn't do any better! We have only stayed for 5 days but enjoyed every second of it. Hotel is run by three Greek brothers Michael, Vasili and George. They are all very welcoming and friendly. When we arrived at the hotel the first thing was a nice and cold drink on the house, and it carried on from there every night. The hotel has two pools and two bars with enough space for everyone to enjoy! Rooms were clean and quiet big with a balcony.
The location of the Hotel is just perfect, less than 5 minutes to the beach, which was really beautiful and sandy. Definitely the nicest beach in the area, as we went to see couple of the others close by but none of them were sandy as the one in Stalis. There are number of souvenir shops, supermakerts, restaurants and bars to choose from. We eat at Artemis restaurant every night, sitting on their outside patio area looking straight at the beach. The view was really amazing. The food was fantastic and the service really spot on. After couple of days we actually found out the one of the waiter was a cousin of the brothers in Filia Hotel. You can also rent a bike and go around to explore the Island. The prices are very fair and you can bargain around. If you are looking for nice, relaxing holiday then Stalis in Crete is a very good choice. For the hotel, if you want to feel as home then you won't go wrong with Filia.
If we ever decide to go to Crete again we will definitely stay at the Filia Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    43
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
90
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Dont panic when you get off the coach (you think you have been left in the middle of nowhere but you are literally less than five minutes away from the main strip. Hotel rooms were basic and the maid service wasn't very reliable but if you needed anything Billy the bar man was always on hand. Billy made our holiday from the minute we walked down towards the hotel to the minute we left. Full of fun and always reald for a laugh was Billy. Food from hotel restaurant was excellent and the portions were enourmous, George the brother who did the cooking was always willing to cook you a meal no matter what time of day it was. Excellent hol and we will definately be back very soon

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I went to stay in Stalis with a friend of mine and we stayed at the Filia. It was perfect for what we wanted (not to be in Malia but not too far either) although a bit too quiet but we saw that the week we were leaving a huge amount of people were due to arrive. Typical!

Location: 5 min walk to the beach and Stalis Beach Road which has millions of restaurants, supermarkets and little shops. We attempted to walk to Malia which ended up being around 25-30min walk in heels at a good pace. Get a taxi, it's only 7euros! The beach is stunning and would recommend going to Dwyers Irish pub for their day time deal: 2 sunbeds, umbrella, 2 lunches (toasties) for 5euros. Stalis itself has very few bars, mainly pubs so it's a nice place to go for relaxed drinks at night. Malia is the main place with all the bars and clubs. The Malia bar street is huge and really busy so be careful not to lose others and not to get too close to the gyspy children who pickpocket.

Rooms: We had a room for 2 and so the walking space wasn't huge but that's not really needed for a holiday. Our balcony was great though, really big. Good space for clothes and enough plug points. Bathroom was the standard Greek thing - toilet paper in the bin and no shower curtain. It sounds alot worse than it is!

Cleanliness & Service: The hotel itself was very clean, cleaners came everyday to change towels and sheets changed once in the week. As standard in any hot country, there were bugs but that wasn't the fault of the hotel. We did find ants though in the kitchenette area. We don't know where they came from and only came out if we made food and didn't wash up. We told Michael, one of the owners, and he brought the bug spray straight away. Sprayed the whole kitchenette area and left us with the spray for any more, which there wasn't. Billy, the Pool Bar tender, another owner, was absolutely fantastic!! A bit crazy but so attentive and livens up the place.

Negatives: The only thing which was a downer was the view from the hotel. On one side was a main dual carriage way sort of road and on the other was a very built up scene of houses and other hotels. However through all this you could see the sea view in the distance. Also, the Filia is split into two sections currently and building work was taking place. The view was just a shame but there was no noise which is more important really.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at the Filia. Perfect location - near to beach, bars and restaurants and not too far from Malia town. Really good staff and nice pool area. Try the Strawberry milkshake and Frappicino!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Could not fault this hotel one bit. Rooms were basic but clean and tidy, fantastic pool area serving drinks and lovely food throughout the day and night. The staff especially Billy were brilliant, they made us feel welcome and always service with a smile. Great location just minutes from the shops and beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

