We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation that needs a professional cleaning service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stefania Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stefania Apartments to your Saves list
Stefania Apartments
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Rd, Stalis, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation that needs a professional cleaning service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The Stefania is fine. It's got an Irish theme. As everywhere, it has a mixture of good and bad apartments depending on your preference. Some overlooked the road, others the pool. Some had big balconies, others small. The room cleaning was not very well done, especially the toilet/shower area, which is a "wet" room and therefore needed proper cleaning every day. They need to hire professional cleaners to clean the rooms daily. The only ventilation in the toilet/shower was a window, but there was no mosquito screen so it had to be left closed in the evening (when we used the shower). The aircon rental was €40 per week. There wasn't a daily rate as in other resorts. The kitchen area was basic, to say the least. The towels were small and only changed once in the week.

Otherwise it was ok. It's a family run place and a number of the guests had been there before. Everyone know everyone. This may not be everybody's cup of tea !!!

Stalis offers lots of bars and restaurants with competitive prices everywhere. It's hard to get a bad meal. Watch out for the "special offers" as there is usually a catch. If it's cheaper than everywhere else, there will be a reason. Watch out for "recommendations" too, as there will be a vested interest somewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    14
    6
    2
    9
See reviews for
31
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Crete is beautiful. Stalis is Ok as a base ( maybe not lively enough for the young) but hire a car, take tours, whatever -but see the island - stalis is NOT Crete. Stefania Apts are in a good central position in the resort. They are small, family run, very friendly and many people return year after year so they must be doing something right. Most of the people there were Irish and many knew each other from previous visits. If you like that sort of home from home -fine, if not you can do your own thing. The general management and cleanliness of the apts left room for improvement. Only the minimum of attention was given to the rooms- mind you the very pleasant lady was overworked - and the overall impression we got was of rather inefficient management.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

These apartments are split into two blocks, the front block is on the beach road, behind this is the pool and snack bar and behind this again is the second block which backs onto the main traffic road. We stayed in a studio apartment in the back block which was clean and functional with a small balcony. We discovered that the food in the snack bar is quite good and reasonably priced, on our last day there. The beach road is a strip of restaurants and bars and as you amble there at night you will be asked repeatedly by people at the doors to enter their establishment for the meal of a lifetime. Also, if you have a mind to, you can avail of many opportunities to see your favourite soap opera, and several large signs will remind you of this! The pleasant beach is a stones throw away. There is a bus stop directly behind the back block on the main trafic road. The buses are of a very high standard and very cheap.Using these you can take a day trip to the ancient temple at Knossos and the former leper colony on Spinalonga island, both of which I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I came here after having read the rave reviews on this accommodation. The truth could not be more different.

The accommodation; I have travelled a lot and take on average 2-3 holidays per year always to different places. I have to say this was the dirtiest accommodation I have ever encountered on holidays. I am well aware its not meant to be a five star hotel but the filth was beyond belief. The towels were changed 3 times in two weeks. So we had to keep using the same ones. There was no cleaning done except for a quick mop occasionally and as you can see from the picture they missed several parts of the bathroom. I ended up buying wipes and attempting to clean it myself. The shower was hopeless, virtually no water pressure and cold. I had to sit down in the bath to have a shower. Whilst sitting down I got to look at the mildewed shower curtain. Mmmm nice! Also there were wires hanging out of the shower. I am no electrician but…… I dont think water and electricity mix. (see pictures)

The kitchen area was basic enough but served its purpose. There was no indoor seating area bizarrely. What looked like they could be sofas were used as beds. The double bed was upstairs which could only be described as some sort of barn area. The stairs would be quite dangerous for young children.
The sheets were changed twice in two weeks and they were stained with god knows what. I had some of the worst nights sleep there.
Despite the Stefania being filled with families, children roamed the area until 3am making a huge amount of noise and their parents nowhere to be found?????
What was particularly dangerous about this was the busy roads either side of the hotel. (see pictures). Not to mention little ones wandering near a pool which was nearly 3 metres deep.
The church nearby had bells that rang out at 4AM. Not for one minute criticizing the church but cannot understand why they do not warn people about this as it must be terrible for those with babies.

Ironically we were meant to have had the best apartments in the Stefania – ha ha ha!
We witnessed two other families asking to change rooms on first sight of the accommodation they were given.

