We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zervas Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stalis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zervas Beach Hotel
Save
You added Zervas Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Rd, Stalis, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

This was our 10th visit to Stalis and I can't believe we have not found this hotel before.
We booked it a week before travelling and it was great. Our room ,although on the small side and basic, was kept clean and we were only a few metres from the pool area and another few metres to the beach.
The hotel has guests from many different european countries, but it is small and very friendly. We had my youngest son (11)with us and there were only a couple of other kids there but he spent all his time on the beach or in the pool and didn't once complain of being bored.
The owner, Kostas, is usually around as he runs different kinds of water sports from the beach. The pool bar is run by a lovely lady called Maria, who made us feel so welcome.
Despite its very central location it was quiet at night.
This is a great hotel if you just want to spend a week relaxing in the sun.
We will definitely return to this hotel, hopefully later in the summer, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a great holiday in the zervas beach hotel in the friendly resort of Stalis. Having did a little research on the hotels which had reviews on this website I decided this hotel would be the ideal place to stay to just chill for a week. I have to say I was not disappointed at all.The room was cleaned with fresh linen and towels each day. If you have never stayed in greece or any of the greek islands before you will normally be a little disappointed with the rooms on your first experience,however I would definitely say at the zervas it was above average for a 3 star rating.Only downsides if I had to be picky were the small balcony,however we did have a pool and sea view,and maybe the shower cubicle being small with the next to useless shower net. I want to mention like other reviewers before the friendliness of Maria who ran the pool bar,a lovely girl always with a smile on her face.Also Kosta the hotel owner,a good bloke who let us keep the room on when we had a late flight home on the last day for no extra cost.Yanni and Theresa who ran the hotel bar at the front of the hotel were friendly people also.Anyone who likes good food should try the italian Amici restaurant,a 2 minute walk to the right as you walk out of the hotel. Loadsa other good restaurants in the resort to try and chillin bars and a couple of music bars. I will finish this review by saying I have been abroad loads of times and have never felt compelled to write a review before.Also anyone into watersports has it on the doorstep with Kosta and couple of his mates having a speedboat to pull those doughnuts and paragliding and also the usual jetbikes for hire.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Just got back from a week in stalis and had the best time ever.We stayed at the zervas beach hotel and couldnt fault in any way.Kosta the owner is a really nice person who cant do enough for you.The hotel is clean and comfortable and extremley friendly.The pool is immaculate with exellent comfy sunbeds.Maria who runs the pool bar is really friendly and always happy .Theresa and Yanni who run the hotel bar are the same happy friendly and relly chatty.Kosta is always around and everyone just loves to mingle and make you feel welcome.We coulnt fault it in any way and will definitley be heading there again at least twice next year its location is second to none and the beach is beautiful cant wait to return we stayed her in 2008 not 07 as above

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

Most reviews were fairly complimentary abut the Zervas Beach Hotel, however it did seem rather more geared towards couples and small families than my travelling party, which consisted of 5 scouse lads here for the Malia nightlife. Having arranged and booked the trip myself, I was personally apprehensive and a little worried that the owners might not take kindly to us invading their otherwise peaceful hotel....

My fears were allayed after arriving at the Zervas Beach at around 3:30AM. The receptionist (who doubled as bar tender and might have been the owner?) welcomed us warmly and got us off to our rooms without any hastle or asking for breakages deposits etc, which we've been asled for in many hotels before.

The rooms were great - clean, basic and had air con (which you had to buy a remote for at reception - EUR30 per week), safe (EUR10 per week, tft flat screen TV and fridge. The shutters aoutside the balcony window worked well and hardly anuy sun beamed throught at all when you didn't want to be woken up by it.

The pool is great, fairly compact, but clean and the whole pool are leads stright onto the beach, which is fantastic. Ther's even a hammock by the pool which I would sit on with a drink and my ipod as the sun went down while everybody else would be resting befor getting ready to go out.

All of the staff were friendly, but there was a small incident where one lady was convinced that we hadn't given her back a room key - which we 100% had - and got a little bit hot under her collar (which was notable by its absence in the 40' heat...). On finding the key, she didn't come over and apologise etc, just acted a bit frosty towards us, but hey, who has the time to worry about it?

The hotel is right on the main road of stalis and is surrounded by restaurants, bars and shops. The best place to eat was the Mythos restaurant, no contest. Decent prices but just the best ambiance bar nne in Stalis.

I'd definately go back to the Zervas Beach hotel and would reccommend it to couples and families who want a good, sfe place to stay in an area where there are always things to do, places to eat and restaurants to eat in, but not the 100% nightlife of Malia. You can be in Malia in 5 minutes by taxi, but it takes about 45 minutes to walk there (don't be duped into thinking its a 5 minute walk, it's not).

  • Liked — It was just the whole package, it was a decent, honest place to stay.
  • Disliked — Towells were not changed from Thursday until Tuesday.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Lincs
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

Stayed here in Sept 2006. Will be going next year. Walk from hotel, to pool, to beach for a view to die for. Could not be more friendly, from the owner Costas, to Maria, who runs the pool bar and just about everything else if Costa is not about. I believe he owns three hotels, but spends his time at this one, running the watersports and basically being a full time holiday maker. The hotel is flanked by another on either side, which makes it guieter than you would extect on the main street of Stalis. It is situated towards one end of the resort with shops, bars and restauraunts directly outside. It would take at least 3 months to eat in every restaurant. The whole of the resort is within a 15 minute walk in either direction on virtually flat ground, making it suitable for all ages and states of fitness. The hotel is very clean and pleasant, in the normal basic ways of greece. There is also a bar at the front of the hotel to sit and have a drink while watching people walking by. Breakfast is only bread, jam and cheese every day, but to be fair, there is only so much they can give for the money.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

Zervas Beach is a great hotel. Excellent location and the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. Hotel is kept very clean. All the staff (Nellie, Maria, Yannis, Costa, Theresa) were only too pleased to offer information and advice. Water sports were good. Lovely pool area and snack bar from which you can get snacks, soft drinks, alcohol and ice creams. The hotel is flanked on either side by other hotels which meant there were no noisy bars or clubs nearby. Plenty of restaurants on your doorstep. Great views of the sea and of the mountains from your balcony. All in all a great hotel and a great place to spend a holiday. We will return. Review by Alan and Linda.

  • Liked — Small family run hotel, pool and right on the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — just enjoy the Zervas Beach and Stalis
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

we stayed here in june 2005 and had a wonderful time .we had a very relaxing holiday justat the beach .we had very friendly staff that could not do enough for us .first in the morning we met nellie who always looked after us .our rooms ,and anything we needed.maria aiways with a friendly smile looked after us at the pool bar for any thing we needed.then costa and his staff ,yani were excellent at the beach or pool which was kept very good.the bar was a very good place to meet locals and guests somuch so we returned again in september for two weeks and are going back in june this year for two weeks my husband and i are looking forward to it and hope to enjoy the cretan way of life

marie
l limerick ireland

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zervas Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zervas Beach Hotel

Address: Beach Rd, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Zervas Beach Stalís
Zervas Beach Hotel Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zervas Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.