We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed/ but awesome sights” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed/ but awesome sights”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a small room on the lowest level of this hotel. It felt like a basement and the windows opened up to dirt--although you could see the driveway and some flowers from here. The whole room smelled musty. The carpet on the floor was like an indoor out variety that scratched your feet. We opened the window in hopes of getting the smell out, but it didn't work. The room was a fine size,and the bathroom had a nice shower, but we couldn't get over the smell. It is truly a golfer's hotel. Nice golf course and location is near Omaha beach. The dinner was not great, but breakfast was good. We were with a group and some people had great rooms so I would be careful not to get one of the rooms in the basement as they all seemed to smell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Best Regards.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    136
    53
    16
    3
See reviews for
86
104
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel as a centre to explore the Normandy beaches. It is situated just outside the lovely fishing port of Port-en- Bessin (which reminded us of Padstow) and ideally located for visiting the various D-Day sights.

Check in was nice and straight forward and once the receptionist realised my school boy French was coming undone she quickly took to speaking fluent English and explained the facilities at the hotel.

We booked a "privilege room" which was located in the block next to the golf club house. These rooms are billed as being a cut above the standard rooms but are not without their issues. Being part of the Accor group of hotels we struggled to figure out the differences between the 2 star Novotel we stayed in the night before and this 4 start Mecure. The only difference we found was the memory foam mattress, iPod dock, nespresso coffee machine and complimentary dressing gowns. Other than those the rooms are virtually identical to the budget hotel brand.

Within five minutes of checking in I found myself back down at reception as the coffee machine in the room was dirty and broken. A replacement one was sourced from behind the desk and taken to our room. But there were no instructions in the room on how to use it so I had to Google the make/model for some. Which brings us onto the complimentary Wi-Fi. It's provided by Orange France and you have to sign up to get an access code. This code gives you six hours unlimited use. Unless you turn off your device. Then you have to sign up again. And again, And again.... It also blocks Facetime, Skype and anything Peer to Peer.

There were a few gripes with this hotel. The first one being that dogs are allowed anywhere in the hotel. We discovered this during dinner on the first evening when a few fellow guests brought their animals to the restaurant and were lead through the middle of the dining area by the maitre’d. I'm not a dog person myself and found this quite off putting as one dog followed its master around whenever he left the table brushing past us on numerous occasions. I did mention this to the maitre’d who really wasn't interested at all. So we forfeited desert and left early.

Gripe number two. Being a 4 star hotel I did not expect the tea/coffee facilities in the room to consist of two single use paper cups (despite three of us staying in the room) and to be so poorly stocked. I got so fed up of going back and forth to reception to ask for more cups (they would only give two at a time), more tea bags (two at a time) more milk (only two at a time) and sugar (again.... two at a time) that I ended up going out and buying my own mugs, a pint of milk, box of tea bags and bag of sugar!

Gripe three. There is a mini bar in the rooms with complimentary soft drinks (can of coke, fizzy water, still water and an orange juice). Once those have been consumed you have to wait till the following day or pay to have it restocked! Needless to say we filled the fridge with our own drinks. However, the following day these were all removed by the chamber maid and placed on the shelf so she could restock the "complimentary" drinks.

Gripe four. The bathroom. I have stayed in many different hotels around the world and find that it is the simplest of things which can make a stay. I may be being a little picky and harsh here but for a 4 star hotel I would at least expect the bathroom mirror to be heated so that when I step out of the shower I can have a shave without having to wait for the mirror to demist or wipe it over with a towel only for it to mist back up after a few minutes. Did I also mention the scorch marks on the wall behind the door? I've posted a photo of this.

Gripe five. The restaurant, despite allowing dogs, was on the lower side of average and highly overpriced. Very limited choice on the menu and your food comes out as and when it is cooked not when all the food for the table is ready to leave the kitchen. Meaning some of your table receive warm starters at the same time as some receiving their mains after having a cold starter. My advice, go off site for dinner. There are some wonderful restaurants close by that offer higher quality food, a much wider choice, better conversation, far superior service, a more pleasant view and atmosphere for a fraction of the price.

The only thing about this hotel we really enjoyed was a massage at the spa.

I will be visiting Normandy again but I will not stay at this hotel unless they pay me. I’d rather save some money and book into the Novotel a bit further along the road as you get an identical room and identical service from a hotel in the same group and at half the price.