The restaurant was fine. It was beneath the apartment. We only ate there once. The menu was very Irish. Burgers and chips etc.. Personally we prefer something a bit more Greek.

The Greek night to be honest it wasn’t very good. There was plenty of the food but it was given and taken away very quickly. The Greek night promised a night of live Greek music, food and dancing. A CD played some Greek music, the food though ok was taken very quickly from the tables. The dancing was over very quickly. Then a “joke” was played on some poor man who was promised a free bar but ended up with water being poured down his trousers and not a free drink in sight for his troubles. Thought that was a bit mean.
Also this so called Greek night lasted from 8h30-10. After an hour and a half the wine was snatched from the tables and we were ordered into the bar. At 20 euro per person it really is not very good value. I got the impression they just wanted people to spend money at the Leprechaun bar. Don t bother with this night, just get a taxi and go to the old town of Hersonosiss on Monday - much more enjoyable.
Also the Irish coffee I ordered did NOT have a euro off it as promised as the barman does not like making them- well sorry! Never bothered with the Leprechaun after that. Loads of other bars out there! We also found staff were not that friendly when you weren’t prepared to eat and drink there all the time.

As a resort, I found Stalis to be very tacky with neon lights everywhere. It wasn’t really how I imagined Greece would be at all. The beach was crowded with sunbeds and really quite dirty with cigarette butts littered everywhere. The restaurants were ok. There were a few owners that tried to drag you in but I simply ignored them. Of all the restaurants I found Marias Golden Beach to be the best. Very noisy but loads of fun. The staff did everything to make you feel welcome. I also liked Taverne Mastoras nearby. Lovely place, a haven from the awful tackiness of the resort.
The main road was REALLY dangerous. Lots of people on quads and bikes beeping for you to get out of the way. It was impossible to enjoy a nice relaxing walk for having avoid idiots on these bikes.

In conclusion, I cannot understand how anyone could accept this accommodation. We were looking for a Greek holiday and pretty much wound up with the Costa del sol. Granted the resort was not for us but the low standard of accommodation left us counting down the days until we could leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Stefania Apartments are in the middle of everything you could ask for . Wonderful friendly Greek family runned apartments . Cleaning ladies very friendly and clean the rooms everyday :) Meals at the bar are lovely and never seen Sophia not busy or the food bar empty . Maria and George terrible nice and Stephani mad as a brush you get some laugh out a her . Emer is a workaholic and a typical irish . Amy is like emer on the same scale . Yanni couldnt do enough for the wedding the guests .
The Leprachaun is run bye Yanni Its a small irish pub and is always a full house . The seating area outside is brilliant and spaches . The Beach is right outside the apartments 3 euro for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella .
There all very kind friendly and will be back next year fo a month and looking forward to it

  • Liked — Everything Its In The Middle Of Everything So No Problems
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Apts are in good location from the centre and the beach, all within walking distance. There were 2 families like us with 2 adults and 2 children. We were put in 1 bed apts, which were OK, but quite small and very basic. You have to pay €80 for 2 weeks airconditioning and it only works in the main bedroom and not in the 'lounge area' where the 3/4th person sleeps. There are 2 much larger split level apts much more suitable for a family of four which were given to smaller parties. So if booking with a family, I would suggest you request one of these rooms which also have a large balcony overlooking the pool, or it will be given to repeat visitors regardless of how small the party!!!. The apartments are very basic, a fridge, kettle, and 2 rings to cook on. No toaster or microwave (although advertised as 'fully equipt') The resort as a whole is nice and its advisable to rent a car and tour around the island. On the whole a nice place to visit although pretty expensive overall, we paid €2500 for 2 wks s/c in july 2ads & 2 kids under 8, was it worth it................No, would expect a better grade accommodation for that!!.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

stefania apartments were great,we had a lovely holiday here just across the road from beach, family run apartments,breakfast is great here,rooms clean and confortable,very friendly and helpful,
good craic in bar,dont miss the crete night,very good,try not to get apt over bar it could be very noisy,this was alovely friendly place and i would detinetly go back.

  • Liked — it was very convient
  • Disliked — we had a small balcony
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stefania Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stefania Apartments

Address: Beach Rd, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#9 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stefania Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stefania Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefania Apartments Hotel Stalis
Stefania Apartments Stalís
Stefania Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stefania Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.