We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant base for exploring the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A pleasant base for exploring the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We chose this hotel as we stayed here last year and found it an ideal location (for us), with the outdoor, heated swimming pool providing a welcome opportunity for a refreshing dip at the end of a day sightseeing. This year we found a deal that included ferry crossings from Portsmouth to Caen and return (with cabins), two rooms at the hotel and breakfast for our five night stay, which was booked through Brittany Ferries - who provided an excellent service throughout.

We received a warm welcome on our arrival at the Hotel and when our somewhat limited French faltered, the receptionist seamlessly switched to English. Throughout our stay we found all of the staff to be polite, friendly and helpful. We thought our rooms were fine overall, though a little tired, the twin having a bath/ shower combination and the double a jacuzzi/ shower combination. Both rooms had separate toilets. There was a flat screen TV, coffee making facilities and a mini-bar (pay) provided in each room. We found the rooms quiet and the beds comfy (we prefer firm beds), which meant we enjoyed undisturbed sleeps throughout our stay. On the minus side, only the double room had air-conditioning and the ‘views’ from the rooms (which were on the ground floor) were limited to the car park and immediate environs, however we had not travelled here to sit in our rooms.

The first floor breakfast room provided views across the golf course to the distant sea and caught the warming early morning sun. We thought the buffet style breakfasts were fine, with a choice of continental or cooked fare, savoury/ sweet breads and hot/ cold drinks. We did not eat at the hotel in the evenings, preferring to use the nearby restaurants instead.

Free Wi-Fi was available in the reception area/ breakfast room, which we found to be very handy for keeping in touch with emails and general web browsing (although larger downloads/ some web services did require a fee). We found connection to be simple with our iPads (detected the Wi-Fi, chose the 'free' option, filled in our details and we were 'on').

Once again the hotel and the nearby Port-en-Bessin-Huppain provided the ideal base for our holiday in Normandy and if we return to the area we will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    136
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
82
99
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I was not impressed on arrival at the hotel as the priviledge room did not have a balcony or a view and no screen for the shower. The coffee machine was broken and the hairdryer was very old. After a fuss we were moved upstairs to a much better room. It seems that some of the non priviledge rooms are better than the priviledge rooms.
The arrangements for reduced green fees were extremely complex and I'm sure we didn't get a good deal there. The restaurant at the golf club was excellent and Maud (on reception) was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Excellant hotel! The staff was very friendly and willing to speak English. this hotel is located next to the golf course so it was very quiet. We stayed there due to the location of the WWII sites, and it was perfect. We rented a car and drove to Omaha Beach, Utah Beach, Pointe du Hoc, Sainte Mere Eglise all within 15-30 minutes, We found a cute little place for breakfast on the way to Omaha Beach on the corner on the right had side....VERY friendly people. Comfortable beds/pillows and the 4 of us stayed in one room ( not a common thing for over here). the room was spacious and very clean. We would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Very nice hotel with golf, tennis and spa facilities. If that's what interests you, then you are set. We had a Privilege Room which was large with a nice balcony. However, if you are not interested in golf or tennis activities or using the spa, there is little reason to stay here. This place is way out from Bayeux where most of the D-Day tours start. If you don't have a car, you are really stranded.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-ferrand, France
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I liked very much staying there.
Rooms are excellent, service extremely friendly and helpful.
Restaurant is OK.

Very good place to stay if you love confort and golf !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed just last weekend , nice hotel, out of the main town so you will need to have a car if you are using this hotel otherwise taxi's to bayeux could be expensive.

very hilly so not really suitable if you are disabled.

Hotel is surrounded by 2 golf courses, my husband played both on the twilight rate of 49.00 euros after 5pm, expensive but,he said worth the money. The seaside course takes you past some war memorials over looking the local town.

Our room was quite dark as ground floor but, was one of the asian rooms, interior was nice the only fault we had was with the shower, the door was not big enough so when showering the water was going all over the floor.

