We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normandy Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin to your Saves list
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    277
    53
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
277
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here in April for a large Scouting event and the 70th anniversary of D-Day commemorations. The central location in Port En Bessin is perfect to explore the surrounding area or walk to the beach and restaurants. The room was very clean and comfortable. I liked the private gated parking behind the Hotel. The hotel staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful, and I cannot say enough how much this was appreciated after a eight hour drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights while touring the Normandy beaches and other local sites. The hotel was well-located, clean and comfortable. The one thing I didn't care for was the wet-room bath concept, but all in all it was a great place to stay. It was also very quiet - in spite of the hotel being very busy, and our room located right next to the elevator, we never heard a thing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here mid April and booked it through Brittany Ferries as it was on offer. It was a lovely hotel overlooking a working port. It was a pretty place and opposite was the shops and cafes. Just down the road was the port with a memorial to the Royal Marines. We chose this hotel as it was the perfect spot to travel to all the D-Day sites.

The hotel is quite basic but its really clean, tidy and friendly. The breakfast was lovely. It was a self serve and there was lots of different things to chose from.

We ate out for the three nights but found many cafes closed at 5:30pm. Only two seemed to be open into the evening. There was fish restaurants and everywhere seemed to do pizza and sweet and savoury pancakes. I'm a vegetarian and had omelette a few nights and a pizza.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff all spoke English and were really professional and friendly. The hotel had a hairdryer and we had clean towels daily.

We had a great time visiting the war sites as it was smack bang in the middle of the invasion beaches.

Room Tip: We faced out the back of the hotel, if you have a front facing room you will be facing the little wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A wonderful location for a hotel right in the middle of a working fishing port.
The sight and sounds of the fishermen working just outside is a unique & memorable experience. The hotel is excellent value for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here with friends. Arrived quite late in the day (but at the pre warned time!) and they had booked a twin not double room for me and hubs- initially denied it was their fault but then checked the booking- 10 minutes to sort out including sending us to a room not made up with a Hoover in it. Then said they were full so we would have to have a twin room so I got moaning and you know what suddenly they did have a room just it was an upgrade with port view....hmmmmmmm funny that. Standard hotel room (the 'cliffs' view is a wall of the car park by the way on the other side. Great shower in the room( no bath) no tea/ coffee facilities in rooms. Good breakfast,freshly cooked and well replenished throughout the breakfast times.
Bar open 24/7 and food available at all times was a positive. Our room got quite hot despite it not being hot weather and the air con made no difference so would be worried staying here in summer.
I would stay here again but only after checking out the competition to see if there is an alternative

Room Tip: The cliffs view as they bill it at the back of the hotel is a crappy car park wall Many of the por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Address: 12 Quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.