We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But more like 4.5 Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Village Resort to your Saves list
Blue Sea Village Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Irinis Stalida, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece (Formerly Aquis Blue Sea Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Kfar Saba, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location But more like 4.5 Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is generally a good hotel, with an excellent beach right in front.
The food of the all-inclusive service is nice but get's kind of monotonous and boring vey quickly due to lack in diversity. the free cocktails, snacks and drinks do make up for some of it.
Standard rooms are pretty spacious if you're a couple, but families should be advised to pay the extra for a family room or junior suite.
The pool is nice though a little small - but for kids it's more than enough.
The best part is the friendly and helpful service by the entire staff.
Location is nice with the town of Stalis right next to the hotel with a pleasant street to walk along.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    136
    53
    18
    4
See reviews for
151
163
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice well maintained with very polite and helpfull staff.It is a holiday resort. location is in stalida on the beach and very close to some shops and restaurants and pubs. it is not a hotel with long corridors and doors. it is with small buildings of 8 rooms each and all is very quiet.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice with balcony and well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came with moderate expectations after reading the reviews on this site. The food was greasy, bland and repetitive. One seafood dish caused an upset stomach and the most was the food was clearly not fresh (they pour sugar water one dry cakes to "freshen them up" and serve yesterday's chicken in a salad). The staff is very skimpy, as a policy- they refuse to give a banana for a napping toddler that missed lunch, claiming that there were none left- but served bananas for supper!
The room was clean, but our shower flooded and we had to use all the towels to soak all the water. Our calls to reception were ignored until we went up and loudly complained. We had to wait outside our room for 45 min until they fixed it.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel was nice and clean.

The room was quite cramped and we struggled to find places to put the suitcases, however they were the best decorated rooms I've stayed in whilst in Greece.

We travelled in May and the weather was a disappointment the pools were too cold to use, however they were small for the size of the hotel. They few sunbeds were limited to a grassy area which I disliked, I would of much preferred them to be on a clean tiled surface.

The all inclusive drinks was a lot nicer than expected.

The food was plentiful and the salads, etc was lovely. However the main courses were just okay and with little variety. The other major point that really disappointed me was the lack of snacks, usually at all inclusive you can order pizza or chips by the pool; this wasn't available and the only food available by the pool was ice cream.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Blue Sea is a nice hotel. It isn't great, nor a 5 star by any means. My family and I stayed there for 3 nights August 26-29 and had mixed feelings about our experience.

Starting with the Good:
1. The hotel and it's surroundings were really quite beautiful! It was extremely Green and blooming, the grass was soft and beautiful, the rooms were designed as little stone-covered cottages, the porches were really nice and everything felt private.
2. The beach is wonderful. Aside from the fact you need to pay for your seats, the water were clean, it was sandy and soft and there was a lot of water-sport activities available to purchase--not cheaply, as usual.
3. The location of the hotel is wonderful. Only a few steps from the beach, quick drive from the airport, and surrounded with little bars and stores.
4. Private pool rooms were quite nice, also some of the garden view ones.

Now for the Bad:
1. Food was not good. I must admit I've seen worst, but this was neither a 5 nor a 4 star hotel food. It was under seasoned, poor in selection, repetitive, basic as it can be, not tasty and just a waste of calories, everything was watery and tasteless.
2. All inclusive was a bad one. Very specific hours for EVERYTHING. You couldn't just get what you wanted when you wanted it, different areas were opened at different times of the day and you had to run around to find a drink or snack.
3. Alcohol was BAD, both due to the fact that it was of inferior quality and also for its small selection. One draft beer, weird tasting/looking wines and food-colored cocktails. Don't drink anything but the beer.
4. The pool was small and ugly. Don't count on it.
5. The staff was partially nice and partially hostile and unhelpful. On the whole, nearly all were just unhappy.
6. The rooms, basic as they were, looked nice, but the towels weren't replaced daily, nor were the toilet papers, which ran out and were not refilled. We also did not receive any kinds of bath products, namely like little bottles of shampoo's, body soap and the like..
7. The TV was TINY. Really
8. Wifi was working in 10% of the hotel/rooms and was extremely slow--again, don't count on it at all.
9. Double beds were two singles that were placed together with barley any beddings on them, just a white bed sheet; a couple cannot not sleep together properly (!). Extremely unromantic and uncomfortable.
10. There was no coffee kit/kettle in our rooms and the fridge barely worked.

All and all it is a nice place if you don't like to eat/drink good. If you are careless about about goes into you're belly you might really enjoy this place. It's really quite and peaceful, the beach is beautiful and the staff were partially nice. The location is great, also. I, however, adore good food and cannot tolerate bad alcohol. This place is not cheap,yet it's not extremely expensive and I guess for an "all inclusive" the price is good, but we did not use all inclusive anything, went drinking outside the hotel at night and are very basic food, bought our own body lotion,shampoos and coffee, and basically ignored most of the amenities--like the pool. I recommend this for people/families who are aware of the fact that this is all pretty standard, clean and quite **ok** place to stay. I enjoyed the surroundings, the porch, and the overall calmness that this hotel brings about. I would not recommend this to people who prefer quality over quantity. I did not dislike my stay at all, it was and nothing was truly miserable, but I will probably try a different place next time I visit Crete.

