We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anak Toro Africa Bar

Anak Toro Africa Bar
AG. Ioanni str. | Beach Road, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 60 Restaurants in Stalis
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, International, Grill
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Place is shabby and falling to bits. And beer prices are a rip off.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    0
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good location for a drink or snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Location is great, right by the beach. I only stayed for a drink as it was early, but what food I saw looked good, as was the service.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So good we came here THREE times in a fortnight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Usually my family and I try not to return to a restaurant, simply to ensure we experience as many in the area as possible whilst we are there! However, this restaurant was incredible; the food was fantastic (my mum, dad and brother particularly loved the chicken/pig on a spit), the service was so friendly it was faultless and there was no rush whatsoever to finish and leave. The range of food available was great, myself having the Greek salad twice in the three nights and a lovely pasta the other. The staff go out of their way to ensure you are happy, it is right by the beach and the view of the sunset is perfection. A must!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food heaven by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011 via mobile

Great food served by very friendly staff in a lovely location overlooking the beach. We had the best meal of the holiday here and not only was the food and wine very gods, it was also great value for money. It's definitely worth a walk into town to eat here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

To be honest we were initially attracted by the offer of a free bottle of wine with our meal and we're very pleased we were! Our group comprised 4 adults and one child andthe staff made us feel very welcome. The food was very good, especially the sanganaki starters and the kleftico main course which was delighful - a meal in itself! The resturant has an elevated position overlooking the beach so the views are super. We enjoyed our meal so much that we returned a few days later and if anything it was even better second time around. A special thank you to Roland, our waiter, who was an entertaining and generous host, taking particular care to ensure that the child was happy with his food and drinks.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anak Toro Africa Bar also viewed

Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Anak Toro Africa Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anak Toro Africa Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.