Breakfast had a good choice.

Would go back to this hotel if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

To sum up we had a great stay at the Mercure: wonderful ‘privilege room’, absolutely great & quiet location, great base to drive around. The days off we were exactly waiting for.
One remark though: I don’t think this hotel is really suitable for disabled.

Accommodation
Different types of room are available: standard, club, privilege. Rooms have been renovated during the last two winters and only few of them remained to be renovated. As said in previous comments, decoration can change a lot between rooms.
There are 2 main buildings: one around the pools and the Colombier in front. We had a privilege room in the Colombier at the first floor (no lift, 10 stairs) and got an absolutely new room Asian style which we liked a lot. The rooms at ground floor were more classical with green carpet and beige-orange furniture which was quite different from ours. (see video virtual tour on their site: http://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-1215-hotel-mercure-omaha-beach/media.shtml)
With a privilege room, you get slippers, bathrobe, coffee/tea machine and the products in the mini bar are free (soft drinks).
Access to the fitness centre, hamam and sauna are free.
Our room was great, perfect: decoration, comfort, TV, products available, balcony, view, parking close by (rear parking different from the main one), mattress quality, space (approx. 4 X5.50 m , bathroom excluded), sofa, cupboards, etc… We just felt like home to be honest.

Location
Just great also: you’re in the middle of a golf area, in the countryside and for those looking for quietness this is the hotel to be. You can drive around D-Day beaches or other tourist activities very easily. It’s really a place where you can relax & enjoy.

Food
The restaurant “l’albatros” is nice overlooking the golf, a bit further than the pools (stairs). Food was very good: menus ranging from 25 to 35 EUR. Possibly boring if staying there for more than some days… as in most hotels.
Breakfast is standard i.e. you can have all you wish for: continental or English breakfast (ham, jam, flakes, pancakes, hot drinks, cheese, juices, different kinds of bread, local products, etc). The breakfast room is situated at the 1st floor of the main building. From the Colombier it takes you about 30 sec to 1 min to reach it.

Staff
Staff were nice & effective in general, nothing to complain about.
The only negative remark I would make is that, personally working with hotels, I felt some negative vibes in the air in the breakfast staff or in the cleaning ladies’ staff. They seem to be quite a lot under pressure, especially by the heads of staff who can act a bit straightforwardly in their manners: the breakfast head of staff in a hurry to make re-fills for jam, cheese etc was slamming the doors of the stock cupboards, rushed in the kitchen complaining sthg was not made (it was in fact as the staff is efficient). This is a small detail that maybe s.o. else would not notice but made me uncomfortable sometimes.
The cleaning ladies were not very discreet between them in the morning but we had ear plugs and only ear this sporadically when awake.
This is more a remark for staff acting towards one another and not for the customer who is always taken good care of. A long comment for a little detail. 

Pools & leisure
There are two small pools: one for kids and another one deeper: you can swim a bit in the second but this is clearly not a pool to swim on & on.
There is a tennis court and obviously you can play golf. Fitness room, sauna, skin treatments are available.

Car parks
You have plenty of space to park: either at the front if you’re in the main building or at the Colombier/rear car park if you stay there. Being in the full countryside, the place is very safe. Before taking your suitcases from your car, make your check in to see where you’ll stay.
Unless you don’t want to move around, this hotel is mostly designated for those having a car.

I would recommend this hotel for anybody looking for peace, good quality services, good location to drive around, for a break away. The car of some customers didn't move an inch while we were here (5 days): it's a pity for visits...but I can perfectly understand them !!
I would not recommend the hotel for disabled people that would be prevented to enjoy all aspects of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 70 rooms and is located on a 27-hole golf course overlooking the sea. Near to the D-Day beaches. The hotel Mercure Omaha Beach will make your stay unforgettable. Rooms for disabled guests. 2 restaurants/bars. 5 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.