We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Michelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venosc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Michelle
Save
You added Chalet Michelle to your Saves list
La Ville | Venosc, 38520 Venosc, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Venosc B&B and Inns
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were a group of two families of four who stayed at the Chalet for a skiing holiday in February 2013, and had a fantastic week. Bryan and Michelle were really excellent hosts, who made our stay a pleasure. Spotlessly clean and comfortable chalet with excellent views and excellent food (we are waiting for Michelle's cook book!). We plan to return in 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been coming to Chalet-Michelle since 2003. Bryan & Michelle have, over the years, become great friends since my first trip and it seems that every trip I make to beautiful Venosc (be it for Cycling, Skiing, or just chilling), I enjoy my time at Chalet-Michelle more and more as the years go by!
The chalet is simply stunning and so so comfortable.... Imagine being sat in your most comfy chair, surrounded by everything that you need (including beautiful food), while looking out of a huge window at picture postcard scenery...... You are sat in the Chalet-Michelle living room - Awesome!!!
If you are into your cycling then THIS IS THE PLACE to lay your head every night. Bryan & Michelle are talented riders and there is not one road within the Oisans area (and beyond!) that they are not intimately familiar with. Be it a guided ride or simple advice for a day out on 2 wheels, these guys have all the sound and reliable knowledge you will require to get the maximum pleasure from your cycling stay at CM!!!
If you like to Ski, then once again Bryan & Michelle are second to none. They are both elite skiiers who have supreme knowledge of the 2 Alpes and L'Alpe D'Huez ranges, all there for you to tap into. If you go for a social ski with them, please treat them to a Picher of Red up at La Toura because they deserve it!!!
Michelle & Bryan's knowledge is also a valuable resource if you are a walker.... They know every track, firetrail, ice field, in the area and more besides!!!
This place is a place that I will never tire of coming to. In Bryan and Michelle, I have been very fortunate to have made friends for life!!!
VIVE LE CHALET!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Always a pleasure to stay - our first time was in January 2008. Was it really so long ago? Have stayed with Michelle and Bryan several times since and each time it is really good. The welcome is warm and genuine, the food excellent, the rooms spotless and comfortable, the views spectacular and Michelle and Bryan's enthusiasm for cycling and skiing is boundless. I thoroughly recommend the Chalet Michelle to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I've just booked to stay at Chalet Michelle next July for a cycling trip with my dad and husband. After a recommendation from a friend to stay with Bryan I contacted him for some information on availability. The help and advice I have received has been absolutely fantastic! Bryan has assisted in picking a good date when we will definitely be able to ride the Alpe D'huez and sent me various emails on airports and travel information. You couldn't ask for a more helpful host when booking the trip of a lifetime! Cannot wait to get there in July and experience the magnificent chalet seen in the pictures and talked about by other reviewers!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We took this chalet in on our drive from north to south and would not have missed it for the world. Good clean rooms great hosts fantastic soup (home made) and dinner. Lot of local knowledge. Well worth the 3 hour diversion and the views are stunning. May do a weekend skiing here or if I can persuade my wife a weeks cycling. Friendly typical chalet style accommodation would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: no tips as so few rooms but excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I can only echo the praise of the other reviewers for Chalet Michelle. Our hosts, Michelle and Bryan looked after our every need, served up fantastic food at breakfast and evening meal and shared their local knowledge of the area and cycling climbs to make sure we managed rides within our ability level.
The view from the chalet is breathtaking and would take a while to tire of, while the chalet itself is comfortable,clean and cosy.
Be warned about the steady climb back from Bourg if you're cycling, but in all honesty if you're climbing the alps then it's just a mere pinprick.
It would be hard to find a better base for cycling or walking in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Chalet Michelle as one stop on our honeymoon. Bryan and Michelle were great hosts, with fantastic knowledge of cycling in the area, help with rental bike problems, good food, recommendations of day trips (hiking and biking). They really went out of their way to make our stay special. When they found out it was our honeymoon, they opened a bottle of champagne for us! Michelle recorded the Tour stage each day to watch when we were out riding or hiking. I also met Bryan by chance on a ride up Galibier, and he loaned me 10 euros to buy some food to keep from bonking! They also will provide rides cheaply to/from Bourg D'Oisan, making it easy to stay in Venosc if you don't have a car and don't feel like biking every time. Also, the views from the rooms are amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Michelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Michelle

Address: La Ville | Venosc, 38520 Venosc, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Venosc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Venosc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Michelle is situated in the beautiful unspoilt village of Venosc, all rooms have stunning views across the Veneon Valley to the Muzelle glacier at 3400 m and the Ecrins National Park. Chalet Michelle is ideally positioned for both summer and winter activities. The resort of Les 2 Alpes is just a 7 minute gondola ride away and the Alpe d’Huez climb is only 20 minutes by bike. An authentic and charming artisan village, Venosc offers bars, restaurants and interesting shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Michelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.