We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Latania to your Saves list
Latania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
sheffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of Stalis close to the beach and an almost limitless number of restaurants, tavernas and bars.

The hotel boasts a nice pool and bar area and a good WiFi connection in the public places that extends to the bedrooms. Rooms are adequate in size and have balconys, although there was a constant drip, drip, drip of water onto the plastic corrugated sheet that covered ours - presumably from an air con unit in the room above.

The hotel was very cheap although we had to pay 7 Euro a day for air-con. Unlike some previous contributors we didn't have to pay for toilet roll - there were several rolls in the apartment.

The guy on reception was very friendly and helpful and despite being in the centre of Stalis, the hotel was very quiet at night. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    62
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
111
107
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week at the start of July, we booked it very last minute as we booked it on the weds and went on the thurs! After looking everywhere for a good value last minute deal in a nice hotel, I found Latania studios and decided to go for it after looking at the other reviews already on here! It definitely didn't disappoint, the studios are in a great location and whichever way you go out of the hotel there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops around! We went into malia one night and that cost 8 euros each way and took maybe 10 minutes so was not far at all! Our room was very spacious and even though there were only 2 of us we had 4 beds, it was kept very clean as the cleaners came every day and did an excellent job! All the staff at the latania were really welcoming and friendly, both me and my boyfriend said we would stay here again as we really enjoyed our week here! All the positive reviews you read about latania are absolutely right, I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Latania was a great place to stay for our week in Crete. Just as we had read in other reviews it met all our basic requirements. The room for two was basic but had everything you could need, a powerful shower, fridge, kettle together with the un-used toaster, microwave and two hobs plus TV and was kept clean and tidy on a daily basis by the hard working maid. You need to pay extra for the air conditioning and safe deposit but between the two of us it came out at 35 euros each. The pool was never too crowded and had more than enough sun-loungers for everyone. The staff were great, always friendly and helpful from Tim in reception to Manos working from dawn to gone midnight behind the bar. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but maybe you should skip the breakfast as this was very basic. You could not fault the location, right in the centre of Stalis with plenty of bars, restaurants, supermarkets, shops and travel agents all close by. Despite this there was no noise from the street when in your room. We loved Stalis, 2 miles away from boozey 18-30 world but plenty of restaurants and bars to spend a quite and enjoyable evening, our favourite being Mesoyiako (turn right at the road,,a minutes walk away) with many Greek, Italian and fish dishes and as everywhere else in Stalis a friendly welcome.
We can see why lots of people come back to Latania and Stalis year after year

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Latania Apartments from 3 July to 17 July this year. We had room 311, which was an apartment consisting of hallway, kitchen with table and chairs and 2 beds, large bathroom and nice sized bedroom with a good sized balcony. This was a large apartment and could have slept up to 5, as there was also a single bed in our bedroom. However, there was no air conditioning in the kitchen, so anyone sleeping in there would have struggled in the heat. Our balcony looked out onto the pool/bar area, which is circled by lovely shrubbery and palm trees. On the right hand side of our balcony there was a quad bike hire place, and the staff there often worked into the night cleaning the bikes. We didn't find the noise a problem, though. They obviously work very hard and appeared to have little time off! We tended to eat out every day, and only ate snacks at the pool bar occasionally. The drinks/cocktails, we felt, were reasonably priced, and Manos was always friendly and helpful to us. The barbeque and Karaoke nights were well attended, and the swimming pool was a nice size and clean at all times. Sunbeds were plentiful and free of charge, and the showers in the ladies and gents downstairs were a godsend when we did not want to return to our apartment to freshen up. Our apartment was kept clean and tidy by the cleaners, and we had plenty of clean towels every day. The bed (which was firm but comfortable) was changed daily, and the cleaners were always friendly and cheerful. (We left a note of thanks for them on the bed on our last day, together with a tip). Tim, on Reception, was helpful and cheerful from our arrival to our departure, and he came out to the bus to see us off as we left for the airport. He, together with all staff at the Latania, was a credit and a pleasure to know.

Stalis has many bars and restaurants, and we can recommend the Italian restaurants (especially the Amici), the Knossos which is on the left corner as you walk onto the main road (food is nice, but more basic, but the atmosphere is lively and fun thanks to the staff) and the Artemis - we ate here often as we used their section of the beach most days, and we found the staff friendly and the meals lovely. Note: If you turn right onto the road, walk up the road for a hundred metres or so and you will find a large outdoor bar/restaurant (the name escapes me) - the food is good and the staff are very friendly. Overall, we had a fabulous 2 weeks in Stalis, and we were very pleased with the accommodation at the Latania.

Room Tip: Balconies on the ground floor look very small. Our room, 311, was next to a quad bike hire company...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I know its hard when booking a holiday especially when you read bad reviews, only people are to quick to write bad comments and not enough write good, if you have children or are a couple and want a perfect location with so many places to eat and drink on the door step book here, the staff are very helpfull and accomodation is not the hilton but what you would exspect for a studio, the bar/snack bar is lovely and clean all the time and the Service behind it is class a, manos the bar manager is so friendly and knows how to make sure you have a great time.everyone is different and like different things but as a whole package holiday this is perfect, stayed here for 2 holidays and will do many more, it took 5 greek islands to find this location and if you stay there you will book again.!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and i stayed at the Latania as a reward to ourselves for finishing university and decided to stay in Crete for a month in order to get a real feel for the place. This I believe has led us to have a more fair and valid opinion on the hotel.

