We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff but a tad soulless….” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Lewes
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Terrific staff but a tad soulless….”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife says that when we go away on holiday together where we are staying should be better than home otherwise what is the point of going? It is a philosophy I share totally when we are together, but when I am off on my own or with my golfing mates then what is most important is that where I am staying is clean and comfortable- the luxuries can go hang for two or three days so long as I get a good night's sleep and it is not to far from a bar and somewhere decent to eat.

Based on this criteria then the Mercure Hotel, sitting on a hill outside the small fishing town of Port-en-Bessin-Huppain ticks my modified boxes. I would not bring my wife here, because she wants a five star experience, but I would be more than happy to travel with three golfing companions and use this as our base for a couple of rounds on the 36-hole Omaha Beach golf club and explore the wonderful World War II beaches that are on our doorstep, especially that four and a half mile stretch of golden sand that became known as 'Bloody Omaha.'

But let's look at the dos and don'ts of the hotel, first. DO book a 'privilege' quality room which is conveniently located by the golf club and L'Albatros restaurant and delivers a spacious suite, a really comfortable bed and free WiFi. The bathroom is well stocked with toiletries too. MY problem was that every time I turned on the tap in the bath I got a shower too and could not turn it off. It is only a minor quibble but it should have been checked before I arrived.

The restaurant provides good, well prepared meals for lunch and dinner and has a decent wine list although it is a large soulless place, noticeably lacking in atmosphere during my stay as there was barely another soul about. It was February admittedly but I would have liked to see more people in there as the staff are absolutely first class: helpful, friendly and efficient. But a couple of meals there are enough.

The same things goes for breakfast, which is in the main hotel area and offers great views over La Mer golf course. It was just a shame that the pancakes my travelling companion had were like cardboard and had clearly been sitting under the hot plate for a very long time. Everything else was fine with good coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice on the regular tariff.

So, do come and play the course and explore all that is to be seen within a 30 minute drive, which will include Omaha Beach, the wonderful old City of Bayeux and its historic tapestry, and the massive and immensely moving American Military Cemetery at Colville sur Mer. And enjoy your time in the Mercure too, just do not plan to stay for more than two or three nights.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra and take a 'Privilege' suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    121
    48
    13
    3
See reviews for
75
87
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Perfect for what we wanted. Easy cycling access to visut the D Day landing sites and Museums; very friendly staff and good food (lots of choice at breakfast). We like to keep fit so a better equiped gym would be good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great stay. I would recommend to any traveler going to Nornandy! The service was outstanding. The room was comfortable. The front desk helped with all my needs including taxi to and from Bayeau. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our 5th stay at this hotel, again booked as a package with Brittany Ferries, and – unsurprisingly - we had a similar experience to previous years in that it proved a handy base for exploring Normandy. The staff we met were all once again polite, helpful and friendly.

This time we were placed in room number 221 (which we’ve had once before). This room has restricted head space owing to the fact that it’s located in the roof area, so the outer wall slopes inwards. The en-suite has a shower, which is accessed via a fairly narrow door and a step. Some people may find these spatial limitations irritating. We were able to cope with care but we still suffered an occasional knock. The room has a flat screen TV and basic beverages were provided, although the mini-bar (fridge) was missing, presumably broken. There were adequate storage options for our three night stay. Sadly, on this occasion, the bed sagged and my wife ended up with a very sore and uncomfortable back after 3 nights.

The hotel offers free WiFi, which we were able to pick up in our room, but depending on your device’s cache settings, you may need to enter your details on each separate log-in.

The first floor breakfast room benefitted from any early morning sun and the buffet style breakfasts gave a reasonable choice of food. We did use the hotel restaurant one evening and the food, drink and service were adequate, but the cost was much higher than in town.

Last year for the same deal we had a nicer room overlooking the pool, with a balcony and without the restrictions of this year’s one. If you add to this the fact that this time the bed gave my wife with a very sore trip home, we were less satisfied than on our previous stays.

