We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th stay here, but a mixed experience this time...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Our 5th stay here, but a mixed experience this time...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our 5th stay at this hotel, again booked as a package with Brittany Ferries, and – unsurprisingly - we had a similar experience to previous years in that it proved a handy base for exploring Normandy. The staff we met were all once again polite, helpful and friendly.

This time we were placed in room number 221 (which we’ve had once before). This room has restricted head space owing to the fact that it’s located in the roof area, so the outer wall slopes inwards. The en-suite has a shower, which is accessed via a fairly narrow door and a step. Some people may find these spatial limitations irritating. We were able to cope with care but we still suffered an occasional knock. The room has a flat screen TV and basic beverages were provided, although the mini-bar (fridge) was missing, presumably broken. There were adequate storage options for our three night stay. Sadly, on this occasion, the bed sagged and my wife ended up with a very sore and uncomfortable back after 3 nights.

The hotel offers free WiFi, which we were able to pick up in our room, but depending on your device’s cache settings, you may need to enter your details on each separate log-in.

The first floor breakfast room benefitted from any early morning sun and the buffet style breakfasts gave a reasonable choice of food. We did use the hotel restaurant one evening and the food, drink and service were adequate, but the cost was much higher than in town.

Last year for the same deal we had a nicer room overlooking the pool, with a balcony and without the restrictions of this year’s one. If you add to this the fact that this time the bed gave my wife with a very sore trip home, we were less satisfied than on our previous stays.

Whilst, overall we still feel this hotel offers reasonably good value hotel for the price we paid, it seems not all rooms are equal and it’s pot-luck as to which one you’ll be allocated. We may return here, but next time we will have another look at other venues in the area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor, particularly room number 221.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    137
    53
    16
    3
See reviews for
87
104
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked as part of a Brittany Ferries package.
We had a balcony overlooking the pool, which was fine except for the noise of guests' suitcases being dragged below us early in the morning. Another similar gripe is door slamming.
Actually the pool was great. Might need to repair some of the mosaic tiles!
The room was as expected for a chain hotel: it would be great for a business trip. I think some earlier reviewers expecting more from a 4 star have unreasonable expectations. The paper cups are cheap.
There was some mustiness: I think the bath needs to be re-silicone sealed as water is seeping into the bedroom.
I thought the restaurant was disappointing, so used it once only. I wrote a separate review for that. On reflection, the lack of reviews for the restaurant may be indicative of complacency. Maybe golfers (there were lots) are willing to accept that.
Like the previous reviewer, I concur the blond waitress needs to be put on a performance improvement course: she didn't put through our dinner order and left my daughter very hungry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our first trip together to Normandie. Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach, found via Thomas Cook website. Reviews showed quite promising. Arrived on 3th of September, very friendly welcoming. Found our way to the "Chambre Piviligès". Be advised, these rooms are part of a different building without elevator. Room quite modern, well finished furniture (except for the toilet which needs a renovation). Minibar with free non alcoholic drinks, original Nespresso coffee (3 tasts) refilled on a daily basis. Small balcony which clearly needed renovation (painted, but rotten wood, floor ordinary concrete). We booked half board. Restaurant was not fabulous, meaning, restaurant was quite clean, but the food was not particularly fantastic. In no way we are fast food eaters, nor "haute cuisine - fetishists", but the food that was presented us some of the evenings was very, very average, reminding us of the food served in the French film "L'aile ou la cuisse" with Louis de Funès and Coluche. The kind of food made by an industrial for the 'large cuisine'. There were evenings, the food was really great, oisters and shrimps were generaly good, ate a superb entrecote (steak), but other evenings the plates were really tasteless.
Now, for the service in the restaurant, hmmm, it was equivalent to the food served, quite mediocre. There was one blonded short haired women who was very arrogant, a person with a real attitude. Not friendly at all, probably because we did not order every evening a €35 bottle of wine....?? Cannot identify the person, in decent hotels/restaurants the personnel wears name-tags..., You were never sure when to sign off for the drinks or when to expect the standard carafe of water. Same for the dessert. Only after 3 diners, we learned from a kind older waiter that, apart from a self-service cooler with ready-made desserts, we could also choose a few alternatives.... chaos??
Breakfast (luckily far away from the restaurant) was very ok. Very good service. Very good location for visiting the WWII - landing scene.
Conclusion: yes for the hotel, no for the hotel-restaurant.
(Pictures will follow)

Room Tip: Go for the privilège rooms, avoid the hotel-restaurant, go for a meal in small towns nearby (a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate out 45th. wedding anniversary.The setting is quite superb on the golf course,The staff were delightful.Our room was a Privilege room and comfortable although the bathroom was very cramped and if they do not fit a higher grab rail for the shower one day there will be a disaster. Why oh why does a four star hotel provide plastic glasses and cardboard cups-it shouts cheap! The main problem here however is the food. The menu is unimaginative despite the wonderful ingredients available. Our first dinner was tolerable although for 102 E I expected better but put the cost down to the drinks, but my wife's last meal was totally inedible and we refused to pay for it. We visited La Chaumiere at Les Longues and I suggest your chef does the same. We enjoyed one of the best meals we have had for 69 E.We did not have breakfast but heard many US guests complaining about the breakfast at a cost of 14 E,way over the top.As with many chains the Management have become complacent and are letting down their staff.Above all change the Chef-this was meant to be very special but was very mediocre!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID-SPAIN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had made a reservation for a double room and when we arrived thay had made an upgrade and gave us a better room. With a sitting room, 3 windows, very big bathroom. They were very kind at the reception desk.
If you like playing golf, it is the perfect place. But even if you don't, Port-en-Bassin is a nice place in Normandy, close to Bayeux which very beautiful, and not far from Caen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a small room on the lowest level of this hotel. It felt like a basement and the windows opened up to dirt--although you could see the driveway and some flowers from here. The whole room smelled musty. The carpet on the floor was like an indoor out variety that scratched your feet. We opened the window in hopes of getting the smell out, but it didn't work. The room was a fine size,and the bathroom had a nice shower, but we couldn't get over the smell. It is truly a golfer's hotel. Nice golf course and location is near Omaha beach. The dinner was not great, but breakfast was good. We were with a group and some people had great rooms so I would be careful not to get one of the rooms in the basement as they all seemed to smell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Best Regards.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach Your wellbeing is our priority. The building is located at the foot of the Omaha Beach Golf course in order to preserve the natural beauty of this exceptional site with stunning views. There is no need to be golfer to appreciate the calm surroundings, with the sea waiting to be discovered close-by. You won't be able to resist the charm of the touristic town Port-En-Bessin, which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Also close-by are Bayeux and the American war cemetery. If you are in search of tranquility, you will be able to find it in our relaxation areas, such as the sauna and steam room. There is a lounge bar where you will be able to enjoy a game of pool or a session in the gym ... In fine weather, you can enjoy the heated outdoor pool, and let the children play in the paddling pool. The adepts of relaxation will be seduced by the many wellbeing spa treatments. A business area is available and free Wi-Fi covers the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.