My husband and I have just returned after a weeks stay at the filia apartments and were pleasantly surprised . I had read a few reviews concerning noise and Billy's wild antics but he really is a perfect host if you want to drink shots till 2am then he is there to accommodate but if you want to keep yourself to yourself which we did then he will leave you to it but at the same time be helpful,friendly and polite! The first night we arrived we were given room 104 which is directly outside the pool bar and was very noisy but the next morning we asked to move which they did no problem and gave us room 116 which was facing the side and we could not hear a thing the next night !The pool during the day is very relaxed with just a local radio station on in the background and always very quiet with lots of sun beds the snacks are also fantastic all home cooked with huge portions and authentic Greek food rather than just typical burger and chips and full English breakfast (although that is on the menu if thats your thing )The rooms are typical Greek very basic but suitable for a week , the only gripe we had was our room was never cleaned or bins emptied the whole time we were there we thought this may have been due to the room switch but may be there policy !Location is 2 minutes to Stalis main street ! Stalis itself is a little bit to commercial for our standards as they tend to cater to brits and as the season was quiet a lot of pressure to get you into the bars and restaurant's but a few firm polite no thank yous and they tend to leave you alone after a few days !However there is a few restaurants that stand out from the crowd Serganis is a very traditional Greek which is towards
malia !In the opposite direction there is two great restaurants golden beach which is Greek but also do plate smashing and dancing always packed and good fun and a fabulous Italian called Amicis which is a little bit more upmarket(and ran by Italians) noteably neither of these restaurants have anyone trying to drag you in ! I Would not return to Stalis again as there is so many beautiful Islands to visit but the weather ,locals and food was nothing to complain about and we had a great time !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I read the reviews beforehand but as I was travelling in low season I thought I would be ok and it was- easy to find hotel from main road ( we hired a car) safe parking, lovely complex well looked after by the 3 brothers, as it was beginning of season the were touching up stuff. The pool is adequate and the walk to main road is dusty but simple.


Yes Billy is loud but as there was only 5 apts full late nights werent a problem, he is amazingly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We ordered a greek salad and a ham & cheese toastie and chips - he promptly went to the bakers for fresh bread, then went to his onsite allotment and dug up the potatoes and picked my salad - cant get fresher than that!!

The apts are clean well sized and apart from a squeaky toilet door we were happy for price.

Keep up the good work - I love Crete and wouldnt hesitate on recommending this hotel, resort or island to anyone that likes a fun friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed for 2 weeks with Billy & Co at the Filia. Booked through Kosmar and took along the parents, both in their 70's too !!
Can empathise somewhat with previous reviews but I have to say all 5 of us enjoyed our stay. Billy certainly is the life and soul of the complex. Looking like a short Eric Cantona, theres a loud welcome for everyone whenever you appear, he's either singing or running around in a daft wig. I found him geniunely helpful and hard working, his atention to detail and cleanliness of the bar/pool area was spot on.

Parents stayed in a room adjacent to the bar. Whilst they noticed the music the first night, after that they just closed their doors and went to sleep. I must admit, I thought it would be a problem.

As for our room, It was probably one of the most modern and largest room I've stayed in Greece. Nicely painted and up to date, our room had an upstairs sleeping area. I've stayed at some places recommended by Thomas Cook and alike and they've been really shabby. The only critisim for the larger rooms was the 'one size fits all' air con, which didn't keep the upstairs part cool. The parents room however was like a fridge.

Cleaning did leave something to be desired. As previous reviews state, it wasn't as often as it should have been. We resorted to a bit of our own housekeeping and raiding the laundry cupboaurd [next to room 101] as it was left unlocked. There was a fair market in contraband bog rolls too.

The Kosmar Rep was a pleasant young lady called Stacey who seemed down to earth. During our stay, Kosmar top brass audited the hotel. Not for any reason in particular, which I found reassuring. However I did feel sorry for the Rep when the tour opperator managed to lose a rake of baggage on the flight over from England. She was left to deal with some very irrate passangers on her own. I think an Area Manager should have done the explaining.

The Filia was a great base for the beach and shops of Stalis, literally 5mins walk from the centre. Theres a great many genuine Greek Tavernas, some overlooking the beach and the food and service was wonderful, all within a stones throw from the Filia.

In short, I'd go back to Stalis, I'd go back to the Filia and even if I didn't stay there, i'd go and have a beer with Billy - any excuse from both parties !!!

  • Liked — Location, freindlines
  • Disliked — Has to be the cleaning !!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Filia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filia Hotel Apartments

Address: Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#7 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Filia Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Filia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filia Apartments Heraklion
Filia Apartments Hotel Heraklion
Filia Hotel Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filia Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.