We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining on a side street in beautiful Port en Bessin.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot d'a Cote

Le Bistrot d'a Cote
12 rue Michel Lefournier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
+33 2 31 51 79 12
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $43
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant specialty fish and seafood, Home cooking, Fresh fishBistrot d'à Côté we love home cooking. We favor of producers, farmers, and especially local fishermen. We are foremost chefs restaurateurs. We process our products on site. Our dishes are cooked to order, so there may be waiting. Thank you for your understanding gourmet. Stephanie and André Maillet and team Bistrot d'à Côté
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent dining on a side street in beautiful Port en Bessin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Not a wonderful view or great ambiance but the food was great and good value for the money. We went on a Wed night with reservations. There were 4 people in out party. Our service was very friendly and the staff spoke english (as with many of the restaurants in Port en Bessin). They have very reasonable set price menus(i.e.. 20 Euro). The fish stew, fish kabobs and Salmon were excellent.I would definitely return. I spoke with the owner and he was very proud of his "Tripadvisor" rating and posted it prominently at the restaurant entrance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    76
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Even with our vey limited French, we were welcomed and the staff were helpful & patient. Being on a port in Normandy, the fish was excellent - try the Moules et frites (mussels & fires) - amazing. Also fresh oysters on the half shell!

Went back another night for dinner we liked it so much!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant at the right price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very nice bistrot with an excellent range of fish on the menu (as you might expect from a restaurant in Port En Bessin). Wine by the carafe at a very reasonable price but coffee rather over priced at the end. Visited two nights running so it must have been good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cheerful bistro with lovely food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our family group of 8 (foodie) adults have just spent a weekend in Normandy mainly to do some serious eating and rolled up without a reservation at 1.30 pm on a warm and fairly busy Sunday in late September, having left our cars in the large free car park on the harbour wall. Downstairs was fairly full but we were shown to a table upstairs where only one other table was already taken. Smiling, helpful and energetic service, despite our clumsy French. Extensive menu so something for everyone, mainly classic French, lots of fish and seafood but meat dishes too including chicken in cider (very tender and flavoursome) and rabbit with mustard and cream. Delightful amuse-bouche which we think was cream cheese blended with sun-dried tomato and basil. Some of the family started with a big dish of brown shrimp and went on to the plateau de fruits de mer (more shrimp, prawns, langoustines, crab, oysters, winkles and whelks). I had snails then skate wing with butter and capers. Another had a marvellous plate of flaked white fish with cumin. Frites served separately in paper cones on stands to keep them out of the sauces. All good, with a couple of bottles of a nice white Sancerre (for those not drinking cider) and lovely desserts to follow, Fabulous mousse au chocolat. It was all just very, very French, and overall the best meal we had all weekend, at a very fair price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“an excellent anniversary dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

we were recommended this restaurant by the French housekeeper where we were staying and were certainly not disappointed. The staff speak very little English but with my rusty French we managed. The fish soup is highly to be recommended and my starter of moules mariniere was a very good sized portion. My husband had the fish kebab (not kebab as the English know it) which was very tasty and came with salad garnish and frites. I had salmon in vanilla sauce which came with some small portions of vegetables. An apple pastry with ice cream and creme brulee finished the meal. I drank the restaurant aperetif, which was calvados, cidre and fruit liqueur, and my husband had a glass of red wine and a beer. The bill came to around £60 which was quite expensive, but we found all food in this part of France to be fairly expensive. The staff were friendly and attentive. Yes it is a small and cramped restaurant, but you can see that before you go in. When we were there on a Wednesday evening it was full of French families, which is generally a good sign as far as the food is concerned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot d'a Cote also viewed

Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
 
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
 

Been to Le Bistrot d'a Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot d'a Cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.