We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place , great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koni Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Koni Village to your Saves list
Koni Village
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eleyth.Venizelou, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
isreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice place , great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed 5 nights vacation at the Koni Village. We booked half board deal after reading the recent good reviews in trip-advisor and in-spite some concerns due to the 3 star rating.
Bottom line is that we liked that hotel and its staff very much and even better than some of the higher rated hotels we’ve been in recent years on our vacations in Europe.
The exterior of the hotel is very pleasant and clean and functional . All public facilities are well located. The large pool , the dining hall , nice gardening around , the hotel is built on the slope of a hill which is quite steep. On the first 3 nights we had a room at the top row (10XX rooms) and there are stairs only up to the 9xx row , so it requires short walk up a steep slope to the 10xx rooms, it did not spoil our vacation. The beds in our room were somewhat uncomfortable for us and we requested a double bed room and the hotel staff found us a suitable room as soon as was available , after 3 nights.
The room looks simple relative to higher rated hotels we’ve been in, however everything was functional and clean . Our room was cleaned everyday . All facilities working and in order. There is a small kitchenette in the room, a nice balcony with sea view (all balconies face to the sea , all buildings have 3 floors and therefore the bottom floor may not have open sea view , we had second floor for 3 nights and third floor on the next two nights). The TV is a very small CRT , we almost did not need it but we watched CNN few minutes here and there and it was reasonable.
WIFI is free in public areas. We used it a lot. In the dining hall , at the pool side.
The dining hall , wonderful staff , good food. The staff was very welcoming and polite, kept hovering around on a non-interfering basis , clearing used dishes. They even opened up the dining room specially for us very early in the morning on checkout day because we had an early flight.
Free parking. We rented a car , so that was handy .
There is a nice and clean supermarket in the hotel grounds. Prices are reasonable and there is a nice girl at the counter.
We came with a large group which was scattered in few hotels in the area , we felt good we chose the Koni village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    155
    42
    23
    14
See reviews for
99
157
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

3rd visit, has be 10yrs since last one and konie village didn't disappoint,not one complaint, its clean and staff more than welcoming,its like a home from home,beds and towels changed 2 to 3 times a wk, and rite from the young guy who brings your luggage up the hill and the maids who clean your room, to waiting staff and bar staff even the management go out of their way to know you,apart from climb up to apartments, which,after all the eating(which no complaints anywhere) and drinking ya do helps keep your weight down lol will be back koni without a doubt won't leave it as long next time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week in Stalis at the Koni Village. Rooms are basic but clean and adequate. Pools and bar and restaurant also clean and very nice. We ate here twice as we were self catering however when we did the food and service were very good. Step climb but worth it for the views.
I can imagine that in high season this hotel will be very busy and loud. See earlier reviews. The problem here is not the hotel but the brainless and rude British teens.
Comments re quad bikes are valid as even now the roads are busy with them so goodness knows what it would be like in high season.
Would return here if coming back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great place to stay had a fab time staff very friendley
room's load of space two balcones. maids very friendley clean towels and sheets three to four times a week. two swiming pool with pool bar over all very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea, south wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

lovely apts(esp when you get free air con,dont ask it was on when we arrived)pool was great with fantastic views all around,plenty of sun beds,the whole place was very clean ,the bar and shop were a tad expensive compared to stalis strip and im sure if they put on a happy hour more people would use it.i love crete and stalis is a fantastic place to go for couples with lovely bars and restaurants with a great beach,would i go to koni again the answer would have to be no simply becouse of the walk back from town,we met lovely people there who go year after year but that hill done me,saying that if it was cheap enough as it was this year who knows

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Koni Village for 2 weeks in August it was brilliant you didn't ave to worry about getting a sun lounger there is more than enough for everyone the staff are very friendly as the Greeks always are. The ladies in the shop are fantastic. Would definitely stay at the Koni again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We staid in one of Koni Village rooms for 7 nights. We were 5 people, 4 adults and a 4 year old child. We prepaid everything true a travel agency. The reception was not able to give us 2 rooms in the same building, so, that we had one room on the top of the hill, the other room exactly near the small pool. As we entered, we saw, that the room was not properly cleaned. It was a small room, no natural sunlight, extremely small windows. On the floor and under the bed a lot of hair from other clients. I called the reception and told them, nothing changed in the following days either. The cleaning lady came, took the towels every 2 days, but cleaning of the room never happened. Especially the bathroom was extremely dirty. As we entered first, we saw, that there was only 1 soap available (small hotel specific soap). We used it and starting with the 3rd day we didn't got another soap. On the 5th day i called the reception and they sent us another small soap :)) In the other room which my parents got up on the hill, everything was OK, cleaning as well...... I was dissapointed, but seeing the other rooms, I was thinking, we had bad luck and got a bad room. The rest of the services were excellent, pools were clean, food was good, prices at the bar ok.

Room Tip: Do not accept any of the rooms from the reception building and be explicit, that you need a clean ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koni Village

Address: Eleyth.Venizelou, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#14 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Koni Village 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koni Village Hotel Stalis
Koni Village Stalís
Koni Village Hotel Stalís
Crete Koni Village
Koni Village Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.