We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Summer Holiday !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ideal Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ideal Apartments to your Saves list
Ideal Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Main Street, Kokkini Hani, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Market Drayton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Summer Holiday !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I cant really recommend Ideal enough, after 2 fantastic weeks in June we would love to return next year.

Location:

Very close to a clean and sandy beach, if you are prepared to walk a little further there are sun loungers offered free if you eat or have a single drink at the various restaurants. Now usually you' ll be paying 5 Euros a day for each lounger so this offer is great. We walked to the beach at around 11am and were still easily able to get the a spot right by the sea

There is a patisserie right opposite which is real trouble as you cant keep out of it and this from gymaholic people who watch their weight.

There are a variety of supermarkets, bars, car hire,restaurants and souvenir shops within a minutes walk.

Ideal is bang in the middle of the main stretch of Konini Hani, so perfect which ever direction you want to go.

Accommodation:

The rooms are very big, very clean and very cheap. The rooms stay cool without air con even if the temperatures are high outside. Its basic self catering apartments, you have a kettle, plates, hob, pans etc.

The pool is great, small, clean and not too deep for those with children. There was always sun loungers free at any point in the day.

The Staff:

The family that own the hotel are great, they made us feel part of the family from day one and we felt sad to leave. George, Panagelis, Maria and all the staff never stop, they endeavour to make your stay enjoyable. We had problems when our card was swallowed by an ATM and they allowed us to use our other card with them instead of risking it with another card.

The bar staff- We made great friends in Wim, Rhian and their son Willem. They truly did make our holiday what it was and that is the best ever. They treated us so well whilst at work and met up with us later like true friends. I can not praise these folks enough. They work hard to make sure that the pool area is clean and will even make things not normally on the menu if they can. They are great, great people. Wim was probably fed up of beating me at chess though in the end lol. we have kept in contact with them and offered them our home to stay if they ever visit the UK, that is how highly we regard them.


Food:

We ate most nights at the Ideal, the quality, selection and price was great. yet again the staff endeavour to make your dining experience as good as possible. The home made food is delicious and some of the best Greek food we have ever eaten. The pizzas are awesome too!! Freshly made bread and Meze was our fav tho.

There are lots of sea front restaurants to further to the left of the Ideal and some of these are really good and watching the sunset over the sea whilst eating is a great experience. The fish restaurant owned and run by a greek family all year is amazing, the staff and owner are brilliant.

Beach:

Lots of small sections of beach all very clean and great restaurants serving drinks on the beach, I would recommend walking a little further to the right as you get to the beach as the first is part of an all inclusive and not much food on offer.

All in all we had the best summer holiday we have ever had, we have been to 5* all inclusive hotels around the world and self catering as well but the Ideal bettered them all in service and price.

We very much hope to return in the near future.

Yiamas!

Room Tip: Beds can be a little hard but there are blankets which you can put underneath to soften them, after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    17
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just got back from a great time at these apartments.
Warm welcome from the family which continued all week.
Very quiet room area and spacious apartment .Air con is a must if you visit in August.
Ate 3 times in the restaurant and we were very pleased with the meals and price. You can get good meals else where but I am not going to recommend,as part of the fun of being on holiday is to find your own.
Close to the beach and 5euros for 2 sunbeds and parasol all day was good value for money.
Spar shop has all you need and cheap.
An enjoyable time and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgnorth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

