We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Joanna's Place was just the ticket'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joanna's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paleochora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joanna's Place
Save
You added Joanna's Place to your Saves list
old town Paleochora, Paleochora, Crete 73001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'Joanna's Place was just the ticket'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Last year (October 2013) myself and my wife booked a late trip to Paleochora as a pick me up due to a family bereavement, on arriving we were let down by our initial accommodation provider, and knowing the resort we knew where Joanna's place was situated as we had seen them built over the years. We went cap in hand to Yiannis (father of Joanna)! Although we spoke no Greek and Yiannis little English we managed to muddle through with plenty of smiles, and he sorted us out with accommodation. The apartments were very clean and the place, though unusual in its architecture, had a nice feel to it and we were extremely comfortable there. We enjoyed them so much we booked again for June 2014 (Tuesday 10th - 17th June) Also on the trip were my in laws who are experienced Greek travellers, and my wife's sister. All the parties were very pleased with the accommodation which was kept clean throughout the week.
The apartments at the front have a road view, but as the road is an extremely minor one there is very little road noise. The apartments that have a sea views actually face each other but a simple hello in your neighbours direction is all that is required and the balconies are generous with table and chairs (we had 5 on ours with no problem) and staggered so that sea views are very close by. The views look out to the Libyan Sea and the island of Gavdos (when visible) The apartments balcony doors have a 3 shutter system one which shuts out the sun, a mosquito door and finally a glass sliding door, with all 3 in place very little noise gets through and sleep is not a problem. There is a local family Taverna next to the apartments which was handy for lunch when using the free beach (no euro's) during the day.
The apartments are the last tourist accommodation on the road in the old town and the road leads to both the harbour and also the other peninsula to the larger sandy beach.
The family also runs a cocktail bar and cafe in the town (10 minutes walk).
The rooms are all air conditioned which is essential if the doors are closed at night, as it does get warm, there is also free Wi Fi at the apartments (the access codes are in the rooms). There is no lift but this was not a problem and getting the bags to the rooms was relatively easy. Great place to base yourself for a lovely peaceful trip.
The family (Yiannis and Joanna) are very warm and friendly and I would have no problems recommending the apartments.
The family do not seem to use travel operators so booking in person is best via the website.

Room Tip: The rooms that our party had for the week were 310 (top room great sea view) 309 (slighlty larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

just home after 2 weeks in joannas apartments which are modern spotless comfortable and beautifully located.We had a twin bedded studio which was spacious with a good seized balcony nice bathroom and plenty of utinsels if you wanted to cook good seized fridge electric kettle and 2 hot plates.Towels provided and changed 2/week air conditioned and soundproof sliding door with insect screen and shutters.Small beach across the road and 5 mins to shops and main beaches.Joannas is a family business and her mum Anna does a great job with the cleaning the dad Yannis has a café down the street where Joanna does the best breakfast and fresh orange juice I have ever had.Thanks Joanna and I will definably be back.

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The apartments are located in a quiet part of the old town overlooking the bay where you can experience the sunrise. It is a 3 minute walk into the centre and also to the 2 main beaches. There is a small beach right opposite the apartments.
the fixtures and fittings were of a high standard including a power shower with lots of hot water, comfy beds and clean fluffy white towels daily... There is also a small cooking facility which is well equipped with crockery and cutlery including mugs for your cup of tea....... \beach right opposite the apartments. There is also a new taverna next door which was very good. we came back next year ..i enjoy my holidays here .like my second house ....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights September 2013. Great hospitality from Joanna and her father. Very good cleaning services. Liked the location, 15 min walk to Paleohora main beaches, 2 minutes to small nearby beach. 1 min to restaurant, 10 min walk to city center. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: South side best for sun angle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The title gives it all! The apartments are 5 minutes walk from the centre of town.

Paleochora is a special part of Crete and Joanna's Place is beautifully situated to take full advantage - with a spectacular view of 'the Crocodile', a rocky formation of the distant coastline.

The rooms are spotless and well equipped; Joanna and her father are both charming and helpful. There is a quiet beach for an early morning swim and very good restaurants, for both breakfast and supper, nearby.

To be recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A wonderful apartment, clean, well equipped and roomy. Fantastic setting right by a little beach and at the end of the peninsular. It was really quiet and we slept very well ( for habitual insomniacs)! Joanna and her father couldn't have been more helpful and charming, including driving me to the dentist when a filling fell out! I would highly recommend it and would come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everything just fits:the setting, the hotel of just the right size, the fantastic spacious rooms. The rooms are bigger and better furnished and equipped than anywhere else in Paleochora and we have tried three other hotels and one house with appartments so far. The thought that went into what a holiday-makers really need is remarkable. We can only hope that people will discover this great place and then keep coming back. We certainly will.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Joanna's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joanna's Place

Address: old town Paleochora, Paleochora, Crete 73001, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Joanna's Place Paleochora, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joanna's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.