We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ivy House Utah Beach, Normandy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy
Save
You added Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy to your Saves list
La Madeleine, 50480 Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ivy House Utah Beach, Normandy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned back to the UK from Ivy House, and we're missing our time there already :-(.
Located in an excellent spot, it is ideal for exploring the Normandy region and as described accurately on the website, couldn't be better placed for the D Day sights with Utah right on the doorstep. We were given a warm welcome by Jean-Pierre, who was looking after things for Andy and Emma who were away for a few days.The cottage was clean,tidy and very welcoming with everything we needed to have a tea when we walked through the door. Andy and Emma upon there return came and introduced themselves, to check all was well which of course it was. We had quite a chat with Andy who gave us lots of useful advice, about exploring the region, and answered all our queries and questions about France, thanks for that Andy! Overall an excellent stay in a great location highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    22
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
89
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Went with 3 friends and stayed in the Barton Cottage for 5 days (9 Sept 2012 - 13 Sept 2012), we all had a great time. As many of stated previously, there were essentials in the fridge and cupboards upon arrival, so we wouldn't go without food or a drink on the first night. The house was immaculately clean and was very well equiped. It has everything you'll need, plus English TV and free Wi-Fi.

The reason for us going to Normandy was the history and tales surrounding the D-Day landings. Andy enlightened us with many tales when accompanying us on a tour of the US sector. The house is within walking distance (approximately 10 minutes) of Utah Beach and the museum there, we spent all day at just this one museum on one of the days. Within a short drive are Brecourt Manor, The Holdy Battery, St Mere Eglise, St Marie Du Mont, La Fiere and so many other memorials, statues and museums (I can thoroughly recommend the small Musee L'Occupation in St Marie Du Mont). The N13 is just a 5/10 minute drive away, this connects to Cherbourg, and runs to Caen via Bayeux, so all the D-Day beaches are within an hours drive or less.

However if D-Day is not your thing and peace and quiet is, this is the ideal location. Situated in a very rural location, but close to the magnificent sands of Utah Beach (also the Roosevelt cafe/bar). Within the nearby village of St Marie Du Mont are two restaurants/bars, and Carentan just a little further has more restaurants, supermarkets, takeaways plus a railway station with trains running between Cherbourg and Paris via Caen & Bayeux. We found this part of Normandy so much quieter than the UK, no traffic, no crowds, it was bliss!

Ivy House - C'est Magnifique!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having returned from Ivy House at the end of August I just wanted to comment on how enjoyable our stay had been. We travelled with our 2 daughters and the in-laws. We stayed in two of the cottages at Ivy House. The cottages we stayed in were very homely and really clean. There were essentials in the fridge/cupboard so we didn't have to rush off to the supermarket to stock up until the following morning. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by the Sutherland Family. The weather was very kind to us whilst we were there and we enjoyed our evening meals in the communal garden. The children were kept entered by the play area and enjoyed playing the the girls from the other family staying and the Sutherland children. The beach is only 5 minutes away and WW2 sights were amazing. Our only negative is that we didn't have enough time to do everything, such a lot to see, a very interesting part of France to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here mid-August. I wish we had booked a few more days, the place is very cute, in a very picturesque setting. I had no idea how much there was to see in the area. The hosts are great and the welcome package was super, just what we needed after our long drive!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great week in Normandy was had by my family and i in august.We had a great time and visited many of the local sites and places of interest.We were made very welcome by Andy and Emma and there 3 lovely boys.Would recommend a visit to anyone who wants to visit Normandy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Although this review says it's written by James, it's actually his wife, Lucy, writing this!

Just got back from our second fantastic family holiday staying in the Barton Gite at Ivy House. We stayed for 2 weeks this year and 1 week last summer and still have so much that we want to do. We are hoping to go back again next summer as we all had such a good time. The gite is great and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. My 2 daughters loved playing outside with Andy and Emmas' children and the other visiting children in the very safe area at Ivy House. The beach is just a few minutes walk away and is one of the best we've been to - lovely and clean and lots of sand. We went body boarding and swimming in the sea every day - even after days out as the weather was lovely so we often went down to the beach before dinner. The location is perfect for seeing real French life and the baker even comes to Ivy house 2 mornings a week so you can buy fresh croissants for breakfast without leaving the premises!!! The history of the area is amazing, Utah beach being the turn around point of the Second World War, and the museum on Utah beach is great for adults and children. It has a short film in English which our 8 year old learnt a lot from. My husband (James) went on a tour of the area with Andy, who knows all of the real history of the area, and he really thoroughly enjoyed it - he told us all about it on the journey home. Andy, Emma and their children really are lovely genuine people and we feel lucky to have found them and Ivy House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Hemingway Gite for a week in August. With our child being young this was not a problem regards it being a one bedroom, Emma had set up a spare bed in the bedroom for him with the option of the sofa bed if needed. The play area provided was ideal as most of his time while at the cottage was spent there with the other children at Ivy House. The welcome pack of essentials was ideal as there was no urgent requirement to go food shopping. Although there was no washing facitilies within the cottage, Emma was more than happy to launder your clothing for you. The location is lovely and ideal if into history of D-Day. I spent quite a few mornings walking exits 1 - 4 from Utah beach at dawn, thankfully not under enemy fire. I can highly recommend visiting the batteries at Crisbeq and Azeville, even the little one enjoyed exploring them. The only downside was there was so much to see and do but so little time to do it in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy

Address: La Madeleine, 50480 Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy House, Utah Beach Normandy offers superb self catering gites and bed & breakfast accommodation. We are just 500 meters from historic D-Day Utah Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy Hotel Ste.-Marie-Du-Mont
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.