We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Greek food in a beautiful surrounding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swell Restaurant

Swell Restaurant
Heraklion | Crete, Kokkini Hani, Crete 71500, Greece
+302810763083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 restaurants in Kokkini Hani
Price range: $29 - $130
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Swell restaurant is blissfully located on the water front. In collaboration with the renowned chef Leuteris Lazarou (one Michelin Star) we offer a personal interpretation of Greek cuisine with an innovative gastronomic touch Mastered by his side chefs Michalis Kalavrinos and Yiannis Margaris prepare the delightful recipes. Enjoy swimming at the beach, ending your day with a mouthwatering dinner, or just relax at the comfortable couches with your cocktail marveling the blue of the Mediterranean.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food in a beautiful surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The restaurant is part of a hotel, but it has the entrance next to the hotel (so you do not have to walk through the hotel). We did not stay in the hotel where the restaurants belongs to, but simply made a reservation which was not a problem. We had diner there and enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere is very nice, you overlook the Greek sea when sitting there which is really very beautiful. The restaurant serves Greek food on a mondern way and has extraordinary choice of very good Greek wines. The service is very good. For sure, when we stay again on Crete in this part of the island, we will come back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    100
    8
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious modern Greek seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We ate here for lunch when we stayed in one of the bungalows in June 2011. The atmosphere is bright and airy. Decor is simple and elegant with light colors and the restaurant is partially open to the outside, which overlooks the beach (half is enclosed with glass windows). Very relaxing and beachy feel.

Staff was helpful with ordering wine and food. Bread was pretty good, came with several different things to dip in like olive oil, salt, and herbs or something - can't remember exactly. We ended up ordering a prix fixe lunch for two (not sure if they have this all the time or if it was a promotion). I think it was a 9 course meal - one dish from each course on the menu with 2 desserts. Food was delicious as the creator is a one star Michelin chef. Some dishes slightly salty but still had great flavor.

The service was good and staff easy to flag down if we needed them. But there was barely anyone in the restaurant as we came late in the afternoon. Prices were on the expensive side but fair for fresh, quality seafood in Greece. Menu is listed on their website. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Taste, quality and creativity that can easily be compared to a michelin restaurant. Try the local white wines. I was surprised to see their vast variety..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRETE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A CULINARY EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Visited Swell few months ago with friends and had the most unforgettable dinner! The flavours of every single course, from starter to the dessert were mouth-watering, the service impeccable, the whole athmosphere contributed to the gastronomy and the live piano music was the ideal addition to the entire experience.The check at the end was a pleasant surprise...
Definately recommend this place, will go back soon!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agios Nikolaos, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flavors at Swell Restaurant are far beyond words!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Every dish is a pleasant surprise, a successful new combination of familiar ingredients of Greek and Cretan cuisine, with an international touch. Fish and Sea Food dishes are marvelous (shrimps with pasta, seasoned with sweet wine from Lemnos Island, is definitely my favorite). Wine list is also very interesting, including fine wines from quality small wineries in Crete.
Food is what one calls “gourmet” but not “difficult”; even my 14years old niece really liked every dish she tasted. She really loved the desserts.
I’ve visited this elegant restaurant both in winter and summer time and enjoyed being so near to the Cretan Sea. Personnel are both friendly and competent. Prices are very reasonable, for the quality and service one gets.
Definitely Swell is a jewel for Crete!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swell Restaurant also viewed

Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Swell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swell Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.