We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime IOS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IOS Paleochora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paleochora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IOS Paleochora
Save
You added IOS Paleochora to your Saves list
1st km of road Paleochora - Anydri, Paleochora, Crete 73001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Paleochora B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sublime IOS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I spent a very happy 4 weeks in room 3 during June 2013. The room and location were superb. I relished the stillness, silence and solitude also the constant gifts of raki, wine, olive oil and tomatoes provided by the extremely generous owners. I usually drove round to the sandy beach if the wind was OK but inevitably ended the evening on the house beach to catch those final rays. Self catering was simple with the facilities provided and the Kantina at the campsite provided an excellent cretan salad and very cold mythos! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking the sea are the ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

On the beach but with a "countryside" feel,a tree-lined drive to the parking space, a very friendly welcome from Kyria Olga, with wine and (very good) raki as an arrival gift. Exterior - looks old; but don't be put off. Our room was very attractively decorated, spacious with a sea-view balcony; tranquil, peaceful. 10 minute walk into Paleochora, short drive to the beautiful Anidri beach, lovely country walks accompanied by the resident dog! Lots too, of resident cats - all friendly but if, like me, you are cat-allergic, necessary constantly to deter their entry to room!

Room Tip: Upstairs, sea-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visselhovede, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for one night at the IOS as a start of a trip around the island in April. The owners living on site were very friendly and welcoming, the room was absolutely great. We had a room in the first floor with balcony and seaview which seemed to be brand new (or freshly renovated). The room was well equipped with everything you need (incl. air condition, TV, small kitchen and fridge), and we received nice homemade white wine and raki as welcome gifts. The sea is only a few metres away. Funny thing: The family dog accompanied us when we were walking to the center of Paleochora for dinner (only a few minutes walk). We can definitely recommend this place and will come again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the first floor with seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

i love crete and here in Paleochora i always have the feeling to relax the family is very friendly
and to the beach i need a few seconds. The mountains the see the air, and this nice place is good for my health. i am here for more than 20 years, its always nice, they have nice organic olive oil too and also tasty wine so i go again in a few days from hamburg to paleochora to ios.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have been staying in Paleochora for over 25 years, and only found IOS rooms 3 years ago! But it was worth the wait!
The rooms are basic Cretan style, but the views from the front rooms are spectacular.
IOS is about a kilometre out of the village, but it a lovely walk at any time of day.
The owner lives on site, and thank goodness for that as he is the most generous person ever with his vegetables, olive oil and home made wines.
You feel as though you are staying with the family here as everyone makes you so welcome, and it is a taste of real Cretan life.
If you want peace and quiet, the simple life with the attractions of sea view, beach with loungers at the end of your garden this is for you.
Fantastic value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is the third time (and definitely not the last time) we stayed in this wonderful property.

Paleochora is only 7-10 minutes walk away from the apartments. The location is superb, really quiet, the whole place is covered in green and view to the sea is marvelous.

The rooms are clean and tidy, equipped with everything that you will need. We were lucky again to stay in room 2, which is upstairs and offers front sea view from inside and balcony with front-sea view.

The beach was quiet and clean as always.....

The price of the room was at least reasonable (if not cheap...)

Try these apartments if you want to avoid Paleochora's overcrowded center (specially in August) in order to secure a safe parking for your car.

We look forward to visit this place again (hopefully next year....)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have found these rooms via Internet and made an e-booking for our stay in August 2012. We have been really surprised by the modern services of this small and hospitable family hotel. What we have appreciated a lot was the honesty of the owners about what we should expect and what we are going to see. It is an often fact to be surprised by something completely different than you have booked. Expected, since the owner confessed that they are working for years with foreign tourism; Yes, Paleochora is an international destination!

But more for the rooms; They are clean, spacious, fully equipped with A/C, fridge, kitchen, safe and an amazing balcony view to the shore. Bottles of local wine, raki and oil were on the table at the time of our arrival, along with a promise that everything we would need, our kind people be happy to help.

The hotel is located in a quite neighborhood of Paleochora within a small forest, and it 'owns' a private beach. The waters are crystal clear, ultra cold and refreshing, and your definitely gonna count how many times a day you can dive!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IOS Paleochora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IOS Paleochora

Address: 1st km of road Paleochora - Anydri, Paleochora, Crete 73001, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find our rooms in the east side of Paleochora right next to the sea. You follow the road to Anydri and you turn right in the first bridge you will meet. In our place you will appreciate the natural beauty and the Silence of the Sea ... more   less 
Also Known As:
IOS Paleochora Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IOS Paleochora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.