Whilst, overall we still feel this hotel offers reasonably good value hotel for the price we paid, it seems not all rooms are equal and it’s pot-luck as to which one you’ll be allocated. We may return here, but next time we will have another look at other venues in the area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor, particularly room number 221.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked as part of a Brittany Ferries package.
We had a balcony overlooking the pool, which was fine except for the noise of guests' suitcases being dragged below us early in the morning. Another similar gripe is door slamming.
Actually the pool was great. Might need to repair some of the mosaic tiles!
The room was as expected for a chain hotel: it would be great for a business trip. I think some earlier reviewers expecting more from a 4 star have unreasonable expectations. The paper cups are cheap.
There was some mustiness: I think the bath needs to be re-silicone sealed as water is seeping into the bedroom.
I thought the restaurant was disappointing, so used it once only. I wrote a separate review for that. On reflection, the lack of reviews for the restaurant may be indicative of complacency. Maybe golfers (there were lots) are willing to accept that.
Like the previous reviewer, I concur the blond waitress needs to be put on a performance improvement course: she didn't put through our dinner order and left my daughter very hungry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our first trip together to Normandie. Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach, found via Thomas Cook website. Reviews showed quite promising. Arrived on 3th of September, very friendly welcoming. Found our way to the "Chambre Piviligès". Be advised, these rooms are part of a different building without elevator. Room quite modern, well finished furniture (except for the toilet which needs a renovation). Minibar with free non alcoholic drinks, original Nespresso coffee (3 tasts) refilled on a daily basis. Small balcony which clearly needed renovation (painted, but rotten wood, floor ordinary concrete). We booked half board. Restaurant was not fabulous, meaning, restaurant was quite clean, but the food was not particularly fantastic. In no way we are fast food eaters, nor "haute cuisine - fetishists", but the food that was presented us some of the evenings was very, very average, reminding us of the food served in the French film "L'aile ou la cuisse" with Louis de Funès and Coluche. The kind of food made by an industrial for the 'large cuisine'. There were evenings, the food was really great, oisters and shrimps were generaly good, ate a superb entrecote (steak), but other evenings the plates were really tasteless.
Now, for the service in the restaurant, hmmm, it was equivalent to the food served, quite mediocre. There was one blonded short haired women who was very arrogant, a person with a real attitude. Not friendly at all, probably because we did not order every evening a €35 bottle of wine....?? Cannot identify the person, in decent hotels/restaurants the personnel wears name-tags..., You were never sure when to sign off for the drinks or when to expect the standard carafe of water. Same for the dessert. Only after 3 diners, we learned from a kind older waiter that, apart from a self-service cooler with ready-made desserts, we could also choose a few alternatives.... chaos??
Breakfast (luckily far away from the restaurant) was very ok. Very good service. Very good location for visiting the WWII - landing scene.
Conclusion: yes for the hotel, no for the hotel-restaurant.
(Pictures will follow)

Room Tip: Go for the privilège rooms, avoid the hotel-restaurant, go for a meal in small towns nearby (a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate out 45th. wedding anniversary.The setting is quite superb on the golf course,The staff were delightful.Our room was a Privilege room and comfortable although the bathroom was very cramped and if they do not fit a higher grab rail for the shower one day there will be a disaster. Why oh why does a four star hotel provide plastic glasses and cardboard cups-it shouts cheap! The main problem here however is the food. The menu is unimaginative despite the wonderful ingredients available. Our first dinner was tolerable although for 102 E I expected better but put the cost down to the drinks, but my wife's last meal was totally inedible and we refused to pay for it. We visited La Chaumiere at Les Longues and I suggest your chef does the same. We enjoyed one of the best meals we have had for 69 E.We did not have breakfast but heard many US guests complaining about the breakfast at a cost of 14 E,way over the top.As with many chains the Management have become complacent and are letting down their staff.Above all change the Chef-this was meant to be very special but was very mediocre!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy
Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 70 rooms and is located on a 27-hole golf course overlooking the sea. Near to the D-Day beaches. The hotel Mercure Omaha Beach will make your stay unforgettable. Rooms for disabled guests. 2 restaurants/bars. 5 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, ACCOR, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.