We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect hostess.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knossos Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Knossos Studios to your Saves list
Knossos Studios
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Ulaf Palme | Stalis, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect hostess.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the Knossos Studios for two weeks in October 2012 and could not have been happier. Elena (the owner) is a lovely, lovely lady who did everything she could to make our stay enjoyable. Elena is the perfect hostess and genuinely cares for her customers. Her English is exemplary and she gaves us loads of invaluable advise about things to do and (especially) the best places to eat. She also, very kindly, let us keep our room (at no extra charge) until our 8pm pick-up on our departure day, which we were extremely grateful for. The room itself was basic (as you would expect in Greece) but more than adequate and always very clean. A few reviewers have mentioned the showers, but they really aren't a problem if you go with the flow (no pun intended). All the rooms have balconies which get the sun in the afternoon and we spent many happy early evenings enjoying our's. We also liked the location of the Studios, it's far enough away from the main drag to be comparitively quiet. But also it's only two doors down from what we considered to be Stallis' best restaurant (Taverna Kotsos), where we ate four times and adored it every time. You could pay a lot more to stay in Stalis and get a lot less than you do at Knossos Studios. Highly, highly recommended.

One small piece of advise if you are travelling to Stalis from Iraklion Airport.....take a taxi (about 25Euro each way), we pre-arranged bus travel (about 20Euro return) and it was absolutely soul-destroying. The bus took two and a half hours on the the way (dropping off at every resort), a taxi will take 30mins. One of our fellow guests had emailed Elena before they arrive and she had (apparently) sent a taxi for them. I would gladly pay the extra if I went back, or walk!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
49
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have just come back from two weeks in Knossos. There are about 30 rooms here, a pool and a pool bar. The rooms are very clean and tidy and are changed every two days, or sometimes it was every day. Each room has a fridge with freezer compartment, kettle, cups mugs and glasses. It also comes with washing up liquid and a sponge, handwash in the bathroom. The free wifi was amazing! The only downer was the shower doesnt have a holder, so you have to hold the shower in one hand whilst you wash - this is so annoying! However it doesnt affect my rating of this place because just about all places in Greece dont have a shower holder.

Overall, excellent place, excellent friendly service, it is only a couple of mins walk to the beach and all the shops restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: rooms 2, 4, 6 and 8 are on the ground floor so you cant leave the patio doors open (to avoid chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I loved every minute of my stay here. The rooms are loevly, spacious, clean and tidy. bethroom was small but clean, We had a really great balcony too which was great to come back to at night when it was too hot to sleep, noise wasnt too much of an issue but i'd be lying if i didnt say the Germans at Fan Apts. across the road didnt annoy me with their screeching!
The pool was lovely and felt really private :) never a problem getting a sunbed as there's only ever a few guests as this is a small family-run hotel. the hotel itself is clean and looks beautiful and appealing.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, Her name was Elena, good english and will do her best to help you out :)
I'd come back every year, i can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

alan and i have spent many a few years living at knossos,elena and her mum and dad are the most beautifull people you could meet,they make you feel so welcome,so much so that when you leave you feel so emotional,like its leaving the family..we highly recomend knossos for your stay at stalis..
hope to be there this year....xxx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

just booked a last minute holiday with travel republic to stalis. we have been a few times already but 1st time in these apts. they are looked after by elana the owner and she is brill. will do anything 4 u. rooms are like most places in greece. basic. but everything u need for a self catering holiday. they are very central for all the shops restuarants and bars. couple of minutes to beach. had fab weather all week. would definately recommend these apts and would definately go back

Room Tip: we had top floor rooms which got the sun on balcony till 7pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Travelling on a budget, I am used to some poor hotels. This is not one of them. I am unable to find any faults, although there are possible improvements - the staircases would not meet British health and safety regs and were quite awkward - the handrail being at an inappropriate height. 100 yards from the beach road, 50 from the Old National Highway, and in early May traffic noise was not a problem. The beds are a little on the narrow side - about 75cm - but the mattress was very comfortable. There is a supermarket next door (Venus) and a traditional greek restaurant just beyond that. The ATM is on the beach road, just right from the end of the road (say 150 yards).

I would recommend these studios to anyone on a tight budget, although they may not be suitable for the severely mobility-impaired.

Room Tip: Unless you have mobility problems avoid the ground floor, which is about 8 steps down from street le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A very welcoming hotel, friendly and helpful, A nice sized private pool, with Pool bar area. self catering rooms. which are ideal. Near to all amenities - walking distance. You will be guaranteed a great comfortable stay here.

Room Tip: Near to some lovely Restaurants and bars, very short walk to lovelybeach, shops etc. Bus stop nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knossos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knossos Studios

Address: 9 Ulaf Palme | Stalis, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knossos Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knossos Studios are a family run complex of 15 bright and airy studios in the heart of Stalis, which is situated between the famous resorts of Malia and Hersonissos.Not far from Heraklion International Airport and the port of Heraklion, just 32 Km to the east.Studios are just few steps away from the splendid 4km long sandy beach, offering spacious studios, furnished with all modern amenities,with a pool, in a calm and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knossos Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knossos Studios Crete/Stalis, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knossos Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.