We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“irilena is excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irilena Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Irilena Apartments to your Saves list
Irilena Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Stalis, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Milan, Italy
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“irilena is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed there twice, and both times we had a wonderful time at Irilena. The place is lovely, quiet and lively at once, the sea is fantastic and the girls of the aparthotel are extremely available... The rooms are very nice and clean, equipped with everyting you can need for your stay, and particularly close to the wonderful cretan beaches. I suggest you all to visit Irilena, you'll enjoy your stay thanks to the beauty of this wonderful island and to the warmth that Irini and Lenia (the owners) show you any timw you need their help... We'll definitely go again to Irilena, sooner or later!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed 11 days (end of august) at Irilena Apartments and everything went very well from the beginning to the end ! The owners are really nice people and very helpful.

We had a room for two, very clean and spacious with sea view. The towels were changed quite often, we never had any problems.
The pool is also clean and there are many seats with umbrellas beside, you can either relax or play with the water games availables !

This is a quiet place, only 5 minutes walk from the center where you can find many restaurants, shops and beaches !
There is a bus station very close to Irilena. If you want to move out of Stalis, buses come about every 15 minutes for the different directions, this is easy and not expensive.

Every good thing has an end, we would have stayed longer if we could, we had a great time !
A lovely place that we won’t forget !
Sylvie&Cris

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

When you go on holiday you always say i'd like to go back there,well this is one place i really will go back to.Irilena appartments are run by Irini and Lenia who are very welcoming and will go out of their way to make you welcolme and help with any problems you may have.We have had many Greek holidays and this place is in the tops the rooms are cleaned reguarly and the towels changed as well ( they missed our towels one day and didnt have any clean ones so went out and bought us some brand new ones "thanks Irini").The pool is a reasonable size and kept exceptionally clean with plenty of sunbeds set in a good position so you can have shade or sun all day depending on your choice.Irilena appartments are about 5 minutes walk from Stalis beach road which is the main drag near enough to walk home after a night in the bars or far enough away for a quiet nights sleep,check out Kaliana bar friendly and welcoming say hello to Jan & Mel.
On the beach jet skis,banana boats and para gliding with plenty of sunbeds about 2e each per day the vendors dog wanders round for a fuss and stroke along with the doughnut man selling his goods. If you fancy a massage there are a few Chinese masseuses wanderng the beach not sure if they do "extras" though!
Loads of good places to eat, difficult to say which are best Creta , El Greco and Pegasus (for breakfast)are some of the best
Also go to Katarina (on the end of the road to Irilena App )Dont have a huge menu but what they do they do well.
Back to the Irilenas apartments they are hard to fault but if i was to say anything i would say the bar area could be developed to benefit both the owners and holiday makers.I could see the pool at night with a lit up floating fountain and guests sat round enjoying a drink listening to local music and maybe Freda would come and sit on your Knee.
But hey thats just me Alan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent two weeks at the Irilena Apartments in Stalis in August 2011. They are very good value with a nice pool, and well-located, being in a quiet spot but only 5 minutes gentle walk to the main beach road, with the beach itself another minute or so. It’s about 250 yards to the bus stop on the main road, for transfers to & from the airport and services to Iraklio, Hersonnissos, Malia, Agios Nicolaos etc. You walk up a short leafy lane to the apartments (where there is room to park a hire car if you have one). The immediate surroundings are a mixture of small fields and other apartments, and looking inland you can see the nearby hills.

There are two types of apartments – the older ones (Irilena 1, which we stayed in) are on three floors I think. They are approached via a narrow paved area around the side of the apartments, which is nicely planted (but it is not really a “garden” as the website suggests). If you are on the ground floor (apartments 1, 3, 5 and 9) you have direct access to this paved area, with just enough room to set up tables & chairs for 4 people to eat (other residents may walk past you, as you do not have a private outside space, but that really wasn’t a problem to us). No.1 is closest to the pool (just a few steps around the corner), the others are slightly further, but still have easy access to the pool, and as you go on to Nos. 3, 5 & finally 9, the privacy increases a bit. The upstairs apartments (accessed via. outside stairs) have balconies which would be suitable for 2 people to eat. Our apartment was quite small (two rooms of about 4x4.5 and 4x3.5 metres), and basic. It had a living room / kitchenette with two single sofabeds, a coffee table, a kitchen table with chairs, two small electric hobs and a sink. There was an effective air conditioning unit in the living area, but not in the separate twin bedroom (which had a lockable safe). At least in our apartment, none of the beds were huge, and they might not suit a very tall person. The toilet / shower room is quite small and basic, and as in many other places the shower can wet the whole room because there is no door or curtain for it. All part of being in Greece!