Firstly, we both believe that the hotel is very good value for money. The cost o or accommodation cost roughly the same as what it did when we have been on holidays in the past for a week or two so generally it is of very good value. However, the prices that they don't include in the accommodation costs are rather expensive. They all change depending on what month you stay here but when we was here the costs were:


Air conditioning - €7 per day
Safe - €3 per day
A fan (which generally does nothing more than blow hot air around the room) - €2 per day.

Drinks at the bar are very high. A can of coke was €2 which considering they are 65 cents in the supermarket opposite is unbelievable. The food is reasonably cheap but there is not much on offer apart from your typical snacks.

The hotel holds a barbecue every saturday to 'say thank you for staying to the guests' however this comes at a price of €10 per person and there really is not that much to choose from.

The bar is what I believe was the only let down of the Latania hotel. This wasnt really a problem for us as we arent the type that stay in the hotel day and night which brings me on to my next point. We read a lot of reviews which said that the bar staff, manos especially, is very 'selective' on who he becomes friendly with. My girlfriend and I will both categorically say that this is true. We met him on our first few days and bought drinks from the bar and he was lovely, chatty and wanted to get to know us. After that we rarely went to the bar due to us getting to know the locals and there bars and restaurants and after that he virtually ignored us for 3 and a Half weeks. We attended the BBQ and were pretty much ignored at that too however guests who stayed at the bar until the early hours were treated like gold.

The cleaners at the Latania are brilliant, this of course is not a 5* hotel, which a lot of people who reviewed it forgot but we thought the cleaners were perfect. They were extremely friendly, respectful if we didn't want our rooms cleaned on certain days, made the rooms very clean for us everyday and a lot of the days I had left my iPhone and my tablet PC out on the table and they weren't even touched. This gave us a lot of trust in the cleaners. They folded our clothes up, emptied bins every day and changed our bed clothes every 3 days. They really are a credit to the hotel.

Tim at the reception is also a credit and was always polite, pleasant and willing to help whenever he could. He did us a lot of favours and was always friendly.

With regards to the pool it is a very nice pool, big enough but not too big and was very refreshing. There was always sunbird available and it is not like most other holidays where you have to have a sunbed at 7:30am otherwise you'll never get one. There was ALWAYS spaces and it was never too busy. There are showers and toilets by the pool too to save you going back to your rooms. The only problem with the pool is they don't clean it every day and this does mean bugs float on top. Not many! But one or two. This is only the case on some days and I stress not all the time.

The area surrounding the Latania is great. The beach is close and there are countless bars and restaurants to choose from including souvenir shops. I will give special mention the the red lion pub opposite, whos full English breakfasts with 4 pieces of toast and orange juice or tea/coffee for €3.95 were brilliant. They also have entertainment on the nights too. The creta restaurant just opposite is brilliant too. The food is delicious and the man outside became a very good friend during our stay, giving is free shots most nights and even offering us a lift when he saw us in his car walking home. Those two places were by far the best places we went to and Believe me we tried a lot of places in a month.

Overall I believe that stalis and the Latania hotel really were a dream to stay in and apart from little things every now and then there really was nothing that didn't stop it from being perfect. I would definitely stop here again.

A quick note, spinalonga is definitely worth the money, however Knossos I would say is not. There is a lot of walking around at Knossos and following the tour guide. As a history degree student I thought this would be very interesting but it was actually rather dull. As for the waterparks my girlfriend and I went to both parks, acquaplus twice and water city once and acquaplus is miles better. You should definitely go to acquaplus Orr water city.

Thanks, hope this was helpful.
Adam

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, null, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Latania apartments are on perfect position, so you are just step a way of all restaurants, supermarkets, pubs...
Off course famous Manos (Manojle :)) with empty pockets will do everything possible to make your stay in hotel restaurants and the pool comfortable. He knows almost everything about Crete and things you need to see.
Room we had (216) is with the huge balcony and sea view. Also we had another smaller balcony which is perfect for morning coffee.
Cleaning staff is very good and your room will be spotless daily! In the room you have microwave, toaster, coffee machine and water heater. Everything you need, maybe it is old but it is clean which is more than enough for me. What surprise me is the bath tub not just a sink with shower like in most Greece apartments. One thing which was bad is the air condition which is 7 EUR/day and it is not cooling very good.
Any way it was really nice and relaxing holiday and I can recommend to everybody!

Room Tip: 216 is perfect room with 2 balconies and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Latania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latania

Address: Beach Road, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#5 Family Hotel in Stalis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Latania 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, Latania Apartments provide large apartments and studios in Stalis, just 50 meters away from the 4 km long Stalis Beach.Latania Apartments features a large pool and pool bar that includes a satellite TV. Wifi is free of charge to all the public places. Free parking area is also provided free of charge.A variety of taverns, shops, and a medical center is within walking distance from the property. To further explore Crete, there is a bus link 200 meters away that heads to all major cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Latania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latania Hotel Stalis
Latania Hotel Stalís
Latania Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.