We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Art Deco style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aris Hotel to your Saves list
Aris Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paleochora, Paleochora, Crete 73001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at Art Deco style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Our double room upstairs looked over the lush garden and we were on level with the climbing bell flowers and the bees. We loved the lush garden that surround and interweaves with the hotel. Our upstairs room was lovely with small fridge but large shower. Breakfast of fresh orange juice, figs, cheese, cake and so much more was delicious. Free use of laptop and printer and helping when tyre flattened by pot hole were generous extras. We will come back, hopefully got longer. Karen and Daniel

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

A lovely hotel with unique modernist architecture or certainly unlike the usual boxy concrete buildings you find here. Room 29 had small balcony overhung with ivy looking into garden. Cool and airy and quiet. Do book breakfast buffet which is extensive and had orange cake. Manager v helpful. Lots of idiosyncratic artworks sprinkled around the hotel and even the carpark. A really special little hotel

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eidsvoll Municipality, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a month this summer! Fantastic place! Nice room, i had sea view! And the service was great! The location was also great, just 10 minutes to the sandy beach, and 5 minutes to the town! All in all i place i will recommend for all my friends!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is located at the end of a road...next stop Libyan Sea (!) so is very quiet but just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Paleochora where all the action takes place. I stayed in a newly refurbished room which was small but had every comfort and a modern bathroom. The owners are almost always present with big smiles and typical Greek hospitality. A real gem that I wouldn't hesitate recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Aris for 8 nights (£28pn room only twin, booked through Booking.com). It is situated at the far southern end of the town, near the harbour, about 10 minutes walk from the bus stop, and around the same distance to the beach via the town centre. In such a small town, this is not “remote” but it does make for a quieter location. This was our second visit to Palaeochora, and we have stayed at the Aris on both occasions. Whilst just a 2 Star hotel, it is an unusual Art Nouveau-ish design and has genuine character. It seems to be something of a labour of love for the owners, who have decorated the rooms and exterior in a quirky fashion with seashells, pebbles & bits of carved driftwood etc, and a pretty garden. The hotel is clean & comfortable although the rooms are fairly small; ours had a mini-bar style fridge, a balcony with a somewhat obstructed sea view, and free Wifi that actually worked well in the room most of the time. It had recently been tastefully redecorated & the bathroom particularly was very smart (also quite small) with a decent shower. While our booking did not include breakfast, the owner said we were welcome to help ourselves if we wished; however, we prefer to take the short walk each day to the Almyrida Cafe just down the road – the perfect location for a tranquil start to the day. Staying at the Aris is one of the pleasures of a visit to Palaeochora, & I’m sure we will go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with balcony on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a room with a partial sea view from the balcony. The room was nice, clean, quiet and had a well-working airconditioning. Bed was with 'semi-hard' mattress (not in a negative sense unless you are used to soft ones).
Breakfast was good including coffee, bread, natural youghurt, fresh cherries, cereals, fresh orange juice etc.
Staff was really nice and helpful. We would choose the hotel again for the next visit to Paleochora.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place had great stats here on tripadvisor and it was ok. Ok but far from good. Sure we booked an economy room so we did not expect much. The room had zero windows, not even a small one. It was like a garage. Beds ok and it was not dirty so as stated ok but not more. It is not far from the restaurants (600 meters or so) but that is as far as you can get from them here.
If you are looking for a low cost sleepover as we did It's fine. If you plan to stay longer take a more expensive room or another venue.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aris Hotel

Address: Paleochora, Paleochora, Crete 73001, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aris hotel is a 2 star hotel since 1988,on the old town,5 min.walk from the centre.Amphitheatrically built, offers view to the sea and our bloomy gardens! 25 rooms with terrace or balcony,air-condition ,free wi-fi, fridge & telephone.You can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet in the morning and cool down with an evening drink at the open-air lounge. We provide internet facilities and comfortable parking! Our hospitality, a nice and quiet environment, the hotel aesthetics, promise unforgettable holidays… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aris Hotel Paleochora, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.