We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but small rooms and bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“nice hotel but small rooms and bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It's a 4* hotel but we had 2 small and dark rooms at 130 each a night. Maybe it had to do with a booking mistake. I reserved 2 rooms with expedia, but the hotel had a reservation for 1. So the had to do some last minute arrangements in order to get me a second room. It wasn't easy cause of july 14. The bathroom was very small and when you take a shower a swimming pool is created. No airco.
Staff is friendly and the pool and restaurant are fine. Excellent location to visit the D-day sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Best Regards.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is our second trip to Omaha Beach so it certainly isn't 'bad' in any sense. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are more than adequate, although ours was lacking in hangers when we arrived and the air-com wasn't working both issues were quickly resolved.

Breakfast is fine. Pretty standard French breakfast but with the option of scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage for UK tastes.

Dinner wasn't special but, for the money, probably about adequate (just).

So....whats the problem? Its all 'ok' but you don't get any feeling that its special and, once you add in golf and dinner, it's not cheap.

It's also very popular with groups, both golfing and those visiting the war-sites/beaches/cemetaries etc. This is fine but groups can be (and were) loud, including one American group which insisted on 'whooping and hollering' late one night. Sadly (as is all too common now) the hotel did..............absolutely............NOTHING about it.

The golf however is excellent. Both courses are outstanding and the (so-called) lesser Manoir course is, in my view, probably more fun to play...not easier though. There are some tough carries from the tee! Both courses are in top class condition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Omaha Beach.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice hotel and a great location. Staff is friendly. I thought my AC wasn't working in the night so I called the reception and the gentleman came immediately and resolved my problem. Had dinner here at the hotel (was part of a group tour travelling through France) and the arrangements were superb. My room was absolutely in the corner, and so it was also smaller than other rooms and I did not like it so much. But there are many other better rooms available with nice views, available here. I will recommend this hote.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner rooms because they feel too cut-off and some of them are smaller than the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayezad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
We are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Omaha Beach.
Yours sincerely.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As the name suggests, this hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the many sites associated with the Allied landings in June '44. It is thus frequented a lot by American tourists -- at least when we were there. The golf course surrounding the hotel would help, too, to attract visitors from overseas. As a hotel, the place is good enough, even if there are signs of tear and wear after a good 25 years in business. We lived in a duplex room -- our two teenage boys loved the upstairs bedroom -- which is smaller than it appears to be on the hotel's website but none the less pleasant for that. Excellent pool, a small sauna and fitness room, and a great breakfast buffet made our stay special. Also, if a 30 minute walk to the near-by port of Port-en-Bessain does not frighten you, make sure that you don't walk next to the main road but opt for the more scenic way by the coast; ask in the hotel and they will provide you with a map: excellent restaurants await you and what a wonderful hike!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed there over a long weekend at the end of May. The staff was simply a pleasure. They were helpful in booking restaurants, and recommending activities. We had booked a duplex room for connivence with our two children. The room did not disappoint, it was a great size with a nice layout. The location of the property is perfect for enjoying the beach or visiting all of the local war memorials. I would diffidently stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slynngermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Bonjour, Nous vous remercions d'avoir partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor et nous sommes très heureux de constater que votre séjour a répondu à vos attentes. Je transmets cet agréable avis à l'ensemble de mes collaborateurs.
Dans l'attente et le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here when we spent 3 days touring the D Day beaches and museums. We had a duplex room with a double bed on the lower floor and two singles on the first floor. The beds were fabulously comfortable and the bathroom looked reasonably recently refurbished. The breakfast room was sufficiently large that you could easily find a table and there were plenty of choices. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez pu pleinement profiter d'une de nos chambres "famille" et nous sommes très sensibles à vos appréciations : elles nous encouragent à maintenir nos efforts afin de mieux vous satisfaire.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau au Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We only stayed for one day and would have liked to have stayed longer once we arrived, the room was comfortable, the bed and sheets were the best we have experienced in a hotel. The situation of the hotel with an easy walk to the port for a meal was great, the pool area, gardens and receptionist were all perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Brownx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions pour votre message. Nous ne manquerons pas de le partager avec nos équipes, pour lesquelles la satisfaction client est la principale préoccupation.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau au Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
23.1 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#9 of 22 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach Your wellbeing is our priority. The building is located at the foot of the Omaha Beach Golf course in order to preserve the natural beauty of this exceptional site with stunning views. There is no need to be golfer to appreciate the calm surroundings, with the sea waiting to be discovered close-by. You won't be able to resist the charm of the touristic town Port-En-Bessin, which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Also close-by are Bayeux and the American war cemetery. If you are in search of tranquility, you will be able to find it in our relaxation areas, such as the sauna and steam room. There is a lounge bar where you will be able to enjoy a game of pool or a session in the gym ... In fine weather, you can enjoy the heated outdoor pool, and let the children play in the paddling pool. The adepts of relaxation will be seduced by the many wellbeing spa treatments. A business area is available and free Wi-Fi covers the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing