We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for a tour of D-Day sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“ideal for a tour of D-Day sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As the name suggests, this hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the many sites associated with the Allied landings in June '44. It is thus frequented a lot by American tourists -- at least when we were there. The golf course surrounding the hotel would help, too, to attract visitors from overseas. As a hotel, the place is good enough, even if there are signs of tear and wear after a good 25 years in business. We lived in a duplex room -- our two teenage boys loved the upstairs bedroom -- which is smaller than it appears to be on the hotel's website but none the less pleasant for that. Excellent pool, a small sauna and fitness room, and a great breakfast buffet made our stay special. Also, if a 30 minute walk to the near-by port of Port-en-Bessain does not frighten you, make sure that you don't walk next to the main road but opt for the more scenic way by the coast; ask in the hotel and they will provide you with a map: excellent restaurants await you and what a wonderful hike!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    143
    55
    17
    3
See reviews for
89
108
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed there over a long weekend at the end of May. The staff was simply a pleasure. They were helpful in booking restaurants, and recommending activities. We had booked a duplex room for connivence with our two children. The room did not disappoint, it was a great size with a nice layout. The location of the property is perfect for enjoying the beach or visiting all of the local war memorials. I would diffidently stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Bonjour, Nous vous remercions d'avoir partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor et nous sommes très heureux de constater que votre séjour a répondu à vos attentes. Je transmets cet agréable avis à l'ensemble de mes collaborateurs.
Dans l'attente et le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here when we spent 3 days touring the D Day beaches and museums. We had a duplex room with a double bed on the lower floor and two singles on the first floor. The beds were fabulously comfortable and the bathroom looked reasonably recently refurbished. The breakfast room was sufficiently large that you could easily find a table and there were plenty of choices. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez pu pleinement profiter d'une de nos chambres "famille" et nous sommes très sensibles à vos appréciations : elles nous encouragent à maintenir nos efforts afin de mieux vous satisfaire.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau au Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We only stayed for one day and would have liked to have stayed longer once we arrived, the room was comfortable, the bed and sheets were the best we have experienced in a hotel. The situation of the hotel with an easy walk to the port for a meal was great, the pool area, gardens and receptionist were all perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions pour votre message. Nous ne manquerons pas de le partager avec nos équipes, pour lesquelles la satisfaction client est la principale préoccupation.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau au Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want charm this is not the hotel for you, if you like modern and a peaceful green setting you may love this hotel.If you have read the other recent reviews you know it's on a golf course is quiet and has beautiful views. It is modern so has elevator The rooms are adequate if a little plain in the decor. Comfortable bed .Excellent WIFi free in the rooms. You need a car and a GPS but I cannot imagine traveling by car in Europe anywhere without one. One tip :you can download the Tom Tom app to your iPad and you don't need to be connected to the Internet. Breakfast overpriced which is frequently a problem in Hotels in Europe. We are not big breakfast eaters and often bring a cafetiere and use the kettle provided,just to have a cup of coffee before heading to a boulangerie for a yummy croissant.The small town nearby has a small selection of restaurants. Nothing spectacular but nice fresh sea food. Overall hotel is well located for visiting the beaches of Normandy and Bayeux. Also accepts dogs.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous tenons à vous remercier de votre aimable commentaire au sujet de notre hôtel.
Nous sommes heureux de lire que vous avez apprécié nos chambres ainsi que l'environnement de notre établissement.
Nous espérons vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement à l'Hôtel Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good place to stop over around the Normandy area, room size was average, a bit too small to be squeezing in a coffee table and a sofa, not much room to move around, TV was awkwardly placed away from the bed. Nice modern furnishings and complete with necessities. Beautiful golf course view, it is not at the beach area, much more inland and have zero views of the beach. Breakfast was ok. Location wise, nothing around it, just an overnight stopover.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions de nous avoir fait part de vos commentaires suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel. Ceux-ci ont été transmis à nos équipes afin de mettre en oeuvre les actions nécessaires pour remédier à ces désagréments. Vos observations sont très importantes car elles nous permettent d'améliorer nos prestations afin de vous apporter un service de qualité et de mieux répondre à vos attentes.
Concernant la localisation de l'hôtel, celui est certes en retrait de la ville mais bénéficie de la vue panoramique sur le Golf 36 trous d'Omaha Beach.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau. Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night as part of a tour, large hotel, big comfy bed, clean, and quiet, it's not near anything as its on a golf course. Staff on checkin were polite and prompt.
Breakfast wasn't anything fantastic
If I was passing through here and wanted to play golf I would stay, the golf course looked impressive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach Your wellbeing is our priority. The building is located at the foot of the Omaha Beach Golf course in order to preserve the natural beauty of this exceptional site with stunning views. There is no need to be golfer to appreciate the calm surroundings, with the sea waiting to be discovered close-by. You won't be able to resist the charm of the touristic town Port-En-Bessin, which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Also close-by are Bayeux and the American war cemetery. If you are in search of tranquility, you will be able to find it in our relaxation areas, such as the sauna and steam room. There is a lounge bar where you will be able to enjoy a game of pool or a session in the gym ... In fine weather, you can enjoy the heated outdoor pool, and let the children play in the paddling pool. The adepts of relaxation will be seduced by the many wellbeing spa treatments. A business area is available and free Wi-Fi covers the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.