We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manto Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manto Studios to your Saves list
Manto Studios
Athanasiou Diakou 1, Paleochora, Crete 73001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had b&b accommodation and it really was perfect, the room was lovely, Manto had painted the decorations herself, the breakfast was fantastic, we didn't go for breakfast one morning as we were up early to walk the Samaria Gorge and Manto's husband made us a packed breakfast to take with us such a nice gesture and there was plenty in the pack. Try this accommodation if you are staying in Paleochora you won't regret it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having just arrived back from Paleochora we can only say that Manto Studios is without a doubt THE best place we have ever stayed!

When we arrived in Paleochora which was after midnight, Manto came to meet and greet us and showed us to our wonderful apartment. It was enormous - bright, clean and airy.

Every morning for breakfast the array of food to choose from was vast with something for every taste. Manto's husband Nikos was always cheerful and gave us some good restaurant tips - all of which were excellent. Both Maria and Meera were warm and pleasant at all times.

The location of Manto Studios is great as you are more or less between the sandy beach and the stoney beach (which we favoured). Also for restaurants, the majority of our favourites were very close.

All in all the staff, location, décor, breakfasts etc added to the whole enjoyment of our 2 weeks in beautiful Paleochora. Many thanks to you all!

Will we return? Without a doubt!!!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Manto's studios provided us with everything we needed for fabulous stay in Paleochora. As we got off the bus from Chania we were right at Manto's. Breakfast was really delicious and so varied - homemade jams and cakes plus fruit, cheese, eggs, bacon and sausage. The staff were so polite, helpful and welcoming and the rooms so well equipped. When we arrived we found a bottle of wine and some fruit in the room and sat on the balcony and enjoyed them. Manto's is just 2 minutes from the beach and all the fantastic restaurants available in this lovely place. Her studio next door is full of her art work and is well worth a visit! Great value and a perfect holiday spot. There is also a roof top garden with sun loungers for visitors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped here for coffee a few times and were always impressed that we got a piece of cake or halva as well. On our last day we went for the buffet breakfast and the cost (E6 pp) was very good. We in fact stayed longer than we intended as it rained. The only time in the fortnight we were there! Very very good!!!
We didn't stay here, just used the cafe. However if the rest of the hotel is organised as well as the cafe it should be great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Manto stuidios has it all at amazing value.

-Fantastic location (metres from bus station and short walk to beaches on both sides of Paleochora.
- Great breakfast included at Manto cafe.
- Beautiful room with decorations all painted by Manto herself (she also has a gallery on the same property) and my room had a private balcony.
- Sensational roof terrace where you can laze away on deckchairs.
- Great staff. On the evening before my checkout they even left a breakfast in my room as I was taking the very early bus to Chania.

Thank you Manto for a great stay. I look forward to returning.

Even if you decide not to stay at the hotel, you can have the buffet breakfast for a measly 6 euro at Manto cafe (on t he same property). Ridiculously low price for what's available

PS: If you are looking for a walk to do other than the usual ones (say if its too windy to get to Elafonissi beach), there is a very nice walk from Karvopetra (not sure about spelling) beach which is about halfway between Paleochora and Gialos to the west. The walk is marked with blue markers but not always clearly so does require some direction finding ability. There are two entrancesm, one with great views of the coast but harder (I went that way ont he way back) and the other which rises up along the gorge until you are walking on the rim of the gorge. Both ways eventually merge into one. I finished it at a gorgeous little church...the path became VERY hard shortly after and did not have proper equipment (though I did try but the stinging plants were getting at my legs - I had shorts on). Bring plenty of water.

PSS: If you are on a strict food budget, you can get very cheap but VERY good food at Everest Grill...the Gyros there are around 3E and so far are the best I've had, even better than the ones at restaurants I've tried.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3 and it was very spacious for a solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything you read about Manto Studios on the previous reviews is so so true. This place is so perfect for families, for couples, for everyone. We stayed just nor night and wished we had more time to spend. Definitely would go back there. Have a look at the nearby art gallery run by Manto herself too. Amazing. Message to Trip Advisor: I wonder why Manto Studios isn't enlisted in the Hotel's category. This is definitely a full fledged three star hotel , at least! Even five star hotels would be jealous of its hospitality, service and breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments during July with our 2 year old son. The apartment itself was large and incredibly clean. The rooms are beautifully decorated by the owner with her own artwork as well as the communal areas.

The cafe serves a superb buffet breakfast which was included in the price and the owners were friendly and helpful.

Couldn't recommend this place higher.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manto Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manto Studios

Address: Athanasiou Diakou 1, Paleochora, Crete 73001, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Studios Manto" was built in 2008 and their modern facilities, the clean rooms and their many comforts reflect the Cretan hospitality making your stay comfortable and relaxing. Each of the studios has been decorated with great taste from the artist Manto with paintings that draw their topics from the traditional folklore art, giving each room a different touch, which makes it special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Manto Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manto Studios Paleochora, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manto Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.