I hope this long longgggg review was helpful.

Room Tip: the "sea view" rooms we got were really far away from everything and were mostly "roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay & have mixed feelings about this hotel. On the one hand the staff, Giorgio & his team in the main bar, Mike & Steve at the pool bar, the lovely waitresses in the restaurant, the friendly animation team, & not forgetting the bell boy Arthur were absolutely fantastic! They work tirelessly, always with a smile & a great sense of humour & really made our holiday fun!
On the other hand we were one of the unlucky ones to draw the short straw & ended up in the complex which is a short walk down the street & not on the hotel grounds. The room was adequate & as it was fairly large, cool & quiet & we didn't mind the walk, so we decided to stay put (even though there was no "garden view" as promised...just a wall but hey, ho, how much time do you spend in your room!) However speaking to a lot of Brits at the hotel, the management seems to put a high proportion of people from the UK there first until they complain & get moved. The rooms vary a great deal which for a 5* they should all be of a high standard but they are not. If you get given anything in the 600 range, beware, you're not on site! The rooms are cleaned daily & equipped with TV, hair dryer, fridge, safe (free), soap & shower gel & you also receive a complimentary bottle of wine, 2x bottles of water & a bowl of fruit. The hotel provide you with beach towels which you get from the pool bar between 10-13:00 daily with a 10e refundable deposit per towel.
Another, downside is they have a ridiculous rule that you are only allowed to put your sun beds on a very small strip of grass overlooking the sea on one side of the path. There is plenty more room on the grass on other side of the path but this is "reserved" for sea view apartments (no signs/fences to indicate this though!) This means that you have to get up at 6am if you want one of the few sunbeds which overlooks the sea. The whole point of being in a sea view hotel, is to be able to enjoy the view! The rest of the sunbeds are all dotted around the on the grass in gardens however there is no view apart from walls (which feels no different to sunbathing in your own back garden!) You are also not allowed to put your sunbeds on a prime position top patio overlooking the pool & sea so this area is empty & not utilised as it should be (I can't see any reason for this apart it looking neater from the road if you are driving past?) The pool is pleasant but small for the size of the hotel.
The food is adequate, there is always a nice choice of salad/desserts at lunch & dinner, however the main courses are limited & repetitive ( again not 5*). You are not able to help yourself to wine/beer which means that when it's very busy you not are served your drinks until you have nearly finished your meal. This is not the waitresses fault however, it's just that the system breaks down somewhat when there are a lot of people & in high season I can imagine it's worse. The breakfast has a good choice with cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, pancakes,pastries, excellent tea & coffee. We ate once in the a la carte restaurant (one visit is included in your stay) & consisted of a 5 course meal which was a lovely experience with smashing views over the beach.
The all inclusive drinks package is great, the beer is quality, the wine is very drinkable & the choice of alcoholic cocktails really good with the measures being very generous! (All inclusive stops at 11pm & would be better if it finished at 12am or later for a 5*)The bar staff are so much fun, with great service and they always bring you salted popcorn & peanuts to accompany your drink which is a nice touch.
The location is superb, across a quiet road is a lovely beach with water sports & sunbeds (however these are all payable separately) The hotel is situated at the start of a long road which has bars, restaurants, car/trip hire & good range of shops which will lead you into Malia after about 25 mins. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel reception on the main road which has a regular public bus service to the airport for a very reasonable 3.60e & takes about 45 mins (handy to know if you haven't got pre arranged transfers as we paid 45e for a taxi from the airport to the hotel one way!)

We had a really great holiday experience because Stalis is a nice place to stay & because of all the fantastic people that we got to know both working & staying in the hotel, but not actually because of the hotel itself. All in all, if this hotel classed itself as a more realistic 3 or 4* we would have given a very good or excellent rating, however when they bill themselves as 5* you have higher expectations which unfortunately this hotel did not meet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam Moshava, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just return from a vacation in this hotel and I would like to recommend it. It's a beautiful place
the food was excellent, the staff was incredible and made as feel at home. I would like to mentioned Mr, Georgis ( the manager of the dining room) who always was ready to help us. Also I would like to mentioned the people that work at the reception, they were very friendly and gave us all the information needed.
Finally a word to the place, it;s just beautiful go for it
Luis Rosenthal
Israel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Village Resort

Address: Irinis Stalida, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece (Formerly Aquis Blue Sea Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stalis
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#12 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Sea Village Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious recently renovated Aquis Blue Sea Resort & Spa stands on the magnificent beach of Stalida. The redefinition of vacation. Modern and accessible, confortable and surprising, diachronic and elegant Aquis Blue Sea Resort & Spa is a part of a new generation of vacation inspired to exceed expectations... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Blue Sea Resort And Spa
Aquis Blue Sea Hotel Stalis
Blue Sea Village Resort Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.