Room Tip: Book a standard room. Privilage rooms are not really worth the extra expense. Or save even more mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Best Regards.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Its a bit out of the way but very convenient for American D-Day memorials. The purpose of our trip was to visit these, also Juno Beach where my father landed. In this respect, the choice of hotel was not the best because Juno is quite a complicated and surprisingly long drive from this location. However, the Omaha memorial and cemetry is something everyone should see. No wonder there were so many American Veterans in the hotel, proudly discussing their experiences.
As for the hotel itself, I could only give it average, although under different circumstances, this would be a good place to stay. The main thing that spoilt it for us was the disparity in the two rooms I booked. Room 214 is a reasonable sized room next to a service room. It has airconditioning and a view of the pool through a small window. Everything was clean and we were quite satisfied apart from the shower that flooded the floor every time. The other room 221
was one of the smallest rooms I have ever seen a double bed in. It has no view and no airconditioning. Both rooms were charged at the same rate so we asked for a different room. Unfortunately, as the hotel was full this was not possible but we were not offered a discount.
Although we were not satisfied on this occasion I am sure that it is possible to have a very good, relaxing stay here dependent on your luck with room allocation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Best Regards.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It's a 4* hotel but we had 2 small and dark rooms at 130 each a night. Maybe it had to do with a booking mistake. I reserved 2 rooms with expedia, but the hotel had a reservation for 1. So the had to do some last minute arrangements in order to get me a second room. It wasn't easy cause of july 14. The bathroom was very small and when you take a shower a swimming pool is created. No airco.
Staff is friendly and the pool and restaurant are fine. Excellent location to visit the D-day sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Best Regards.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is our second trip to Omaha Beach so it certainly isn't 'bad' in any sense. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are more than adequate, although ours was lacking in hangers when we arrived and the air-com wasn't working both issues were quickly resolved.

Breakfast is fine. Pretty standard French breakfast but with the option of scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage for UK tastes.

Dinner wasn't special but, for the money, probably about adequate (just).

So....whats the problem? Its all 'ok' but you don't get any feeling that its special and, once you add in golf and dinner, it's not cheap.

It's also very popular with groups, both golfing and those visiting the war-sites/beaches/cemetaries etc. This is fine but groups can be (and were) loud, including one American group which insisted on 'whooping and hollering' late one night. Sadly (as is all too common now) the hotel did..............absolutely............NOTHING about it.

The golf however is excellent. Both courses are outstanding and the (so-called) lesser Manoir course is, in my view, probably more fun to play...not easier though. There are some tough carries from the tee! Both courses are in top class condition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Omaha Beach.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice hotel and a great location. Staff is friendly. I thought my AC wasn't working in the night so I called the reception and the gentleman came immediately and resolved my problem. Had dinner here at the hotel (was part of a group tour travelling through France) and the arrangements were superb. My room was absolutely in the corner, and so it was also smaller than other rooms and I did not like it so much. But there are many other better rooms available with nice views, available here. I will recommend this hote.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner rooms because they feel too cut-off and some of them are smaller than the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
We are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Omaha Beach.
Yours sincerely.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As the name suggests, this hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the many sites associated with the Allied landings in June '44. It is thus frequented a lot by American tourists -- at least when we were there. The golf course surrounding the hotel would help, too, to attract visitors from overseas. As a hotel, the place is good enough, even if there are signs of tear and wear after a good 25 years in business. We lived in a duplex room -- our two teenage boys loved the upstairs bedroom -- which is smaller than it appears to be on the hotel's website but none the less pleasant for that. Excellent pool, a small sauna and fitness room, and a great breakfast buffet made our stay special. Also, if a 30 minute walk to the near-by port of Port-en-Bessain does not frighten you, make sure that you don't walk next to the main road but opt for the more scenic way by the coast; ask in the hotel and they will provide you with a map: excellent restaurants await you and what a wonderful hike!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach Your wellbeing is our priority. The building is located at the foot of the Omaha Beach Golf course in order to preserve the natural beauty of this exceptional site with stunning views. There is no need to be golfer to appreciate the calm surroundings, with the sea waiting to be discovered close-by. You won't be able to resist the charm of the touristic town Port-En-Bessin, which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Also close-by are Bayeux and the American war cemetery. If you are in search of tranquility, you will be able to find it in our relaxation areas, such as the sauna and steam room. There is a lounge bar where you will be able to enjoy a game of pool or a session in the gym ... In fine weather, you can enjoy the heated outdoor pool, and let the children play in the paddling pool. The adepts of relaxation will be seduced by the many wellbeing spa treatments. A business area is available and free Wi-Fi covers the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.