We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was our fourth stay at this hotel (14-18/06), again booked as part of a deal with Brittany Ferries and overall we had a similar experience to our other visits in that it proved a comfortable base for exploring Normandy. We again found the staff to be polite, helpful and friendly.

This year, our first floor rooms overlooked the pool and were nicely decorated, with free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, hot beverage facilities, air con. and mini-bar (pay). There were adequate storage options and the bed was nice and firm. There was a separate bath/shower room and a small external balcony with chairs and a table.

The first floor breakfast room benefitted from any early morning sun and the buffet style breakfasts gave a reasonable choice of food. We did use the hotel restaurant one evening and the food, drink and service were all of good quality and the price fairly reasonable too.

Once again the hotel and Port-en-Bessin (around a mile away) provided the ideal base for our holiday and when we return to the area we will certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 102, which was at the quiet end of the first floor overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    145
    55
    17
    3
See reviews for
89
110
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a privileged room. It was able to fit a family of four comfortably. One sofa bed plus a king and a twin cot that pulled out from under the bed. Very spacious. Friendly staff. Convenient location for d-day beaches. The kids enjoyed the small pool. The gym only had a bike and old elliptical and treadmill. Very small and only opened at 8 am. Breakfast buffet was average European. Not great. We highly recommend this hotel and would go again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED KINGDOM
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a three night break with our two grand chilren so we booked the duplex room.We were disapointed with the room, it was somewhat in need of an update..Although it was for four persons everything in the room catered for two persons ..cups etc they would only leave two tea bags a day and we gave €629 it was never worth it.
The breakfast consisted of the usual cerials and fruit and small sausages inedible scrambled egg and very fat bacon.The plates to put breakfast on was a little big bigger than a saucer.
Breakfast was from 6-30 11-00 we used to go for breakfast at about 10-15 to 10-30 it was impossible to have hot coffee or tea.and we didnt feel welcome there.
An annoying thing was the cleaners would open our bedroom door and jam it open with wood and then leave it with all our belongings on show, any one passing could have helped themselves to our laptops and outher valuable items, this happend twice and we noticed they were working on another floor.
We liked the area and location of the hotel but we will never stay there again and would not recommend it as the staff are too lax.I feel thankful nothing was taken from our room when they left the open rooms unattended.
The last day of our stay was Saturday and the breakfast had deteriated even further and I could not eat it. It will be the last visit to this hotel its a shame as I would have used it again but have been turned off the idea for the reasons mentioned.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

With one exception it was difficult to fault Omaha Beach.Friendly greating at reception, clean comfortable room, excellent breakfast in bright and airy room, good value and splendid menu in the resturant and a scenic challenging golf course. What more could one ask for. The only defficiency is there is no lift up to the bedrooms and no porter to give assistance. Its location is quiet but handily situated just outside the village with all of the D Day locations close at hand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the golf course and preferably one of the larger ones at the end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We really enjoyed staying at the Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach. It is tucked away & very quiet. The hotel was quite friendly & helpful. I would recommend this to anyone who is visiting Port En Bessin & the Normandie Beaches.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach Your wellbeing is our priority. The building is located at the foot of the Omaha Beach Golf course in order to preserve the natural beauty of this exceptional site with stunning views. There is no need to be golfer to appreciate the calm surroundings, with the sea waiting to be discovered close-by. You won't be able to resist the charm of the touristic town Port-En-Bessin, which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Also close-by are Bayeux and the American war cemetery. If you are in search of tranquility, you will be able to find it in our relaxation areas, such as the sauna and steam room. There is a lounge bar where you will be able to enjoy a game of pool or a session in the gym ... In fine weather, you can enjoy the heated outdoor pool, and let the children play in the paddling pool. The adepts of relaxation will be seduced by the many wellbeing spa treatments. A business area is available and free Wi-Fi covers the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;