The other apartments (Irilena 2) are built near the pool. We had a quick look, and they are newer and quite a lot bigger inside. Although there is space for four, there is no separate bedroom - just one big room. Most have a balcony which would seat 3 at most, although the three ground-floor units have a bigger terrace (one at the front next to the pool / reception, and two at the back accessed through reception).

The pool is not huge, but is very pleasant and kept beautifully clean. During our first week there were just one or two Dutch couples and we had it almost to ourselves, but in the second week it got busier with a larger group of English holidaymakers (though you could still get a sunbed). There’s a simple reception area with a bar, but it’s only really to get daytime drinks if you’re using the pool, and not the sort of place you would spend any time.

Bed linen & towels were changed every couple of days. The accommodation is run by a very helpful and friendly local family, and Irini is the best person to contact if you need to speak English! Arrival & departure dates are flexible. You can book direct, and there is a website (http://irilenaapartments.freshcreator.com/eng/home). You may get a discount on the rates shown if you book a longer stay, and you should find that you can get the air conditioning and safe included at no extra cost.

In summary, we felt that the Irilena Apartments offered good basic accommodation with a nice pool, very well-located if you want to be in Stalis, and at an excellent price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Irilena are very nice apartments - basic but clean.
For a couple seeking a get away from it all base to relax they are perfect - but were a little too quiet for our young daughters as we were often the only people round the pool. Part of the fun of their holiday is making new friends with other children but there just wasn't an opportunity for this.
There is a small pool bar but often this is not open until mid afternoon and you sometimes have to go searching for someone to serve you. That being said the family who run the apartments are delightful people, very friendly and helpful.
If you enjoy a pool based holiday where you don't have to move far for drinks and snacks then maybe the Irilena are not for you. But if you are seeking a quiet retreat without noisy kids junping in and out of the pool all day they are perfect!
I would certainly return to the Irilena - they are in an ideal location for all the local bars and restaurants - just a five minute stroll but far enough away for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We did have a great holiday in Stalis but had really mixed feelings about this hotel. We've stayed in Greek hotels numerous times and know to expect basic standards but this was sold as a 3* and we normally stay in 2* so we thought it would be a little better than it turned out to be.

We stayed in a studio room on the top floor which was very spacious with plenty of cupboard space and a decent balcony. The room was sold to us by Olympic Holidays as a garden view room but we would describe it as waste land! The location was excellent, just far enough to be away from any noise but only a few minutes to the beach, restaurants and shops. The pool area was clean and suprisingly quiet for peak season with no trouble getting a sunbed.

On the downside, the rooms were only cleaned once during our week long stay and that was on the second day so for the rest of the time we had no clean towels or sheets and the bins weren't emptied. Although the studio was self-catering it had only very basic cooking equipment and utensils so although we never intended to cook whilst on holiday it would have been a struggle. We found that the reception area, which doubled up as a pool bar/snack bar was very rarely manned and the staff never smiled! It was impossible to get hold of any staff after about 7pm.

The worst problem for us though was the noise from banging doors echoing through the corridors - not necessarily through people being inconsiderate, it's just a very echoey place so take ear plugs!! Apparently those staying in the apartments rather than the studios did not experience this problem as they have external access. We only found this out late in the week otherwise we would have asked to move, which we realised many of the other guests had done.

Overall a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We always go to this Lovely hotel,It is very clean,has an excellent pool,Well stocked bar,The owners are really helpful and lovely.The rooms are cleaned regularly,The nightlife is excellent,as are the resturants.What is also brilliant is that everything including the beach are about 5mins away,It suits couples and familys but also single people.At night its just far enough tucked down a well lite road for you to also get a good nights sleep.we love it and after many years going all over greece finally have found a hotel we always want to go back to.Its a paradise waiting to be discovered and many guest return year after year.have a great time everyone love chris and teri

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irilena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irilena Apartments

Address: Stalis, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Irilena Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Stalis! Irilena Hotel and apartments is offering good value for money accommodation services since 1990. Irilena is a family owned hotel, located in the bay of Stalis or Stalida, as it is locally known. The hotel has been dedicated to serve holidays of pleasure and relaxation since 1990. Irilena is committed to spread Cretan hospitality and summer spirit. The long sandy beach of Stalis, that is almost 300 meters far from Irilena hotel, promises you carefree bathing in the Aegean Sea. Sunbathe around the pool with your family or your partner, plan your trips along the island of Crete with our help and forget about the cost of your holidays.We would like to offer low cost accommodation but high level of memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Irilena Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irilena Apartments Hotel Stalis
Irilena Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irilena Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.