We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau La Cheneviere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau La Cheneviere to your Saves list
Chateau La Cheneviere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Escures-Commes, 14400 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeding Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My brother and I recently spent 5 days traveling around the Normandy D-Day sites. We needed a centrally located place to stay and our travel agent made arrangements with La Cheneviere. We couldn't have been more pleased with the choice, as the location, amenities, and staff far exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like kings. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. In particular, we made terrific new friends in Vincent, their expert sommelier, as well as Nikola and Elise (my apologies, I may have her name wrong?), two very talented and attentive maître d's. The food was outstanding every single night, and Vincent was extremely helpful around wine and champagne selections.

The bottom line is that they made us feel "at home" in every way, even tolerating our typically American lack of knowledge of French (they ALL spoke English well). It was the trip of a lifetime for two reasons - the education and understanding we gained regarding the courage and sacrifice of our American, British, Canadian, and French forces - and the incredible welcoming spirit we enjoyed at La Cheneviere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    41
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
119
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is now a little over a week since we left Chateau Cheneviere and I cannot think where the time has gone!

We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was lovely, the bed very comfortable and big! I love the fact that there were so many windows too. Even though the weather was rather dull and grey, the room was nice and bright. The wind was relentless the first couple of days and made walking on the beach a challenge, but thankfully it dropped on the last day and it was more pleasant to walk around.

I think the location of the Chateau is perfect, a great launching pad for days out, Bayeux, the beaches, Mont Saint Michel, Honfleur .. cider breweries, biscuit factories. There is so much to do and the region is very pretty. I set the Sat Nav to avoid toll roads and so we came cross country to Port En Bessin. After driving down lots of lovely country lanes for over an hour we found ourselves on a slightly busier road with the Sat Nav telling us to board the ferry. FERRY!?!?!? What?!!? Had we just been driving around in a circle all this time? Then we discovered that we were in a small queue to join a rather small ferry to cross the Seine – next panic – we only had 10 Euros in cash on us! Would it be enough? What was I going to say about having no money? Turns out that the little ferry was free  and we were spared the shame, we did laugh and we still do! All part of the adventure of being in Normandy.

Often when I travel I find it hard to relax, constant work demands and critiquing of the hotels I stay in means I am never really relaxed. Chateau la Cheneviere was different, perhaps because my clients were giving me a break, but also the atmosphere of the Chateau invites you to slow down, the décor is traditional and easy on the eye, the countryside is beautiful and the staff (especially the lovely Beatrice) are so welcoming that it would hard not to relax.

Apart from our room, my favourites would be the ’08 suites that look out onto the back garden, again because they were so light and airy.

I shall certainly be recommending the Chateau to clients as well as friends and family. There is something for everyone not only all the great destinations nearby, but there are the bikes to enjoy, the golf course over the road, places to run, a beautiful pool and a wonderful garden to sit and read or perhaps write.

We were out all day every day whilst staying at the Chateau, but at the end of each day it was nice to come “home”.

Room Tip: The '08 suites in the main building, lots of light and a view onto the rear garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Michaels
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 4 days exploring Normandy, and used the Chateau La Cheneviere as our base. We could not have been happier. This was exactly what one would hope to find in the french countryside, an old, historic, beautiful and classy chateau, with elegant old world service, in a great location. The grounds are beautiful, and the amenities are top notch. What really sets this apart, however, is the service. The staff went out of their way to speak to us, ask us about our day, give suggestions for dinner and sight seeing, and making sure that our stay was everything we hoped it to be. Exactly what a 5 star resort should be about. The location is very close to Omaha beach, and a short cab away from Port-en-Bressin and only a slightly longer ride from the big city of Bayeaux.

There are rooms in both the original old building and a newer building slightly away from the original. We chose the new building because it was air conditioned, which we did not need during this late spring June. We were concerned that we would lose some charm, but that was not the case. The rooms were every bit as old world and charming as we would have wanted, with the addition of modern touches.

Breakfast was a steep 25 euros per person, but there are no close options, and the meal was fabulous. I would recommend you just assume this is part of the room rate (which it should be) and take the breakfast, since starting your day in fabulous surroundings with an elegant meal is a nice way to vacation.

This hotel is definitely worth staying at.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite, which was a good deal nicer than the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

La Cheneviere is a a very special place to stay in France. All of the people who work here - front desk, dining room, cleaning staff - are warm, courteous, attentive and professional. Our junior suite and bathroom on the second floor of the Chateau was spacious and so attractive. The staff gave us great recommendations on places in the surrounding area to visit and to eat. We had booked a guide for the beaches, towns and cemeteries of Normandy on our own, but found out from other guests that the front desk team also has wonderful guides to recommend to guests as they are planning their visit. This was the most expensive and luxurious place that we stayed during this trip to France, but worth every penny and will long be remembered. Every thing about La Cheneviere is top notch!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite in the second floor of the Chateau. It was spacious and had beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Plus: Brand new bicycles great for exploring the Normandy DDay (Utah) beach and surrounding sites. Quiet and luxurious rooms, very clean and the bath is amazing. Parking is easy. Awesome heated swimming pool. Historic old building, occupied by the Germans in WWII. The grounds are fabulous with ancient trees everywhere. A short bike distance from the port town where you can pickup some croissants. 8 minute car ride to beautiful Bayeux town, also very close to the American cemetery.
The Minus: Breakfeast should be included-- at 25 euro a pop not a good value for a family. No other options for breakfeast anywhere else. Dinner menu also extremely expensive. Waiter forgot to bring out the wine dispite multiple requests (was apologetic later and comp'd one of the plates).

Room Tip: All rooms are great, some are in the main building, others in the satellite building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We completely stumbled on this place and could not have been more pleased w our stay. It's perfectly located within minutes of both Bayeux and the D-Day beaches. The rooms and staff were stunning, the grounds equally immaculate. It is not cheap but in terms of value it punches above its weight. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautiful property with exquisite garden and surrounding area. Rooms are as expected in the French countryside. Dining room was not full and we thought the food a bit on the expensive side so chose not to eat at the property. Instead we ate in Bayeau and in Port en Bessin and had very nice meals that were reasonable. This property is highly regarded if you do your homework. Surrounding cities are very close, though a GPS is essential.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau La Cheneviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Cheneviere

Address: Escures-Commes, 14400 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau La Cheneviere 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to Omaha Beach and the historic town of Bayeux, Port en Bessin conceals a treasure that lies at the end of a long drive " Chateau La Cheneviere ". Impeccable lawns, ancient trees and a charmingly old fashioned rose garden... arriving on the estate is like strolling onto the lands of an English Lord who fell under the spell of Calvados region. The manor appears at last, a dignified Norman edifice from the 18th century, it combines the charms of an old house with the conveniences of a cosy English Manor. Add to that an opulent interior, spacious, elegant bedrooms. The dining room, overlooking the park, has a certain grandeur on an intimate scale, while classic cuisine allows you to explore all the distinctive flavours of Normandy, a generous and distinguished cuisine based on delicious local produce, faultless service, a heated outdoor pool, a splendid terrace, and the picture is complete... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau La Cheneviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Cheneviere Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Chateau La Cheneviere France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau La Cheneviere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.