this is our first time staying at the ideal apartments in kokkini hanie in crete. we booked this apartment after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor. as a family and a couple we have travelled to many places and have stayed in luxury hotels.
We would recommend these apartments they are super clean, we opted for bed and breakfast and did on occasion up grade to a full english which was excellent. It is run by a family who are very friendly and kind. The food was also excellent, we stayed for 7 nights and every 2nd day the rooms were cleaned and change of towels and bed linen. will most certainly re visit again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 104 which was on the second floor very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two weeks in July this year. We had a great time! The family who run the apartments are very welcoming and hard working. Our apartment was spacious, airy and very clean. Originally we were in a room over the bar but as we found this a bit noisy we asked to move. Maria was only too happy to accommodate us and moved us to a quieter room at the back which suited us much better. Most days we went to the beach but the pool is lovely and the Dutch couple who run the pool bar were great. They were always helpful and friendly with lots of good advice about the local area. We enjoyed all the homemade restaurant food and especially the pizza made in the wood burning oven.
Overall this was a charming place to stay. This is an authentic family run business with real people who take pride in their business and care about their customers. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I was here for two weeks with my parents. Overall Ideal was great. The people were friendly and it was spotless. The food was average, however my family particularly enjoyed Biz Biz which is directly across the road, highly recommend as it is huge, delicious portions for inexpensive prices. Thomsons did tell us that there would be karaoke nights and BBQs which there were not, we did make our own entertainment but my father, in particular was disappointed. Also greatly disappointed with the expense for air conditioning, 7 euros a night, which meant we had spend almost 100 euros before we even got to our room. In conclusion, I would recommend Ideal apartments, however do not go with the expectation of a wild night out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Ideal Apartments the first two weeks of July. Given the moderate price of our package we didn't have high expectations but Ideal was just one of many pleasant surprises.
Our apartment was directly above the taverna, at the front of the building, overlooking the road, which caused some trepidation, but we had two large terraces (so could usually get or avoid direct sun) and actually enjoyed sitting out, breakfasting, watching the world go by on the not-too-busy road. The rooms were very big, very clean and reasonably equipped (we bought cheap tea towels, a couple of glasses and knives to enhance our stay, and left them for the next occupants). Beds and shower room were all good and we felt very much at home. One negative point was the very real need at this time of the year for air-conditioning which added £100 to our two week stay. We tried doing without for a couple of days but it proved impossible.
Without exception all the staff, one big family, were friendly and helpful. Fluency in English varied but was never a problem. Given that the local beach wasn't great, the pool was a real gem. It was a perfect size, clean and welcoming, with free use of sunbeds and lilos, and we spent at least part of every day there. Brilliant.
The Ideal is situated nicely for bus links, a short walk to the very handy supermarket for us self caterers, and opposite a fantastic bakers (we tried a different bread almost every day) .
Kokkini Hani was a pleasant surprise. One guide book we’d read was pretty scathing about the place but it was a nice size and had a genuinely pleasant feel, fine for early morning or late night strolls and well equipped with enough shops and good tavernas to keep most people happy. Visits to Heraklion and Agios Nikolaus confirmed our lucky choice of resort.
The Ideal was an important part of a wonderful, relaxing two week stay. So, many thanks to them for all their efforts because they seemed to genuinely care that we should have a good time and perhaps return one day.
Thomsons weren't so good, seeming to care more about selling overpriced day trips than giving accurate information. If we do return, we will book with Ideal direct and get the bus (£1.50) from outside the airport. It’s easy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My mum(59) and myself (29) have just returned from our first stay at the Ideal hotel/apartments, our apartment was big, 2 balconies, good sized bathroom, bedroom and additional sleeping area and eating area, would sleep 4 adults no problem.

Pretty shocked by the previous review, i have never heard so much utter garbage - some people should really not travel outside there comfort zone as they are never happy!!!!

The ideal is ran by a local greek family, the mother maria could not be anymore helpful if she tried, her cooking was gorgeous and she always had a smile for you and made you feel so welcome, the bar/resturant is ran by her 3 sons, mainly George and Pandelis you are likely to be greeted warmly and served quickly by also there cousin ari is a freindly young waiter who will make you feel most welcome!
If you like pizza then you must try the amazing wood over homemade pizza's are they are top class!!! Zito the pizza man is the man!!!
The rooms were spotless, food was gorgeous, the staff made you feel so welcome and always made time to chat to you and help with with any requirements, we had a lovely holiday and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is considering a nice quiet beautiful resort!

The location is spot on, being situated on the main road in kokinni hani, a couple of minute walk to the gorgeous beaches.

All in all our 2 weeks in the ideal was fab and we would defo go back in a minute!!!!

Louise & Pat :)

Room Tip: If you have kids i would recommend the back rooms not the ones directly above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ideal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Apartments

Address: Main Street, Kokkini Hani, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ideal Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel apartments offers a range of 25 tastefully decorated self-catering accommodation from family rooms to apartments.All apartments have two bedrooms, kitchen, lounge ,bathroom, WC, air conditioning and balcony over looking the pool or gardens and are equipped to a high standard with all necessary appliances. Cleaned daily and fresh bedding and towels provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ideal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Apartments Hotel Kokkini Hani
Ideal Apartments Crete/Kokkini Hani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ideal Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.